Proton car problem...
1)powerwindow problem
2)gearbox oil leaking
3)aircorn not functioning well/gas leaking
4)speedmeter didt accurate/after few years it can jumping like monkey
5)outdated technology
6)cheap material, low quality
7)finishing sux

IMO i dont think a its ridiculous for a manufacturer to choose an engine because its easy to mod..
I believe as long as proton builds a reliable, safe and affordable car thats pleasing to the eyes, that should work out in the world market..
as demand for such a car increases, performance parts would eventually flood the market

but then we have to think that most manufacture made their car without having in mind that they need the car to be easy to modify, especially models that isn't build for motorsport. their objectives are to make a car that is durable and reliable (well, not for proton lar.. at least), they don't expect you to modify it. they just try to save cost and improve sales.

making a modifyiable car is like making a fridge that can allow you to change its compressor and cooling coil for extra cooling and stuff.. i myself thinks its crazy, but thats just what some of my non-motorhead friends think of me: "modify car for what?? waste money only, can move enough liau!!" thats what they say.

i know its abit off topic, but what i want to point out is that car manufacturer won't choose an engine so that you can easily modify it. they just find an engine that suits what they want, and if that engine is easy to modify like mitsu's engine, lucky us, if not, well.. too bad.

"IMO i dont think a its ridiculous for a manufacturer to choose an engine because its easy to mod..
I believe as long as proton builds a reliable, safe and affordable car thats pleasing to the eyes, that should work out in the world market..
as demand for such a car increases, performance parts would eventually flood the market"

i agree wif ur point.
make the engine block, head whatever as reliable as possible.
just like the VR4. its reliability is legendary. partly oso cos it uses an iron block as opposed to aluminium block. see like dat means "no holds barred" design and construction.....
something like dat. once the block and head can stand the pressure, , aftermarket parts to boost the power will follow as the foundation is strong and proven to be able to handle the additional power and abuse..............once the platform is reliable ppl will be more confident to mod it for more power....once u see more powerful cars(in this case gen2) on the road, the public perception towards the car will change too(fuyoo...gen2 power sial..etc etc...)
i guess proton engineers knows this but cant do anything as most probably their oems supply them wif shit.oems oso have to cover cost and in protons case make an obscene profit. and if their overheads include bribing the purchaser etc etc..the end result is shittier still. welcome to the real world..err sorry..welcome to malaysia..

140dB

WBH8668 said:
Proton car problem...
1)powerwindow problem
2)gearbox oil leaking
3)aircorn not functioning well/gas leaking
4)speedmeter didt accurate/after few years it can jumping like monkey
5)outdated technology
6)cheap material, low quality
7)finishing sux

basically.... everything is wrong with the carlah...

according to overseas reviews proton malaysia gets the raw end of the stick. places like Uk and Aus get better build quality which is why buying a proton isnt such a bad deal ... locally we get our asses raped :bath: by proton cos they care more about the foreign market. they believe they can produce a good mass market car in other countries because of the simple fact that malaysia's own population can not support a car manufacturer let alone 2 car manufacturers (perodua in this case). Korea has no such problem because they have a population over 40 million last i checked which is more than enough to sustain a car industry given that they are more advanced in civilisation and technology (alright maybe just in Seoul but it makes a difference).

back on the engine front for proton mitsubishi did some what take proton to the cleaners with the royality charges. had proton struck the same type of deal that Dodge and DSM (diamond star motors aka mitsubishi) where they sell designs to be produced under shared company name included in that deal is profit sharing so mitsu didnt have to go into regions where they would have to pay a lot to setup a factory saving costs. ack i digress again.

engines engines engines. why havent we gotten a wicked ass engine like the mivec 1.6 or the mivec 2.0 v6 is because malaysia doesnt want to encourage its population to race around in fast cars. its still better than french engines though. the debate continues so many threads end up in a big bitching session against proton heh we should make one thread that is called 'bitch at proton thread'

according to overseas reviews proton malaysia gets the raw end of the stick. places like Uk and Aus get better build quality which is why buying a proton isnt such a bad deal ... locally we get our asses raped by proton cos they care more about the foreign market.

i ve got to agree with deacon..it just so true becos if u can compare between let say wira) uk spec, aussie spec and m'sia spec, there just a hell lot of different..even on the quality of the built itself

IMO, if proton can improve their quality and gains public trust again, sure all this thing like AP controversies, claim of to many imported car being brought in m'sia, govt. x support national car etc etc wouldnt happen at all

hey just off topic a bit anyone know whether i have to change my whole dial cluster if i want to remove the white speedo and tach from my gti :P

Write your reply...