Market value around 600 bucks 2nd hand
Brand new are leftover stocks, and are mostly selling at RM9xx

AFC NEO (16X2=32 tuning points)
Brand new sells around RM12xx

E-manage (16X16=256 tuning points)
Brand new basic unit sells at RM11xx
2nd hand unit usually sold at RM750 plus minus
If buy ignition harness (about 200 bucks) can have 16X16 ignition map also

Just curious... emanage these days selling so cheap.... but still there are people who prefers AFC.... why leh?

Give out your ideas and opinions.

*if it was you... which would YOU choose?*

*edit*
OH... and not to mention... comparing Dyno Tuning costs:
AFC = RM150
emanage = RM250

alvin24 said:
Just curious... emanage these days selling so cheap.... but still there are people who prefers AFC.... why leh?

*edit*
OH... and not to mention... comparing Dyno Tuning costs:
AFC = RM150
emanage = RM250

AFC.
1. Easy. Can always test the itchy fingers.
2. Very nice looking display. Even the driver in the other car knows that you have a 'bling-bling' stuff.

E-Manage.
1. Lots of problems and very hassle. Those rotary switches and jumpers.... ahhh....
2. Have to own a laptop.
3. Must learn to understand the so many parameters. Takes lots of time.
4. Have to get the tuning cable which is not cheap.
5. Nothing to display... nobody knows that you have a very expensive gadgets under your carpet. It's also not gliterring shiny.
6. Many tuners say they can tune E-Man... but hancus.... nothing change inside. Everything contains zeros...
7. You don't even know what happen... nothing to read... unless you can afford the e-01.
8. Those wires are too many and weight a ton.... You loose your speed due to those additional weight.

somebody... help me to add more reasons please.

weight a ton ?? wtf your talking about.

5. Nothing to display... nobody knows that you have a very expensive gadgets under your carpet. It's also not gliterring shiny. ( Get a E-01, then ppl will know you have even more bling bling ...)

7. You don't even know what happen... nothing to read... unless you can afford the e-01. ( if cannot afford e-01 then you bling bling level is only to that level .. hahaha .. in another fact, if you dunno how to to tune it, wtf you need to see what is going on ... you dunno how to fix it as well ! )

4. Have to get the tuning cable which is not cheap. ( want to bling but no money .. wtf lar ! )

2. Have to own a laptop. ( eh ... so poor don't play car lar ... think about your family first ..)

Dude, when the equipment is too complicated for you, please lar dun flame at it cuz you don't understand it .. ahhaha

j/k

Who's is the best E-manage tuner in Klang valley?
Anyone know?

Btw, is it possible that wrong or poor tuning of e-manage causes the engine to vibrate (during idle)?

TQ

Safc/2
-easy and cheaper to tune coz u have the display, no need to dyno-tuned to feel the diff. but for best effect still have to dyno-tuned and fine tune it during road drive, most places can tune it for u for a price or if gatal2 can tune it urself
-nice looking gadget, a display cum engine management but very appealing to thief (so many cases of break in)
-in terms of price, brand new safc2 + tuning still cheaper than emanage blue

Emanage
-more tuning point, smoother power and better fuel consumption if u get it right
-have to dyno-tuned to REALLY see the effect & diff., but onli certain2 places can tune it properly, btw it need some relevant equipment,etc laptop,proper knowledge (I would recommend gt auto sunway-look for Thomas, really nice guy)
-not flexible, cant easily tune back if u do some modification to ur engine, finalize ur modification b4 installing this gadget
-high price…

K20AEK, cant u see that cipan is joking? FYI, he's an e-manage tuner. he tunes cars' engine management system for a living. on average, he tunes at least 3 e-manage powered cars per week (when he's in malaysia of course, during his time off porsche carrera asia cup races). so pls dun simply flame him lar. so when u think e-manage is too complicated for cipan, please think again... he aint no stupid guy, and he definitely aint poor...

aiya , simple
in this world u got a wira monster at home and one more is a beautiful bmw 3
ppl like the beautiful bmw instead cos of its looks. cos we are users and we are humans , so we like something nice in looks , fancy , n y everyone goes for it is cos its BLING BLING hahaha. one more thing is cos its just fix , press press and tune , nothing complicated

emanage is not a normal toy , in malaysia u know anyone who tunes emanage properly , its not simple, its complicated and expensive to play with , i dont mean for the user , but i mean for enthusiast who wish to play with the item.
we in zth are users or enthusiast ? seriously it cost alot to tune an emanage as cipan said, cable ? laptop if u have it ? and ur capability to tune

do u prefer less features but able to tune maximize it properly
or do u prefer to tap every single thing with the emanage, do the complicated wiring , mess up every parameter

technical ppl will fall for something thts more in bits , pins , switches
but are users technical, enthusiast are technical or are tuners technical ?

wht cipan is trying to say is the point for why they opt to SAFC and the hassle users face if they want to play with it. and cipan is a known tuner himself, i tink he knows more bout emanage over here compare to many of us here. he is just saying sarcasticly why ppl tend to go for bling bling rather than good functionality.

