Both signal ON when door opened ???

Should be apply for any car i think .... but i still didnt go to get my items yet ,.,., abit buzy recently ... see this weekend or may be next week .,., will post the result once done .,.,,. :)

wat kind of diode is used? do I just go to the electrical shop and just tell them "I want a diode" or there is a specific diode? same goes to the relay.. do I just say "I want a 12V relay" or there is a specific relay?? thanks..

diod? maybe got different value? i saw big one.. small one.. different color one?

relay?
besides different volt, also got different kaki... 5 legs, 4 legs, 6 legs, 8 legs, etc etc...

so there are different diodes... and for the relay.. got other differences or not? if not.. then no problem.. just that which diode to get?

I've used a 4 kaki relay without a diode, and it works fine when tested with a test pen. Now my problem is that I cannot get the double signal lights to light up. Have tested using the test pen to find the wire (positive current) that light up when I turn on the hazzard lights. However, when I connected the "TO DOUBLE SIGNAL" cable that carries the positive current, I cannot get the double signal to light up.

I have tried connecting the "TO DOUBLE SIGNAL" cable to the individual signal lights(left and right) and both light up when I open the door, but do not blink lah!

Could it be I'm tapping the wrong wire? Cos I checked the bundle of wires that originate from the steering wheel and only 4 carry positive currents - left signal light, right signal light, wire that has constant positive current and wire that lights up my test pen when the emergency lights are enabled.

Trying this out on a P2 Kelisa btw.

So sifus, any idea?

can the diagram be further enhance to timer version?
like when i open the door, the double signal wil blink for about like 10 or 15sec
then will goes off, i find it quite annoying if u leave the door open to do something
and yet the signal light keep on blinking...

just to share, pls dont flame me if wrong :)

1. 1st circuit from bro howiechoo shld nt work out bcoz the 12v for relay coil is shorted to gnd. Confirmed 12v fuse will blow..if u are lucky nt to damage any other electronics.

2. 2nd circuit from bro Alvin may nt work for all car model as some cars are using active low door open/close trigger switch, hence the relay won't switch at all. Besides, if it works, the room light may becomes dimmer because of the relay's coil.

3. When buying diode, u need to specify the current rating of the diode. Unless u are buying zener diode, then u need to specify also the zener voltage rating. Similarly, when u buy relay, u need to specify whether u want SPST/SPDT/DPDT/etc, 3v/5v/9v/12v/etc, 2/3/4/etc kakies 's relay. Do a search on internet for low idle/operating current relay for better energy savings.

4. To add a timer is possible/easier after u hv sorted out the actual wiring connection to make them blink when door open. Just add a 555 timer and a transistor along your DIY trigger signal from your relay output to hazard light relay.

BTW, I did nt do this myself. So the above are just some general know-how to share.

Using the 2nd circuit. No problems with the relay signal. I'm using a 12v 30A relay. Was previously used for my horn(s).

I'm just having the problem of the double signal wire i mentioned before. =(

As mentioned, circuit2 may not work in all car types. Need to know if the door switch is trigger low or trigger high.
With regards to your problem that the signal light lighted up but not flashing (or no light at all when turn on all), one possibility is that the 12V supply from your steering panel (to "To double signal wire") may just be a low voltage/current trigger signal to energize another relay that will switches high current drive signal to double signal lights. That's why the signal lights didn't flash or light up when driven by this low voltage/current trigger signals. You may need to use multimeter instead of test pen to verify this. Hope the above help....happy troubleshooting :)

DaRk_AnG3L said:
I've used a 4 kaki relay without a diode, and it works fine when tested with a test pen. Now my problem is that I cannot get the double signal lights to light up. Have tested using the test pen to find the wire (positive current) that light up when I turn on the hazzard lights. However, when I connected the "TO DOUBLE SIGNAL" cable that carries the positive current, I cannot get the double signal to light up.

I have tried connecting the "TO DOUBLE SIGNAL" cable to the individual signal lights(left and right) and both light up when I open the door, but do not blink lah!

Could it be I'm tapping the wrong wire? Cos I checked the bundle of wires that originate from the steering wheel and only 4 carry positive currents - left signal light, right signal light, wire that has constant positive current and wire that lights up my test pen when the emergency lights are enabled.

Trying this out on a P2 Kelisa btw.

So sifus, any idea?