advice on pre-amp !

Vinod

any suggestion on some good n reliable pre-amp...the one im using now is not that good...anyone heard of this brand called 'Rodek'.. .i try and tested it and the sound is kinda good and improved my sound perfromance 15% more...and it cost around Rm250...appreciate ur ideas!! thanx

wut kind

what kind of pre-amp are you talking bout? e xover? parametric? EQ?

Rodek is a good brand but bear in mind tht every brand has its entry level product to its high-end product...

if you hav tested the rodek and you like the sound better than any other brand in tht price range you hav tested... then take it...

i dun hav any suggestion on pre-amp as i am not using one myself... but remember when you buy you ICE... go for the sound, not the brand...

cheers:cheers:

hey bro!!

ur helping me a lot la!! remember u recommeded me the boshmann zx? its rally worth it man! well i wanna a parametr amp... i think mb i will just go wit rodek since the sound is good and the price is really affordable...

anyway thanks mate! cheers !!

Rodek = crap brand.
Why would you need a pre amp in the first place? By installing cheap preamp you would add noise rather than improving it.

i regret using pre-amp...try to use electronic x-over better...!!cheers

so u dt need a pre-amp is it? how to control the settings then,straight control on the amp is it?

but when i test it did improve the sound,bt since u guys telling u dt need a pre-amp than thts sometg to think about...so what u guys suggesting then? is the electric x-over good? how it works? advice appreciated!!

Vinod said:
so u dt need a pre-amp is it? how to control the settings then,straight control on the amp is it?

but when i test it did improve the sound,bt since u guys telling u dt need a pre-amp than thts sometg to think about...so what u guys suggesting then? is the electric x-over good? how it works? advice appreciated!!

What settings do you mean? Electronic Xover is easier to tune than passive xover (if you know how to use them).

If you know about fine tuning you dont even need to buy other things. Keep your system simple and you will be trouble free.

appleyard said:
What settings do you mean? Electronic Xover is easier to tune than passive xover (if you know how to use them).

If you know about fine tuning you dont even need to buy other things. Keep your system simple and you will be trouble free.
i thought e xover are for ppl running active only... can explain more ah appleyard? cuz when i look at a e xover... i feel like its not simple to tune using it compare to parametric... as too many numbers... and i dun quite understand what the numbers stands for...

can enlighten me and vinod here?

minimum u need e-crossover is for your sub amp also, 2 way crossover to split signal between fronts & sub. for front active then only u need 3 way crossover, separate channels for tweeter, mids & sub.

parametric is an EQ not a crossover, however some do have a sub Low Pass filter built in. the numbers in parametric is to adjust the sound (louder/softer) of that band of frequencies. in the crossover the numbers are to filter the sound, which goes to mids, which goes to sub, so they all dont play the same frequencies.

passive and active acts the same thing as a xover or a filter the difference is active or electronic you called it needs current to function. Passives are manual tuning so harder to tune (for me lah).

Parametric is an Eq. Qhat numbers you see is actiually frequency. Which freq. you want to play loud and which freq. you want to play low.

I always suggested ppl not to use a preamp or a 3 way xover, because if you have a good HU you wont need those.

appleyard said:
passive and active acts the same thing as a xover or a filter the difference is active or electronic you called it needs current to function. Passives are manual tuning so harder to tune (for me lah).

Parametric is an Eq. Qhat numbers you see is actiually frequency. Which freq. you want to play loud and which freq. you want to play low.

I always suggested ppl not to use a preamp or a 3 way xover, because if you have a good HU you wont need those.
as those will produce aiplane in your system?
but a HU tht can play active is very rare and if you find one... the price will be sky high(for me as i am still a student)...

my installer said tht if after install a pre-amp then you hav airplane sound... he said the solution is to tap another gound wire from your pre-amp body to the HU body... he said he installed many car with ayam brands pre-amp like this to minimize the airplane sound... anyone can clarify this?

ya bro, i heard like that 2...they will connect a separate wayer to cut the noise...anyway how muc will d electronic x -over will cost...?

pm kiran04... the guy who sells prokick stuff in the buy sell forum here... i think should be RM500 or more to get a decent one...

thinking of getting one too... as my whole system the other day got stolen...

absolutely nothing... hehehe.... only left for me is the front and rear speaker... the front tweeter they took away... but no HU so cannot play anything also...

thats why now headache to find another set... but wallet also not thick enough to buy a whole set at one go... so still searching for mayb a good used-not-so-long amp...