4g91 or 4g93?

alamak must type something here~~

Lol, why you reply in this method?

Plug and play fuel tank eh? So, just use screws, nuts and all that to hold it in?

Your maintenance is high is probably because of V6 (a lot of parts are like twice compared to inline engines) plus the fact that your car is somewhat on the rare side. Parts probably not easy to source and the ones who are selling knows that well. They probably dare to chop you because they know you don't have much other choices. One thing I like about V6 would be the nice sound it makes. Haven't heard before Mitsubishi V6 sound yet but heard before VQ35DE sound with aftermarket exhaust... Damn nice...

About the crash thing in old cars, I rather not think about that. The trouble of finding replacement parts and the higher risk of injury due to lower safety standards compared to newer car. But hey, you can't say new cars are relatively safe. Takata airbags anyone? hahaha. Plus the fact that the chassis is old, a crash will probably did more harm to the chassis rigidity more than what I am worried about my self, lol... Nowadays, I'm always looking at very old cars like those made in 70s... But I don't think I financially or mentally prepared to own one... Sourcing for parts is a headache and I don't think I like the idea of having the car waiting for parts to come despite I have the cash in hand....

Huh? Rear section guna balik? What to do with the rear part of the drivetrain? I mean the rear differential and driveshaft stuff. I know the front part needs to be retained since FWD. But the rear parts?

My halfcut 93T, yup gearbox is lock during swapping.
Really want ford focus. Tak tahan hutang....

Which Ford Focus? RS? 4G93T not bad what.

Modifying fuel tank seems to be a risky job. A friend of mine who had a family business that deals with car bodywork repairs like welding and knocking. Those what chinese call as 'makat' shop. He said once a customer came to his shop with a KE70 then ask his shop to modify or weld the fuel tank or something. His shop din't do it because he said that was a crazy idea. What if the sparks from welding ignited the fuel inside the tank.

Another thing. What is this 4WD gearbox locked to 2WD? Does it mean that the whole transfer shaft with the rear differential is also equipped into the car but locked to 2WD or just chop off the rear part of the 4WD system and left the front part of the gearbox?

Fuel tank seldom people weld, if really need to, have to clean thoroughly with water, or even fill with water. The fume left behind can even explode....

Since 4WD is illegal, many do 2WD only, so they need to cover the part that joins the long shaft to the rear and at the same time need to spot weld the gear if not the gear keep turning, power is lost. Once the rear gear is lock power is transferred to the front....lol:biggrin:

vr2turbo, let say one day going to thrash .... the lock gearbox can convert back to 4wd ?

Can. Actually spot weld just to keep the gears from moving. Convert back to 4WD remove the spot welding. In fact mine got one time came off, got to open up gb and weld again.....lol:biggrin:

Cant afford, i got no financier....hahahahahaa:biggrin:
Jokes bro..

Maybe someday you can afford. At least you got independent income.

Fuel tank seldom people weld, if really need to, have to clean thoroughly with water, or even fill with water. The fume left behind can even explode....

Since 4WD is illegal, many do 2WD only, so they need to cover the part that joins the long shaft to the rear and at the same time need to spot weld the gear if not the gear keep turning, power is lost. Once the rear gear is lock power is transferred to the front....lol:biggrin:

If fill with water, next time really need to dry up the water completely or else it is going to be bad for the engine...

Can't open up the gearbox to remove the moving gear?

Can. Actually spot weld just to keep the gears from moving. Convert back to 4WD remove the spot welding. In fact mine got one time came off, got to open up gb and weld again.....lol:biggrin:

You sound no worry about spot weld came off. Any symptom ? Car still can drive to workshop, incase.

Well, I guess it is okay since he said the spot weld is there to stop the gears from moving cause power loss...

Lol, why you reply in this method?

Plug and play fuel tank eh? So, just use screws, nuts and all that to hold it in?

Your maintenance is high is probably because of V6 (a lot of parts are like twice compared to inline engines) plus the fact that your car is somewhat on the rare side. Parts probably not easy to source and the ones who are selling knows that well. They probably dare to chop you because they know you don't have much other choices. One thing I like about V6 would be the nice sound it makes. Haven't heard before Mitsubishi V6 sound yet but heard before VQ35DE sound with aftermarket exhaust... Damn nice...

