Amp Mounting

GeneX

Need some helps from all the sifus here,need some opinion bout wher should i mount my amp at? Below the seat or at the trunk?

Which one better?

GeneX said:
Need some helps from all the sifus here,need some opinion bout wher should i mount my amp at? Below the seat or at the trunk?

Which one better?

most of ppl mount it below d sit.....if u hv lots of amp, then mount on d trunk......

.. the decision lies on practicality & also what's your setup purpose... if wanna join competition where in some category, points for installation count, then locate the amps at the back with some nice fibreglassing work, can score better points..
pay more for wiring as longer cables r needed.. tweaking/ tuning can be done easily if amps r behind 'cause amps r more visible and reachable..

for practical reason, if the space under the seats permit, & u r using maybe 2 amps, then can put 1 each under the front seats..
have to make sure proper ventilation.. wiring cost may be lower..

i think both setups won't affect sound quality.. :smile:

SQ has nothing to do with where you mount your amp at. I would not suggets you place your amp under the seat if you have other space to place it.

1. Ventilation is important when placing your amp because your amp life splan will be shorter if its too hot for a ong period of time.

2. Make sure your grounding cables must be shortest as possible. so amp must be near your grounding point.

Most people mount amps in the boot as its easier to access for tuning.

The installation mehtods will depend on the design on the amp, the space available and the end user requirements.

Personally I would go for installation in the boot as it will be easier to adjust when required and my car cant allow it to be mounted beneath the seat.

Bert said:
Personally I would go for installation in the boot as it will be easier to adjust when required and my car cant allow it to be mounted beneath the seat.

Same here. would prefer mounting in the boot also(well, i had no choice anyway), facing the same problem wif Bert, car seats are mounted too low to be able to fit any amps, moreover, the amps are too long to fit under the seats anyway :rock: :biggrin: :tongue:

GRexer said:
Same here. would prefer mounting in the boot also(well, i had no choice anyway), facing the same problem wif Bert, car seats are mounted too low to be able to fit any amps, moreover, the amps are too long to fit under the seats anyway :rock: :biggrin: :tongue:

fuiyo..is this lanci or wat har ???

Er... i think a lot of people we know also have amps that don't fit under seats :p

s15 said:
fuiyo..is this lanci or wat har ???

Aiyo..he is not lanc-ing la...i get my amp from him one,so he know the size of my PCX-440.

Aiyaa.. if got damn cun looking amp sure mount in boot for ppl to see mar... plus point: better ventilation :) When i was using the Agako amp, stuff under the seat, now got funky looking amp, display lar... self-satisfaction is most important.

haha...mayb getting Helix Blue 62 MkII Comps (Front) or MBQ DSD216,any suggestion?

I'm juz a begginer,starting up my ICE journey.

BTW,saw a thread : http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=42159

Selling a JL audio component at a dirt cheap price,izzit possible to hav an ori set at this kinda price?

Juz asking,no offence.

it is better if u can ask tem to hook it up and listen it urself
i have no comment on that...
no offence also

Hm... if u asked me, i would pick the Helix over the MBQ, not really a fan of MBQ's tweeters though their QM/QSD mid-bass is pretty nice.

Better to stay away from the JL Audio ;)

There's a lot of imitations flying around nowadays.

yeah...get the helix from mike...
me too, not a fan of MBQ... mid bass is nice but the tweeter is always harsh to me...tried to tame it with EQ...after that it sound very dull..
dats why i end up with my AVI

as for the imitation wan..i am 100% agree wioth Grexer

if mount in da boot...da rca cable is longer, how bout da disortion??
no choice have to use a better Rca cable?
i mounted my amp under seat, it's true tat da amp is quite hot, but i can use a better RCA cable loo...coz it's short distance, RCA cable will cheaper...hehe

eh... this is M'sia lah... we have flash floods everywhere... do it at your boot area, under the seat not advisable :wink:

i once placed my amp/s under the seat until...
1) Fuse blow makes my life really hard to change it
2) do some simple mix-n-match wiring was really challenging
3) tuning is definately needs the help of torch light & long nose
4) the flood in the middle of KL (Jln Sultan Ismail - infront of Subaru showroom).

That was my last draw, went to nice kedai accessories and switch all amps & gadgets behind :wink: