anybody noew this girl?

Originally posted by Seraph@Feb 19 2005, 04:39
what a waste.
pretty, smart and rich.
probably a jealous lover?
my sincere condolences.

so happend my ex-skoolmate was there with his wife and kid.
first time goto the curve and saw this, scary, didn't see the body luckily but knew something was going on. shop lot closed with a guard hanging around probably waiting for the police to take their own sweet time to arrive.

all planned and kamching oredi wan lah i think.
how can CCTV miss it all?
how can the police responde so slowly.
same like canny ong case.
http://www.thestar.com.my/archives/2005/2/18/nation/n_01grief.jpg
Is that the sister? Looks scary. :ph34r:
That girl in the picture is not her sister...but if i m not wrong is her god-sis..something like that ler...anyway, the girl in the pic is my school friend and she is from sunway college...I was quite shock when i saw her picture in the news paper...

Originally posted by mofaab+Feb 19 2005, 11:44 -->
QUOTE (mofaab @ Feb 19 2005, 11:44 )
Originally posted by differ@Feb 19 2005, 11:39
--QuoteBegin-DJThoRmented
@Feb 19 2005, 10:03
cctv does not take @ all angles... how i know this coz i have to look after the stoopid cctv server. adding to this, management controls where to place the cameras and not the security which in my point are the most suitable people to tell where to place the cams :P

nah, it's normal for the police to respond within that timeframe. i'm in the security industry so i know. remember the case with Datuk Lim and how he shot dead 2 of his would-be intruders in SS19? same thing, the police arrived rather late.

the CCTVs employed in The Curve, from what i observed are mostly Pan/Tilt/Zoom cameras. their deployment seems to be focused on the escalators and not the walkways.

the main issue here is that the developers usually look to reduce

DJThoRmented:

You are looking after the surveillance system in The Curve? May i know what make/brand of Digital video recorders are you using? How many cameras deployed within the shopping center?

i notice the PTZs are either Vicon of Pelco speed-domes.

for a Mall the size of the Curve to have at least 256 cameras (16 systems x 16 channels) with 3 trained guards monitoring the system at all times.

but then again, everything boils down to cost. most local developers (or even businesses for that matter) look to spending on security as a COST when it should be very much viewed as an INVESTMENT.

as long as this point of view doesn't change, you will find many more of such cases where inadequate security not being able to do enough to prevent or solve a crime.

:o You're right, thinking of it.... How in the world could the cctv didnt catch the killer....customer still not too crowded as the shop area just open....hmmmm makes me wonder b][/quote]
either inside job or the guards got paid off.
ridiculus that a big new and modern mall not al full capacity got nothing on CCTV.
during opening when there isn't many people that guy should stick out like a sore thumb.
its true that in malaysia security is more viewed as a cost and only for show.
how many people live in so called "guarded" community where there is a guard house and checkpoint for all the entry areas but the guards never flag anyone down instead just let any tom, dick or harry pass. <_<

Originally posted by Seraph+Feb 19 2005, 14:33 -->
QUOTE (Seraph @ Feb 19 2005, 14:33 )
Originally posted by mofaab@Feb 19 2005, 11:44
Originally posted by differ@Feb 19 2005, 11:39
--QuoteBegin-DJThoRmented
@Feb 19 2005, 10:03
cctv does not take @ all angles... how i know this coz i have to look after the stoopid cctv server. adding to this, management controls where to place the cameras and not the security which in my point are the most suitable people to tell where to place the cams :P

nah, it's normal for the police to respond within that timeframe. i'm in the security industry so i know. remember the case with Datuk Lim and how he shot dead 2 of his would-be intruders in SS19? same thing, the police arrived rather late.

the CCTVs employed in The Curve, from what i observed are mostly Pan/Tilt/Zoom cameras. their deployment seems to be focused on the escalators and not the walkways.

the main issue here is that the developers usually look to reduce

DJThoRmented:

You are looking after the surveillance system in The Curve? May i know what make/brand of Digital video recorders are you using? How many cameras deployed within the shopping center?

i notice the PTZs are either Vicon of Pelco speed-domes.

for a Mall the size of the Curve to have at least 256 cameras (16 systems x 16 channels) with 3 trained guards monitoring the system at all times.

but then again, everything boils down to cost. most local developers (or even businesses for that matter) look to spending on security as a COST when it should be very much viewed as an INVESTMENT.

as long as this point of view doesn't change, you will find many more of such cases where inadequate security not being able to do enough to prevent or solve a crime.

:o You're right, thinking of it.... How in the world could the cctv didnt catch the killer....customer still not too crowded as the shop area just open....hmmmm makes me wonder b]

either inside job or the guards got paid off.
ridiculus that a big new and modern mall not al full capacity got nothing on CCTV.
during opening when there isn't many people that guy should stick out like a sore thumb.
its true that in malaysia security is more viewed as a cost and only for show.
how many people live in so called "guarded" community where there is a guard house and checkpoint for all the entry areas but the guards never flag anyone down instead just let any tom, dick or harry pass. b][/quote]
normally by puting the CCTV is only requirement for the shopping mall or shop lot to purchase the insurance for the shop but not the life. It's happen in many places where the insurance company put the requirement that all the shop lot that want to purchase the insurance covering have to install the CCTV to their shop lot. So the CCTV is the requirement only. it is not for safety purposes that we are discussing now. I don't think majority of the shopping mall install the CCTV is for security purposes, majority of then is only fullfill the requirement. Maybe after installed the CCTV, there all never maintain it. You can see some of the CCTV in few shopping mall. Some of it doesn't working anymore but nobody going to repair it.

the only person know how a CCTV in The Curve function is the develople and the security guard...

no la, you plonk me down in the Control Center and i'll be able to work the stupid system in less than 10 minutes. CONFIRM.

like i mentioned earlier, most of the cameras i saw in The Curve are PTZ Cameras. PTZ being Pan/Tilt/Zoom which means exactly that, you can pan (left/right), tilt (up/down) and zoom (lens in/out) the camera module in the dome.

1 main problem is that the guards employed to monitor the cameras, most of them have no idea how to manipulate these powerful equipments at all. for 256 cameras in the size of a mall like that, i'd recommend minimum a complement of 3-4 guards to control the PTZs.

bear in mind that the camera is like our field of vision, how wide you can see is about how wide the camera sees as well. and with a PTZ camera, when you focus on one spot, let's say Escalator A... you'll be left out not monitoring the area outside the field of view, let's say Toilets Entrance. once you move to Toilets, you'll then miss out on Escalatator A. AND the recorder only records what the camera is sending it, thus you lose video information.

which brings in another issue. what happens is that most security guards in Msia are extremely unprofessional and they completely misuse the system. for example, a long time ago there was a robbery in KL PLaza. in front of KL PLaza main driveway, there's a PTZ Camera. when the police went back to play back the recordings, they discovered that the security guard was using the PTZ camera to track a pretty girl at that point in time. so while the robbers made their escape, all that was on the recordings was Ms.Pretty-Face. :(

and don't even get me started on MidValley or 1Utama's security. seen them firsthand and i was appalled at the quality. but have to say that not all are inefficient in Malaysia, eg SunwayPyr, Isetan, and a few more.

i seriously doubt it was an inside job with collusion from the police, management or security division.

it is just a plain case of cold-blooded murder which was failed to be picked up by the surveillance system because of a few possible reasons.
1. cheap/ineffective surveillance system
2. inadequate cameras
3. the cameras were not suitably deployed
4. unprofessional or unskilled security guards

still i do believe that poor May knew her killer and it wasn't just some stranger who took her life.

sorry guys, but i'm in this industry and it does sicken me to see how sometimes we have all this great technology at our fingertips but because the building owners decide to stinge on a few hundred thousand ringgit (when the entire project is like a few hundred million), somebody has to pay with their life.

