accident, can claim for total lost or not?

yes you can claim. By the looks of it, and with the repair cost insured close more then *50%, you should be entitled. get AAM or independent body to help advise.

* there may be changes to the ruling; but you can get verification.

Most important is your wife is safe. No point repairing as it is dangerous to see it on the road again. Even if you choose to resell; think of the danger it would put the new owners.

financially or not, i'm sure the right decision will be made.

first of all.. thanx
for the replies... it is very helpful for me..

the insurance company is Commerce insurance (AMI)
i called them yesterday.. the incharge fella also indirectly agree that it should
be claimed as total loss. but i still need to call them to confirm.. yes it is a very new car.. 4 months old.. lucky i haven't start any of my mod proj on it.. all stock standard one..

anyway.. thanks guys... i appreciated it..

if it is new car...then i hv another suggestion......

1. go for d claim....dun total lost
2. make sure all parts are change according to the Part list given by adjuster.
3. make sure all parts r original coz urs is new car....
4. make sure go for Puspakom inspection after kereta siap.
5. IF test failed...kereta will tahan by jpj n workshop got to compensate u a new car..
6. If test passed..then advertise at Motor Trader and sell it.....then buy again new car..
7. after sold..then you owe me a dinner...haha...ok?

I'm from workshop.....so i know alots of this things......coz ur car not in my workshop....so i tel u wat u got to do...

If u can claim total loss... be sure to recycle the good parts. Good for the environment.

make sure u dun sign any claim form first...talk clearly before sign

if u oledi signed...then u talk wat oso useless

Just some updats for the fellow members

after some months of claiming process (since May until now- July), finally they awarded me the total loss on 'good-will constructive basis"....the hell with that la.. my first letter to them to apply
of request for total loss somehow kena throw in to dustbin some where... they only willing to compensate 16k from the 32k (adjustor report)... wtf i think half only.. how to fix the car... so i went to some knowledgeable ppl in this motor claim to seek advice..and then i called-up the insurance's company.. speak to the motor claim dpet manager, fax & submit the appeal letters and photos (taken personally) to him for
re-evaluation.
after weeks of waiting.. they came back with a good news.. they will total the car
and compensate me 34k. .... finally.. i see the lights !!... just submited the document
requested for this process and waiting for them to dispense the $ to me.. but somehow
i still own finance 35k+.. meaning i still need to fork-out nearly 2k to pay finance..
fuk... but nevermind la.. as long as the car been total.. i hope they dun fix the car and resale it to others... will they do that ?? if they did, then pity the next buyer of that car..

anyway... jsut my updates.. anyway.. motor claim is really a hard process....
drive safely everyone !!

wfhan said:
the car (kelisa) accident like this can claim total lost or not?
anyone familiar with accident motor claim?
pls gvie some advice on how to go about it.
i have write a official letter requesting to
claim total lost as i feel that the car is not safe
to drive even if workshop get it fix.

anyone have any idea?

car photos ->http://www.villagephotos.com/viewpubimage.asp?id_=12770789&selected=

http://www.villagephotos.com/image.asp?id_=12770789

i hv experience with accident b4 ,my car was accident and i send it to Pero2, . pero2 contact the insurance co. and do all the claims. i just wait the car to be repaired, but i'm not sure bout total lost claim.

why don't u try to bring ur car to pero2, ask them or let them settle the problem.

luxi said:
i hv experience with accident b4 ,my car was accident and i send it to Pero2, . pero2 contact the insurance co. and do all the claims. i just wait the car to be repaired, but i'm not sure bout total lost claim.

why don't u try to bring ur car to pero2, ask them or let them settle the problem.

somehow perodua works r lousy....n i never send my car to those service center...all folow formal procedures.....hate it....

How come everyone can see the pic BUT me? I seem to only get errors from the link,

can't see the pic.. i'll rectify later.. maybe load to another server.
the insurance claim is settled.

total loss can be either actual or constructive. that's the term we as adjusters use.

no matter the vehicle new or old, the same calculation applies.

if total cost of repair is 70% or more, then it would be total loss; provided there is a salvage value for the remaining 30%.

at times, owners refuse total loss, normally due to oustanding balance with finance still a lot and unbearable. even though on paper calculation shows total loss, but insurance (with guide from adjusters) will negotiate contract repair with repairer. usually the allowed amount for complete repair is about 60% of market value.

Its either that or the vehicle itself has serious damage and unrepairable. one wheelhouse change is allowed but must send for reinspection for approval by puspakom. By book, 2 wheelhouse change is not allowed. either that or damage involving pillars. However, franchise workshop like UMW Toyota, or Cycle & Carriage are allowed to do heavy collision repairs as they have the proper equipment and expertise.

If the independent repairer managed to repair the car properly, cutting and weld at the correct point instead of suka hati potong, it is still possible to pass puspakom test.

we often see seriously damaged cars after an accident but little did we notice that the damage is only on the exterior side and did not affect the main struture of the car.

i feel sorry wfhan that ur mrs had involved in an accident, Alhamdulillah she's safe and sound. as the malay saying goes...'malang tidak berbau'
if we can 'smell' an accident, we definitely dont dare to drive arent we?

please bear in mind this fact....insurance dont do things as they like. whatever they do must be in accordance with Bank Negara guidelines.

please dont hesitate to contact me, I am a certified insurance loss adjuster.
if claim is settled according to what you wanted, then good for you. :D

wfhan said:
can't see the pic.. i'll rectify later.. maybe load to another server.
the insurance claim is settled.

Hm... don't mind asking, so your appeal for a total loss claim was approved? ;)

yes it was approved!.. after re-appealing directly to the claim dept manager
due to non-satisfactory of the initial amount compensated by them

updated photo link at first page.
might need to open another browser, cut & paste the URL to load
if successfully.

sorry for inconvenience