GOSU! Please Share Ur Advice (E-manage)!!!

DJ-LanEvo3

Good day to you all...

I know it might be a long article but once u click it please read it
until the end hahaha... my english is simple and direct (user friendly)
it wouldn make u fall asleep.. ^^

I like to discuss about one topic here to discuss with u..
A lot of people including Enthausiasts say that 'E-manage' & 'SAFC'one of inexpensive ECU upgraders which are value for money.

Ok, after a short introduction. Let me throw a topic here to discuss..
As other articles been issued and discussing about E-management, my
topic here is regarding E-management as well.

For sure, it could be more interesting stuff than SAFC in functions as it
contains more control kits.

The way of E-manage's Air fuel Ratio setting (plus/Minus fuel injecting) is almost same with SAFC's but initial setting is quite more complicated...
Such as..........
------------------------------------------------
1. 7 Jumper Pin setting position (E-manage Blue)
2. Rotary Switch Setting
------------------------------------------------

Initially those 2 things make us hasitate purchasing E-management
rather than simple initial setting of SAFC.....

So here comes my questions...
How do we actually set those things that if there is no manual support..

Let's say if we tune Proton Wira 4G15P............

Luckly Jumper Setting can be solved... as it shows
They are only differenciated into 2 categories as

1) Vtec and 2) All the rest of others including NA/Turbo
This is Jumper Pin initial setting
e-manage_15.JPG

This is what manual shows (Normal Engines)
--------------------------
Vehicle with
Air Flow Meter, Map Sensor
(Setting from Factory)
JP1: 1-2
JP2: 1-2
JP3: 1-2
JP4: OPEN
JP5: OPEN
JP6: OPEN
JP7: 1-2
(Sorry to all Vtec Users, my interest is non Vtec)

Do the jumper setting like this but how about..... 'Rotary Switch Setting' ?
e-manage_14.JPG

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rotary Switches
1. Number of Cylinder Seletor
2.Air-Flow Type Selector
3.Air-Flow Type Selector
4. Vtec Point Volume
5. Vtec Air Flow Adjust Volume

So If we tune 4G63 engine than we supposed to set '4' first rotary right? but then... manual shows '3'. Please refer this
e-manage_30.JPG

It shows as '3 8 3'. There are some people said that there are few
cases that Greddy E-manage caused Ignition Coil burnt..

How do we do inital setting for E-manage for those other
categories of cars which didn't come with manual guide.....?

Your experiences sharing and comments will be much much much appreciated......

How do we set for Rotary Switch Setting for those cars
which are not writen on the manual...???
Ex) Hyundai Cars, Proton Cars... and so on

Haha aiya.. hey Jun long time no see lah bro.. how is ur Volt on turbo charged engine huh?

How do we set for Rotary Switch Setting for those cars
which are not writen on the manual...???
Ex) Hyundai Cars, Proton Cars... and so on

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First digit - Ignition signal type
Sets the expected input for the RPM signal. Also sets up how the
ignition signal setting will work.
1 - 1 coil (distributor) 3 cyl
2 - 1 coil (distributor) 4 cyl
3 - 2 coil (wasted spark) 4 cyl
4 - 4 coil (coil on plug) 4 cyl
5 - 1 coil (distributor) 6 cyl
(only seems to be on the Toyota 1G-GTE inline 6)
6 - 3 coil (wasted spark) 6 cyl
7 - 6 coil (coil on plug) 6 cyl
8 - 8 coil (coil on plug) 8 cyl
A - RX-7 13B-REW
B - RX-7 13B or 13BT
C - RX-7 20B-REW
Examples:

1. If you set 2 on a engine with 2 coils, only one
ignition will get spark because #2 thinks you have
only one coil.

2. Say you have the listed engine 4AGE/MAP/Disty which
uses settings 2-4-0 and you have a 4AGZE/MAP/Disty,
you can try settings 3-4-0. If the setup doesn't
recognize an engine designation that means it won't
work. If it detects the same 4AGE but stumbles, it
means that it is calculating the spark timing wrongly
based on one coil and is out of phase. This will cause
extra retarded timing and possibly backfire. You got
to find an alternative rotary switch setting from
another engine - in this case the Daihatsu L502 which
will work, RSS 3-C-2. It runs 2 coil and MAP sensor.