About the crash thing in old cars, I rather not think about that. The trouble of finding replacement parts and the higher risk of injury due to lower safety standards compared to newer car. But hey, you can't say new cars are relatively safe. Takata airbags anyone? hahaha. Plus the fact that the chassis is old, a crash will probably did more harm to the chassis rigidity more than what I am worried about my self, lol... Nowadays, I'm always looking at very old cars like those made in 70s... But I don't think I financially or mentally prepared to own one... Sourcing for parts is a headache and I don't think I like the idea of having the car waiting for parts to come despite I have the cash in hand....

Huh? Rear section guna balik? What to do with the rear part of the drivetrain? I mean the rear differential and driveshaft stuff. I know the front part needs to be retained since FWD. But the rear parts?
yep, maintanance high cause of the v6~ manyak parts and they decided to make lots of these parts slightly 'unusual'... plus the car as you said isnt that common her (UK ade banyak, i jelly... spare pieces of trim are so easy to source there) heck the radiator is also of a strange size... my mitsu v6 sounds like crap, imagine a diesel engine? yeah thats it!! :biggrin: tappets tapping away~ taktaktaktaktak

you have a point about the new car's safety lol takara.... and what 70's car are you looking at.... beetles and minis?? other (nice) rare ones like the celica or galant are damned exp!! parts are actually not really an issue, its just the $ factor. You can pay, you can get mint stuff... each model has their specialists (or at least that one dude/halfcut/crazy enthusiast who keeps bring in parts for the particular model)

rear like biasalor usually stock parts unless you wana modify....

yep, maintanance high cause of the v6~ manyak parts and they decided to make lots of these parts slightly 'unusual'... plus the car as you said isnt that common her (UK ade banyak, i jelly... spare pieces of trim are so easy to source there) heck the radiator is also of a strange size... my mitsu v6 sounds like crap, imagine a diesel engine? yeah thats it!! :biggrin: tappets tapping away~ taktaktaktaktak

you have a point about the new car's safety lol takara.... and what 70's car are you looking at.... beetles and minis?? other (nice) rare ones like the celica or galant are damned exp!! parts are actually not really an issue, its just the $ factor. You can pay, you can get mint stuff... each model has their specialists (or at least that one dude/halfcut/crazy enthusiast who keeps bring in parts for the particular model)

rear like biasalor usually stock parts unless you wana modify....

You got mod your exhaust or just leave it stock? I heard before exhaust sound from your kind of car at youtube. Don't sound so bad. As for the radiator, can't use the one from Perdana or just get an aftermarket aluminum radiator?

Not conti old cars... More like Datsun B110, 510, TA22 Celica, Mazda RX-3/808/Savanna, Mazda Capella, SA22C RX-7, KE20 Corolla... These kind of cars... For parts, I think probably most of them are no longer OEM parts but manufactured by 3rd party factories...

You got mod your exhaust or just leave it stock? I heard before exhaust sound from your kind of car at youtube. Don't sound so bad. As for the radiator, can't use the one from Perdana or just get an aftermarket aluminum radiator?

Not conti old cars... More like Datsun B110, 510, TA22 Celica, Mazda RX-3/808/Savanna, Mazda Capella, SA22C RX-7, KE20 Corolla... These kind of cars... For parts, I think probably most of them are no longer OEM parts but manufactured by 3rd party factories...

exhaust has been modified, i think decat and some other minor mods (which i don't really understand why he did). and nope radiator is abit of an odd case, die to the low slung nose, most radiators will not fit, its abit short.... recently someone custom made an aluminium one and suddenly, there are people offering them. guessing since the template is out there, they do sell aftermarket units now.

you named some very expensive machines there hoh.... the celicas and savanna's susah cari parts... interior pieces everyone rebut to get...

exhaust has been modified, i think decat and some other minor mods (which i don't really understand why he did). and nope radiator is abit of an odd case, die to the low slung nose, most radiators will not fit, its abit short.... recently someone custom made an aluminium one and suddenly, there are people offering them. guessing since the template is out there, they do sell aftermarket units now.

you named some very expensive machines there hoh.... the celicas and savanna's susah cari parts... interior pieces everyone rebut to get...

So, did you plan to get the aluminum radiator or just remain with the stock one?

I know these cars really cost quite a lot especially for Celica... 40-50k for a restored one... Savanna I'm not too sure, hard to see any being sold. But there are two RX-3/Savanna GT in Ipoh that I saw quite frequently last time. I haven't seen them for more than a year already. One of the owner probably upgraded to FD3S RX-7 because the place where the RX-3 used to be is now replaced by a yellow RX-7. As for the standard Mazda 808 sedan, still can find a few going around in Ipoh but looking like junk car.

