ABS or w/ABS

Dino@Casper said:
This is what i know about ABS, i read it from the STAR n NST weekly car section.. this article was written by ppl who has PHD in automobil engineering..

The use of ABS is installed to prevent the wheels from locking up other intense braking or jam brake u might say... When the wheels are not lock free to roll, this will allow u to have some control over the direction of the car and allow u to swurf out of danger(like big big lorry infront)..

Where else without ABS.. when u hit ur brakes that hard ur wheels lock up as a u wouldn't be able to steer ur car as the car would slide towards the the original path of motion which is going straight.. and hence if there is a big big lorry u will kiss it nicely..

As for braking distance, i remember reading it saying that cars with ABS does not have a shorter stoping distance.. actually it has a longer stoping distance compare to car's without abs.. this is because cars with ABS would take a rather longer time b4 the wheels come to a full stop, where else cars without ABS would have the wheels lock immediatly and if the grip of tryes is good, u will be able to stop faster

This can be seen in formula1... cars there do not use abs once they lock their brakes u see what happen.. they just cannot manover their car.. hope this helps ya question and if i'm wrong feel free 2 correct.. haha
M3 has abs.. and its the car with the 2nd best/shortest 100-0km/h stopping time. I think the first is taken by Impreza.

At the end of the day it all depends on the driver .... if he just panic and could not counter steer using ABS also no point. Just drive safely.

Thanks guys for the helpful infos...:)

For everyday use, ABS is a godsend. During track ABS might be confused by melting tyres everytime you brake. But ultimately, shorter stopping distance depends mostly on weight and tyres of the car.

I thought last year's auto car magazine had the 0-100 100-0 test.. i thought enzo performance was the best.. and i didn't remember m3 being anywhere close

my car dun have ABS.. i used to practice on an open road brake as hard as i can and try to minimise tyre lock and it seams that it is quite eazy after a while... my stoping distance quite good also... but if given a choice, i prefer to use ABS even though i think under normal condition my right foot can be as good as ABS.. but what happned during emergency when you less alert sure you jammed the tyre one.... so its better to have all the electronic aid you can have... i'm sure all F1 teams will use ABS if the rules allowed them....

For everyday use, ABS is a godsend. During track ABS might be confused by melting tyres everytime you brake. But ultimately, shorter stopping distance depends mostly on weight and tyres of the car
ABS protect ur tyre more better compare non-abs,as i know,F1 car don have ABS system,coz they need driving skill n some technique to protect their tyre during their race,coz if they have abs on it..their tyre wont wear up too fast n more ez to control

ABS installation

Just wanna know......since ABS is so good, can we install it on cars that doesn't have ABS? Or it's just too exp?

at ice, max mju happened at tyre lock up.
but mju on ice is far lower compared with tar road even it is at max!
and when tyre locks up, u cant steer (it only moves forward during skidding or not to the direction of front tyre).
at this moment, the crucial factor to save ur life is let u steer and avoid ur obstacle rather than stop the vehical on time.
in this condition, abs will prevent lock up of tyre and let u steer with :D....if u dunt know how to do human-abs as mentioned by boggysv :p

this also suggests that when we drive at slippery road like iced surface, we should increase our vehical gap and drive slow.

may b wat he say the abs by human translate to malay-Aku Brake Sendiri..j/k only..dont angry ya