question about pre amp...

riz2005

what is different thing about pre amp betwen another brand.. is it rms, watt, or what.. how to choose a good preamp with best price

why do u need a pre amp in the first place?

i guess have to look at the brand name lah, good brand make good equipment and with good components inside, or else there will be noise issues in your system. also when u think of it most brands dont make pre-amps anyway.

preamp as in EQ? or e xover? or parametric? or a processor?

to me... if parametric then look for reputable brand... if e xover then see the knobs... EQ and proccessor dunno as i havent played with those...

cheers...

firstly, pre-amp = anything between HU and AMP.

if I am not mistaken, EQ and parametric should fall in the same thing right? Which is Equalizer.
This one got 2 type, the 5, 7, 13 and etc band graphic equalizer. The other one is the 3, 4, 5, 7 and etc band parametric equalizer.

The difference is, the graphic one, normall the frequency is already set at certain point. Example = the EQ in winamp. The parametric one, you should be able to adjust the centre frequency. Some also has ability to adjust gain and Q factor. Example = the eq in Pioneer DEH 5750MP.

Now, if you have a HU with parametric eq capability, you might not need the parametric preamp. if your HU already come with LPF & HPF you might not need the e-crossover too.

Unless, you really really know what you want, you have the money to pay some one to tune it for you or you know how and you have the proper equipment to tune your system, you might not need a pre-amp at all....:)

hope this helps.

pre-amp is just a normal 3 or 5 band equaliser with no option to adjust the Q. Simply a parametric equaliser. Do u need one?

the problem with ayam brand is they give lot of noise into the system, better off without it. i remember a friend who bought mass engineering 31 band graphic eq, looks nice & impressive, came to me with the noise problem, we troubleshoot and found out when we bypassed the eq it dissapeared.

i think preamp is work as eq...but it is same thing rite? chicken brand is also ok but for more quality of sound better we get a good brand. what i see it have different spec... 12db, 18db, and much but i don know about this... i have try 2 brand..caliber and blitz (not origanal) for me it is much better than other chick brand

Zenn said:
the problem with ayam brand is they give lot of noise into the system, better off without it. i remember a friend who bought mass engineering 31 band graphic eq, looks nice & impressive, came to me with the noise problem, we troubleshoot and found out when we bypassed the eq it dissapeared.

i dun understand y the mass engineering eq got noise..maybe because equipment faulty or installation problem..but wat i found is actually if u install well, it will not having noise for example alternator noise...i found out that most of the noise are due to bad installation...i had install many preamp for many ppl b4 and not even 1 got noise, even is 5 years old chapalang preamp..maybe to u, it is useless.but to other, it's the cheapest way to make the system more tunable...especially the sub freq...it make a lot of diff...from ahbeng to sq..actually it can do the job..but e-xover are more capable to do the job since it can also do the mid and tweet with the price maybe double or triple for a chapalang & chapalang comparison.....

i have a question regarding installing pre amp. I plan to diy. The concern is, i dont know where the power source wire should get the power from, i am driving a kenari please help.