Here's a picture of one of the RX-3/Savanna GT that I saw. Definitely running on rotary engine. Heard the rotary engine idling sound from this one.

attachment.php

So, did you plan to get the aluminum radiator or just remain with the stock one?

I know these cars really cost quite a lot especially for Celica... 40-50k for a restored one... Savanna I'm not too sure, hard to see any being sold. But there are two RX-3/Savanna GT in Ipoh that I saw quite frequently last time. I haven't seen them for more than a year already. One of the owner probably upgraded to FD3S RX-7 because the place where the RX-3 used to be is now replaced by a yellow RX-7. As for the standard Mazda 808 sedan, still can find a few going around in Ipoh but looking like junk car.

Here's a picture of one of the RX-3/Savanna GT that I saw. Definitely running on rotary engine. Heard the rotary engine idling sound from this one.

attachment.php
me? ill stick with the stock stuff for now... not like im trying to push more power, quite content right now:proud:. you should consider a 90's car, cause older models have pretty much reached their floor price (nice rare units are even increasing in value). Easier to source parts also (at least as of right now).

Since yours is a daily car, stock is enough I guess. Unless something broke down and then you can get a aftermarket/performance replacement part for it.

90s car is always my favorite era. But currently my dream car would be GDB-F/GDB-G Impreza WRX STI (Version 9). By the time I have enough money for one, that will probably be 10 more years later and cars in 90s will be even older... GC8 will be too old and difficult to source parts at that time...

Or maybe I will go for GRB/GVB WRX STI (Version 10) if their price is under 100k at then... Din't like much on the exterior looks of this but the interior seems more comfortable than GDB.

http://www.chargespeed.com/photo/bottom/gvb/t-2/c-fs-600-400.jpg

Since yours is a daily car, stock is enough I guess. Unless something broke down and then you can get a aftermarket/performance replacement part for it.

90s car is always my favorite era. But currently my dream car would be GDB-F/GDB-G Impreza WRX STI (Version 9). By the time I have enough money for one, that will probably be 10 more years later and cars in 90s will be even older... GC8 will be too old and difficult to source parts at that time...

Or maybe I will go for GRB/GVB WRX STI (Version 10) if their price is under 100k at then... Din't like much on the exterior looks of this but the interior seems more comfortable than GDB.

http://www.chargespeed.com/photo/bottom/gvb/t-2/c-fs-600-400.jpg

these performance cars, sometimes can find real cheap....

one of the cars i went to view was a v7 gdb... not a converted gba, it was the real thing for about 50k.... was facelifted to the v9 and has a very nice bonnnet (not perfectlah, dents here n there) , nice plate too, number plate wrx200@ sounds good? only thing wrong with it was it 'shook' right and left.... the whole damned car was swaying when i saw it and was way down on power.... i passed but on the day i booked my current car, owner messaged me, car fixed~ do you still want it? haha this is one car i think was really worth the asking price.. later on saw it here, repainted, refurbished selling for about 80k @_@....

these performance cars, sometimes can find real cheap....

one of the cars i went to view was a v7 gdb... not a converted gba, it was the real thing for about 50k.... was facelifted to the v9 and has a very nice bonnnet (not perfectlah, dents here n there) , nice plate too, number plate wrx200@ sounds good? only thing wrong with it was it 'shook' right and left.... the whole damned car was swaying when i saw it and was way down on power.... i passed but on the day i booked my current car, owner messaged me, car fixed~ do you still want it? haha this is one car i think was really worth the asking price.. later on saw it here, repainted, refurbished selling for about 80k @_@....

50k for a GDB-A or GDB-B chassis version 7 din't sound too cheap. Isn't that the current market price for Version 7 or you are talking about few years ago? Currently, GDB-C,GDB-D,GDB-E Version 8 is also around 60 to 70k plus... Actually, I'm not even sure whats with Subaru's chassis naming for the GDB chassis. Version 8 had 3 different chassis code. I think they go by year or something.

A facelift to V9 costs quite a lot provided if they are original items. I've checked before the parts price for V9 front lamps, bumper, fenders... Few thousand even from halfcut...

From the sound of your description, perhaps the car had been involved in a major accident before? WRX STI should have a very stiff chassis but you say the car is swaying. That sounds terrible to me. As for power, I don't know what is your benchmark to measure its power. If it was me, I probably couldn't tell if it is underpowered or not since I don't know how powerful it is during its prime condition. In fact, I think I'm a fool for driving my underpowered Wira for 2 years without realizing until this year.... :banghead: I tested my friend's VDO 4G15 Wira before and that car feels slightly slower than mine... So, I thought my car was normal...