ARE u in danger of AVM?

acura said:
sigh..... so sad ... : ( : (....

the stupid doctor said he can do it ... my mom i trusted him.. i didnt even say to my dad that i love him soo much before he went brain dead.. that doctor messed up...BIG TIME!

> : (

I hear you acura. My deepest condolences to you and your family. As I said before, a good friend of mine ended up the same way. However, in his case, we didn't know he had this problem. I spoke to some friends who are doctors and apparantly, AVM is a defect in the blood vessels, which is present in everyone. It is a dormant disease which becomes active when something triggers it. The trigger could be anything. In my friends case, the trigger may have been a stroke. He had an internal hemmorage in the brain. My friend is a martial artist (he practices Aikido). You may have seen him on tv. He appeared in the Celcom advertisement for Women's self defense. In the advert, he is the guy the girl pins on the ground and he is also the one who gets thrown.

His death comes as shock to all those who were and still are close to him. He was well loved by all those people. I have known him for almost 8 years now and not once have I seen him angry. I'm gonna miss him dearly.

i think it's the same condition my dad had... he had a blockage in the brain.. cos the vesselspopped.. then it caused stroke... half his body drooped.. and we couldnt do anything as we left my dad's life in the hands of that doctor..

acura, you are right to be angry at the doctor. I mean, if they knew this disease exist, how come they overlooked it. However doctors should be given the benefit of the doubt. Take my friends case for example, there were no symptoms what so ever. Imagine this, he went bowling with his colleagues on a monday night. Then he went out for makan. All of a sudden he complained of a headache and felt like throwing up. Suddenly he collapsed. Rushed him to GH KL and they said very critical condition. He popped a vein in his brain. Half his brain was damaged and the brain swelled to more than double its original size. He went in for emergency surgery to reduce the pressure building up inside his skull. Surgery was a success. The swelling stopped, but the damage had already been done. The doctors told that he will make it alive, but he might be in a vegetative state. He was in a state of coma for 2 days before he himself gave up. I know this because, I know the person.

For a such a fit person such as himself, he displayed no symptoms of AVM or a stroke. He lead a full life. Although he was young (27)., he was a good man. A devoted student of the martial art, a good uncle and a wonderful brother to his family.

sigh... my dad suddenly got stroke when he was watching world cup soomor... so sad he couldnt watch it finish..
he even draaw a chart for the qualifiying rounds.. T__T

guys guys guys... plz do take note here... sometimes in GH... the problem is there is too many patients and with so little time... i mean its kinda hard to keep track of health records of thousands and thousands of patients right??... sometimes i duno whether its the GH's fault or wat... cuz the gov pays us horsesh*t pay (think u all know that)... we are constantly overworked... and we have so limited time to each patient... so... in a way... we are alwiz under stress and understaffed... did u guys know the doctor - patient ratio in peninsula msia is abt 1 to 10,000??... means 1 doctor have to jaga abt 10,000 patients...

on top of that... if suddenly a patient comes in a popped vein in the brain or a blocked artery in the brain... frankly speaking... there is nothing much doctors can do... its something like nasi sudah jadi bubur... when something happens to the brain... there is juz that much we can do... brain is the most complex organ in the human body and also the most fragile organ... im juz saying this statistically lahh... everytime a patient is pushed into the OT (operating theatre) for brain surgery... 9 of 10 odds says he will not make it... but sometimes we have to juz try to be one of the 1 of 10 odds who make it...

ive also had a fren who wuz liddat... he wuz happily playing counterstrike one day when he tiba tiba fainted... and best part the place wuz so noisy no one noticed until the boss came in... we all took him to the accident and emergency... the doctor said it wuz a stroke... at a kid aged 22 that time... during the process of resusitation his heart stopped twice but managed to recover... and now... he is still alive... but vegetable...

things like this happen sometimes... there is juz that much we doctors can do... we are not fortune tellers or anything... we are juz doing as much as we can following protocol... i know that sounds abit illogical and lunatic... but thats the real thing... i can understand the feelings of the relatives and my deepest condolences to them...

but put urself in the doctors shoes... imagine u knew this disease in this patient... and u know there is nothing u can do to prevent it... and by telling the relatives abt this may cause unnecessary emotions... you may say "ill tell them everything" but things dun seem to be as simple as that... and ok... now suddenly the patient "leaves" and the family & relatives are saying u are not doing ur job or u killed their relative or probably start swearing/cursing at u... its quite disheartening... we are here doing our best and the relatives are not being understanding... but in a way... we do tend to forgive the relatives as they juz lost a loved one... we doctors do have a heart...

sometimes its hard to strike a balance... cuz we doctors (most of us) obviously want the best for the patient... but in order to give the best... we need patient's consent... without it... frankly... we cant do sh*t... and during obtaining the consent... we need to strike a balance between how much to tell (so patient knows what is the situation) and how much not to tell (we might cause unnecessary anxiety to patient and their family)...

*but this i speak on behalf of the best of the lot (doctors)...

p/s: im sorry if i seem a bit too forward or have tersinggung some of ur feelings...