Bt Vvt

very good informative thread this is.

jerk? nah.. i don't think got the jerk like turbo. it's slightly pulling. yes, you can feel it. the rev does goes faster also. yes, sound of engine will change. also if you want vtec killer sound. get trumpets. =) kakakakaka....

the sound of the engine become more garang...to confirm this...
u install trumpet on ur bt....hehehe....
bro cusco wan, very loud the sound....mmg garang..!!

Trumpet sound is too loud,will harass your neighbours,and also draws attention.I hate that kind of thing,but the performance better

IIRC, doesn't SVT's VVT depends on RPM? I think it triggers at around 4k~5krpm for SVT, regardless of full throttle or not. But this is the first time I'm hearing SVT's VVT works based on engine load, seems like it is more advanced than BT's VVT. Bro levin818, where did you get this info from? Did u test using VVT indicator? Just curious...

Yes i have my VVT light direct connect to the ECU so that i can monitor the VVT "activities" at all time. And, I am using first gen A/T ECU therefore i presume the 2nd and 3rd gen has similar features, which is load trigger VVT and not solely RPM dependent.

[Triggering the VVT]:
When the ECU sense the demand, ie: RPM vs TPS curve is meet, ie: you tekan minyak kuat-kuat at low RPM, ie: when the throttle is open wide but the RPM still remain low, the ECU will pull the VVT pin to ground and that will energise the VVT solenoid to advance the cam timing. At the same time, the ECU will switch the fuel map to active fuel map that meet the advance timing requirement.

What happened if you trigger the VVT solenoid externally by RSM at low load?
Since it is not ECU self trigger situation, the ECU will not switch the fuel map (the RSM have no way to force the ECU for the switch).
So now your have advance the cam timing but fuel map remain unchanged, you can imagine how bad will be the result!

So if you want to play with VVT controller, you will need SAFC and perhaps ITC to compensate that moment - from the VVT Controller has trigger the VVT, until the ECU has shift the fuel map... :biggrin:

woa nice information bro levin818...
how to pasang the led to the ecu to see the vvt jalan or not i scare i mistake pasang then haibs lah ecu...
oh yeah where to get the trumpet like u all said....how much will that cost ???

Trumpet sound is too loud,will harass your neighbours,and also draws attention.I hate that kind of thing,but the performance better

hehe the reason i play toyota coz wanna pasang the trumpet only and the high rev..... if kacau jiran.......hehe ask them put cotton at the ears lor ...haha...
wit 4afe i already kena complain by taman ppl...dun know wat happen if i put trumpet ...for sure i iwll pasang ...hehe

bros,
from my experience the sifo info is correct... BT VVT open depend on load reading. i'm also using A/T, already 5 months now.
even on low speed or stand still, if you start to slam the throttle you'll feel the pull. plus the sound of 4 throttle.
i'm using 2" trumpet but inside the air box, to minimize th sound. also due to the intake air temp, so still using standard air box with drop-in and CAI to the bumper.
just my 2 cents.

hehe the reason i play toyota coz wanna pasang the trumpet only and the high rev..... if kacau jiran.......hehe ask them put cotton at the ears lor ...haha...
wit 4afe i already kena complain by taman ppl...dun know wat happen if i put trumpet ...for sure i iwll pasang ...hehe

kena baling batu baru hang tau:burnout:

Bro Pcmodd/All Sifu
So 1st Gen SVT and 2nd Gen SVT got different or not ?? 1st gen open at 4.4k rpm, 2nd gen is when ?? if driving at smooth at 3.5k rpm / 140km/h. than mean vvt never open lo ??bcoz i feel nothing "tarik-tarik". how about 4k or 5k when driving smooth ?? vvt got open ?? bcoz i also feel nothing.. izzit bcoz A/T ??
Another 1 question is A/T can use the D2 mode driving all the way up to Genting ?? thanks

Yes,u can use the D2 mode driving all the way up 2 genting but make sure your water box is full with water haha..
Btw,D2 mode is actually exactly same as the power mode ..

police ask to rev the engine...so giv it a rev...
he was shocked...the sound came from front...
pops up the hood, found 4 shiny stack at front...don't now how to issue the "paper thing"...he just let the car go...:burnout:

police ask to rev the engine...so giv it a rev...
he was shocked...the sound came from front...
pops up the hood, found 4 shiny stack at front...don't now how to issue the "paper thing"...he just let the car go...:burnout:

lol...really happen b4 ????? that police sure tekan dua biji bawah coz dun know how to give saman...haha

oh yeah bout the price of trumpet and where to get anyone know ???
i got call toyorism he say apex one cost 1.2k the trumpet only ....i heard liao i say:stupid: ....still finding the trumpet ...

oh yeah...the length of trumpet got different for performance rite....how to see leh ???

Maybe police can saman for "enjin too noisy" or "enjin ganaz".. LOL!
But usually I see most 4 throttle with their exhaust louder than induction noise.

Bro caleb, Apex (or Apexi) got make trumpet for 4 throttle? Usually I heard of Imec trumpet... mostly cost around RM600. Perhaps you should check out the following link (local made), only RM200:
http://i1.lelong.com.my/UserImages/Items/0707/26/[email protected]
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-07DeSale7001300_AUCTION_ae86_20_valve_trumpet_velocity_stacks_ram_pipe_screw_on_type.htm

Adding trumpet helps to improve engine response (lighter) and making it easier/faster to revv. IIRC, shorter trumpet is for low rpm torque, longer trumpet is for high rpm torque. Maybe it could be the other way around, but it affects the torque.

IF WANNA GET...WHERE TO GET IT .. the imec u talk bout is only rm 600 ?

my bt 20v with n1 exhaust, i cant hear the trumpet sound at all..... when i go back home at nite, also drive slowly like turtle...

haha sounds like someone gatal oledi, cannot tahan to get a set hahaha......

hehe bro 7 ...u dun say like tat lah ...sebagai hiasan engine and improve a little bit of performance lor ...

bro nothing u got PM....