K20EK : there is a nice way of responsing peoples reply , i tink u can learn that.
everyone has their right to shoot their opinions , dont have to be rude man..

guys, chill man

cipan,
Aiyoo... standalone also sooo mafan mar... sooo headache mar... but people still want it... coz' its GOOD mar! =Þ
But honestly... emanage is lightyears better than the SAFC, where as its almost of the same price... (actually, AFC Neo is MORE EXPENSIVE than emanage summore!).. why do people still want AFC leh? I guess the MAIN part would be to show off... seconded by easy tuning abilities... coz' any tom dick and harry can tune it... but its just a rough tune... still emanage tunes WAY better, but have to send for dyno tuning lar.

tuning software+cable is only 300 bucks... you could download a copy of the CD online if u know where to look... and the cable can be purchased off a computer store. And if you don't have a laptop of ur own, you could always borrow a friend's one...

Btw.. chill la u 2... fight here for wat? Wanna quarrel PM each orther lar.

ryonan,
don't off topic.. go start ur own.

man10681,
SAFC2 is obselete... replaced by AFC Neo. Those that are around are leftovers... but still purchasing an SAFC2 at 9xx, i'd rather top up 200 bucks and get an emanage. If you that extra 200 bucks also cannot afford, then I'm sure you wouldn't be purchasing a brand new SAFC2 in the first place rite? I've seen 2nd hand emanage go as low as 700 bucks...

Who says it can't easily be tuned when u do some mods to the engine? =Þ emanage also has a '5-button afc' at the side for minor touch ups laaa.

And as for tuning... even if i use SAFC also, i'd rather tune it on a dyno... that way you'll know for sure everything's done right.

Jinkl,
I think not many people here tune their own. So if comparing tuning prices... dyno tune SAFC=150, dyno tune emanage=250... again, may i remind u, emanage at the side got like a '5 button AFC' for minor touch ups. =Þ So people can still play like playing with the 5-button AFC mar. =Þ When do major mod only go for a full retune of the emanage lor.

Emanage software+cable is 300 bucks oni la dei!
Loads of 2nd hand laptop on sale also maa... just get one pentium2 laptop for a couple hundred bucks mah can lor! hehehe... If u buy emanage ultimate, comes with the cable+software free summore. =Þ

I'd go for SAFC Neo.

Even though not as many parameters as E-manage but at least it looks way much cooler on the dash board. :shades_smile:

Then I can it press here ad there and make believe I'm somekind of tuner or something. :_:

Also easier to pick up chicks because car looks fancier and "bling"-er

E-manage? looks like amplifier. Chicks won't know wat it is even if they steppd on it.

Joeker said:
I'd go for SAFC Neo.

Even though not as many parameters as E-manage but at least it looks way much cooler on the dash board. :shades_smile:

Then I can it press here ad there and make believe I'm somekind of tuner or something. :_:

Also easier to pick up chicks because car looks fancier and "bling"-er

E-manage? looks like amplifier. Chicks won't know wat it is even if they steppd on it.
EXACTLY. who cares about the features? as long as it looks bling. that's the only reason safc is more popular than e-manage

alvin24 said:

Am I wrong to give out my opinions of why E-Manage is not fond of? That was what Alvin24 asked for. I was giving reasons why many people opt for AFC instead of E-Manage. It doesn't meant that we have to know how to use a gadget before buying and installing it into our car. AFC's can be show off on our dashboards but E-Manage lay under the carpet and worst still, it may lay under your girlfriend's feet and she don't give any credit for that.

C'mon, me too is living in this society. I understand how this society will react to those gadgets. They usually like to do themselves or at least pretending doing themselves either with or without knowing of what they are doing. Who cares.
Furthermore, tuning E-Manage at those tuning centre are expensive. If there is nothing to monkey, then that's not fun. You pay so much .... but cannot touch.....? = no fun ma.....

AFC-Neo is much better (in aspect of bling-bling). The screen now have colors, not like that former AFC, only blue screen and white characters. Now the old AFC's looks ugly. (old lady, not many will admire).

Please add more reasons.

Actually... on top of "why people still want AFC", i'd also like to hear u guys comment on which would YOU prefer?

Dyno tuning prices for SAFC is 150, for emanage is 250... not to say very big difference also.

no doubt the bling bling effect is there but thn im buying "some" management to enhance my car power and reliability thn i wan bling. Bling comes as a bonus to me.

normality78,
So means u'd rather get emanage than AFC lar huh?

hi , sorry brothers...... didnt mean to hijack.... but my Q is related to this... so i ask here............ cheers

afc neo , can control i-vtec ?
some ppl told me that it cant , it can only control v-tec , and not the timing of the valve .......

i dont know how a i-vtec work , so my main Q is , if vtec is ON, and the valve is not ON ..... will it cause any probleM? or stress the engine alot ? .... what can i expect if this happen ?

hehe ..... thanks alot guys .......

funkydog,
i think better u start new topic for this one. =Þ

normality78,
Yea lor... performance seekers would of course get emanage lar... budget spenders also coz' its more wise to spend on an emanage than an afc. But still the AFC is a hot selling product man! dun playplay...