3. The E-manage is not universal. You cannot create
your own rotary switch combination. It is factory
preset with a range of cars.
Second and Third digit - airflow meter type. Notice there are a LOT of
potential settings that aren't listed - hmm.... The first 2 numbers
are the rotary switch settings, and the second is the airflow type
designation. For example, NS_HW-1 is Nissan Hotwire Type 1. These
codes are pulled straight from the E-manage manual. NOTE: Some of
these are undocumented settings that may only apply to the latest
(v.1.36) of the firmware. They are there and work, but some of the
applications are unknown.
Nissan Hotwire
00 NS_HW-1
01 NS_HW-2
02 NS_HW-3
03 NS_HW-4
04 NS_HW-5
05 NS_HW-6
06 NS_HW-7
07 NS_HW-8
08 NS_HW-9
09 NS_HW-10
0A NS_HW-11
Toyota Hotwire
20 TY_HW-1 (undocumented)
21 TY_HW-2
22 TY_HW-3
23 TY_HW-4
24 TY_HW-5
25 TY_HW-6
Toyota Pressure
40 TY_PR-1
41 TY_PR-2
42 TY_PR-3
Toyota Flap
47 TY_FL-1
48 TY_FL-2
49 TY_FL-3
4A TY_FL-4
Subaru Hotwire
60 SB_HW-1
61 SB-HW-2
62 SB-HW-3
63 SB-HW-4
Mitsubishi Karmann
83 MT_KR-1
84 MT_KR-2
Honda Pressure
8A HN_PR-1
8B HN_PR-2
8C - new settings for Honda S2000
8D HN_PR-4 Undocumented for RSX
8E Undocumented working setting
Mazda Hotwire
A0 MZ_HW-1
A1 MZ_HW-2
Mazda Pressure
A6 MZ_PR-1
Mazda Flap
A9 MZ-FL-1 Undocumented
AA MZ_FL-2
AB MZ_FL-3
AC MZ_FL-4
AD MZ_FL-5
Suzuki/Daihatsu Pressure
C0 SD_PR-1
C1 SD_PR-2
C2 SD_PR-3
There are a number of jumpers inside the E-manage, most of which are
obvious to set if you have an application listed in the manual. Here's
a breakdown of the jumpers and what their purpose is.
Jumper settings inside the E-manage:

JP1 Ignition input pullup/pulldown select
1-2 A resistor is pulled down to ground
2-3 A resistor is pulled up the +ve rail
* Use 1-2 when the ECU's driver transistor is
connected to ground
* Use 2-3 when the ECU's driver transistor is
connected to +ve (5V or 12V will determine JP2's
setting)
Supposedly you can see the input voltage in the Main Unit Setting
Information window. If it's 0v, use 1-2. If it's 5v or more, use 2-3.

JP2 Ignition output select
1-2 Output resistor connected to +5V
2-3 Output resistor connected to +12V
* This will depend on the ECU ignitor signals output
* JP2 enables the e-manage to duplicate the amplitude
of the original signal

JP3 airflow/VTEC output select
1-2 2nd airflow meter
2-3 VTEC
* Even if you don't have a 2nd airflow meter, leave it on 1-2 for non-
VTEC applications

JP4 airflow/VTEC input select
1-2 VTEC
2-3 2nd airflow meter
* Even if you don't have a 2nd airflow meter, leave it on 2-3 for non-
VTEC applications
* On 1-2, enables pulldown resistor (for use as VTM signal). This is
required because the VTM output is inverted with the VTEC out.

JP5/JP6 Sub injector drivers
Jumper off - Disabled
1-2 - Enabled
* Only enable if you're going to control extra injectors with the E-
manage

JP7 VTEC
1-2 Non-VTEC
Jumper off - VTEC
* On 1-2, enables pullup resistor (for use as MAF output)

all i know if the ignition (1st rotary setting) is wrong, the car wouldn't start or runs like crap... if you still crank it long enough or let it run like crap long enough , you'll risk frying the coils... either COP(Coil on plug) or your distributor will fail... expensive lesson to learn... hahaha... so if you are unsure of what you are doing... don't do it at all.

for rotary setting 2 & 3, it is all about trial... choose the closes sensor type for your vehicle.
some Hyundai uses Karmen Sensors from Mitsubishi (in the old ones.. unsure about the new Hyundai though...) Say if you are using MAP sensor (Pressure type) it is wise to try out those with ** ** _PR-* (for an example TY_PR-1) if the sensor is mostly found in Toyota... Rotary setting would be 4 0. Try running the engine and see if any hesitation.. if engine not running as smoothly as it should try the next pressure type... and the try out goes on... if your sensors are not from a japanese manufacturer.. chances are you won't be able to use the emanage with your engine. so, save your money and go for a stand-alone computer if your modification is extreme.

bro

thanks for the long reply. i will try rotary setting 2-4-0.

whats the cheapest standalone ecu now?

right now i set it to 2-4-0, and its responding very well compared to last setting.
but i have a problem with the boost cut. when i remove the boost cut from emanage, my voltage stays the same and i cant get enuf fuel to the injectors. This is very risky to my engine.

i dont have ignition harness right now. Will i able to control my injectors if i have the ignition harness?

ignition harness is to control timing la... it won't alter your fuelling. you should install the pressure sensor to add fuelling above your normal boost. i have them (generic version) of the 3bar map sensor for RM390.00

mine is set rotary switched to 3-A-C. For a few days after tuning, my baby B8 engine is running smooth. Then a week later, i felt my car runs like crap. huhuhu...after doing some research, i found that incorrect setting at rotary switch. It should be set to 2-A-A, but mine set 3-A-C. Question here, may i change a rotary switch to 2-A-A without new tuning? Is the data logged in previous setting (rotary switch 3-A-C) will running in new 2-A-A setting? TQ