Originally posted by FTO@Feb 19 2005, 11:30
there's really some fucked up members in here...i can't believe u guys still can make a joke with the victims family...shame on you...yeah,you & you & you...the one tat talk about chucky...i'm gonna make nice joke of you next time anything bad happend to you,and lets see how you react
FTO,

First day in ZTH ? haha. I know what you mean how you you feel,
there are a lot of newbies talking shit all the time here, which makes me,
and some other regulars damn irritated sometimes, what happened to the
ZTH last time, it was so nice, no talk cock, just some nice chat and we
actually gained knowledge from the threads unlike now, you were there right ?

Originally posted by differ@Feb 19 2005, 15:23
it is just a plain case of cold-blooded murder which was failed to be picked up by the surveillance system because of a few possible reasons.
1. cheap/ineffective surveillance system
2. inadequate cameras
3. the cameras were not suitably deployed
4. unprofessional or unskilled security guards

still i do believe that poor May knew her killer and it wasn't just some stranger who took her life.

sorry guys, but i'm in this industry and it does sicken me to see how sometimes we have all this great technology at our fingertips but because the building owners decide to stinge on a few hundred thousand ringgit (when the entire project is like a few hundred million), somebody has to pay with their life.
I guess what you mean is...

Don't blame the technology.
Its there and its useful.
But it was either poorly implementated and misused by unprofessional people.

I sorta agree on that.

I think I know why the guy stole her handphone.
It was probably the only clue to the killers identity.
His name and number should be in the addressbook.

i think so too Seraph. well the guy must be a complete idiot as well cos all phonecalls are itemised, even our landlines when we make local calls.

Murder at The Curve? Dang! I lived just around the area... scary!

Condolence to the family. Very sad indeed.

Must be an inside job...

I don't know her personally, but his dad is a family friend. My dad's long time friend and colleague. My parents were shocked when they read the news in the papers. At first when they read the news in NST (no pictures of family), they weren't sure who the victim was. but when they saw the picture of her family members in the star, then only they know it was my dad's fren's daughter. :(

She wasn't robbed, so she was definitely a targetted victim. what happened there nobody can tell as for now. hopefully they can find the killer soon, and may he burn in hell. :angry:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/19/nation/10206591&sec=nation

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/19/nation/10207514&sec=nation

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/19/nation/10206693&sec=nation

:( :( :( :( :(

SHe was my dad's former boss daughter...parents went to pay their condolence..till the end she was as pretty as ever..the pic does not give her the full credits...

Anyway...it was not an inside job....heard that a gangster fall in love with her and was wooing her...also heard that police has located or knew who the criminal might be (NOTE RUMOURS ONLY )...anyway i personally met n seen her b4..she even serve me ribena b4 a few years back...sigh...its a tragic world we are living in.... :( :(

her current boyfriend dah remanded in police station
he went there to give statement himself...
how genuine

Originally posted by acbc@Feb 19 2005, 16:04
Murder at The Curve? Dang! I lived just around the area... scary!

Condolence to the family. Very sad indeed.

Must be an inside job...
what makes you think it was an inside job ? v :blink:

she's my cousin's friend's neighbour.

she is so sad to c her died like dis... coz she is indeed a pretty n not lanci gal... :(

Perhaps we should not speculate on anything. There could be multiple reasons for something like this happening. Heck, even all the Michael Jackson case, I have yet to hear anybody finding any true solid evidence for his law suits. I have a certain level of confidence in malaysia's investigation team but I feel that they're still very much lacking in many areas. Whatever that has happened to the victim, for whatever reason, I feel that any life at all shouldn't be taken as a mode of whatever kind of payment.
We do not have wars like the middle east but we do have a different sort of "war" in our countries, which is rape, murder cases, etc. I'm close to being speechless about this case and I'd rather choose not to think about anything else other than my condolences for the victim's family. Life seems to get cheaper as time continues to move ahead.