the only person know how a CCTV in The Curve function is the develople and the security guard...
no la, you plonk me down in the Control Center and i'll be able to work the stupid system in less than 10 minutes. CONFIRM.
like i mentioned earlier, most of the cameras i saw in The Curve are PTZ Cameras. PTZ being Pan/Tilt/Zoom which means exactly that, you can pan (left/right), tilt (up/down) and zoom (lens in/out) the camera module in the dome.
1 main problem is that the guards employed to monitor the cameras, most of them have no idea how to manipulate these powerful equipments at all. for 256 cameras in the size of a mall like that, i'd recommend minimum a complement of 3-4 guards to control the PTZs.
bear in mind that the camera is like our field of vision, how wide you can see is about how wide the camera sees as well. and with a PTZ camera, when you focus on one spot, let's say Escalator A... you'll be left out not monitoring the area outside the field of view, let's say Toilets Entrance. once you move to Toilets, you'll then miss out on Escalatator A. AND the recorder only records what the camera is sending it, thus you lose video information.
which brings in another issue. what happens is that most security guards in Msia are extremely unprofessional and they completely misuse the system. for example, a long time ago there was a robbery in KL PLaza. in front of KL PLaza main driveway, there's a PTZ Camera. when the police went back to play back the recordings, they discovered that the security guard was using the PTZ camera to track a pretty girl at that point in time. so while the robbers made their escape, all that was on the recordings was Ms.Pretty-Face. :(
and don't even get me started on MidValley or 1Utama's security. seen them firsthand and i was appalled at the quality. but have to say that not all are inefficient in Malaysia, eg SunwayPyr, Isetan, and a few more.
i seriously doubt it was an inside job with collusion from the police, management or security division.
it is just a plain case of cold-blooded murder which was failed to be picked up by the surveillance system because of a few possible reasons.
1. cheap/ineffective surveillance system
2. inadequate cameras
3. the cameras were not suitably deployed
4. unprofessional or unskilled security guards
still i do believe that poor May knew her killer and it wasn't just some stranger who took her life.
sorry guys, but i'm in this industry and it does sicken me to see how sometimes we have all this great technology at our fingertips but because the building owners decide to stinge on a few hundred thousand ringgit (when the entire project is like a few hundred million), somebody has to pay with their life.