4G91 Gang..

partyJOE said:
dat means taiko if we put mivec GB how... pick up n top speed...
pls give opinion... dun worry i wont blame u... cos im not going to change my GB....hehehe

:embaressed_smile: , I am from auto department la, :shades_smile:

actually I have no idea on mit gear box, hehe, :emoticon_U:, but original 4G91 gear box for sure more suitable for our engine, if put longer ratio later car no power push on highway also no use

pirate_69 said:
Mean that u can mod different size of gear inside the GB. Sorry if i wrongly misunderstood my friend.:shcokedcamo:

Infact yes.. but it is quite difficult to calculate, mix & match.. what ppl alwiz do is change the final drive gear.. and it will affect all the gears.. like you change your rear sprocket on motocycle or bicycle

wirafly said:
but original 4G91 gear box for sure more suitable for our engine, if put longer ratio later car no power push on highway also no use

yes you're rite, what comes from factory standard is the best mix of power & economical for everyday use.. but we're modders (i'm), modders want it to suite their preference ie. more pickup or more top speed.. aight? :regular_smile:

wow now the topic is gb already... u guys really so rich la... modding non stop... :shocked:

my personal opinion is that 1.8 gear box does not really suit 4g91. as i know, 1.8 gb has a smaller final drive, which helps the car to reach higher top end. how ever, this smaller final drive leads also to the losing power of low end. the 4g93 has much stronger torque than our 4g91, that is why it can afford to use a smaller final drive. but for our car, low end very hard to push... tht is why u see when it comes to 1st and 2nd gear, our 4g91 is almost the same like 4g93(depneds on the mod also la. if mod kau kau, no point to comare also), but when it reaches midle to top end, that is when our car start losing kau kau. last time my mech told me the best choice is 1.6 gear box cos the final drive is right between the two, so it provides a better blance between pickup and top end.

just my two cent

ayell said:
yes you're rite, what comes from factory standard is the best mix of power & economical for everyday use.. but we're modders (i'm), modders want it to suite their preference ie. more pickup or more top speed.. aight? :regular_smile:

haha, modder...I used to have such name when I with my old engine, now after transplant engine pok kai until no money mod...haha :_:

milo said:
wow now the topic is gb already... u guys really so rich la... modding non stop... :shocked:

my personal opinion is that 1.8 gear box does not really suit 4g91. as i know, 1.8 gb has a smaller final drive, which helps the car to reach higher top end. how ever, this smaller final drive leads also to the losing power of low end. the 4g93 has much stronger torque than our 4g91, that is why it can afford to use a smaller final drive. but for our car, low end very hard to push... tht is why u see when it comes to 1st and 2nd gear, our 4g91 is almost the same like 4g93(depneds on the mod also la. if mod kau kau, no point to comare also), but when it reaches midle to top end, that is when our car start losing kau kau. last time my mech told me the best choice is 1.6 gear box cos the final drive is right between the two, so it provides a better blance between pickup and top end.

just my two cent

I heard the same thing from my machanic last time, he just use a basikal with multiple speed gearing as an example, he told me giving me 24 gears also no use if you do not have enuf power to push it...:cyclops: , but he say going downhill can la, but he also mention you have to make sure you manage to stop your "basikal" when you try to test "Top Speed" by the help of downhill road...:_:

Morning to all 4g91 gang, yesterday i already test my car, For 100km/h my rpm is 3.2.Is it my GB something wrong?:Not_Impressed:

The factors that i'm using wira sedan and also 16" sport rim contribute to
this problem is it?
Cannot compare to u ll lah....hehehecoz u all get 100km/h, rpm: 3.:cry_smile:

Ayell, if lets say we use 4g91 GB with 1.6 final drive gear, how is the outcome? Can be done or not? Just asking...hehehe:X-:

pirate_69 said:
Morning to all 4g91 gang, yesterday i already test my car, For 100km/h my rpm is 3.2.Is it my GB something wrong?:Not_Impressed:

3.2 is ok i think mine got 3.1, not much diff lorr..

pirate_69 said:
Ayell, if lets say we use 4g91 GB with 1.6 final drive gear, how is the outcome? Can be done or not? Just asking...hehehe:X-:

That have come to my mind before, and I and my mechanic fren try to mix 1.6 final gear with my 4G91 GB, but when we diassembled the GB we found out that the final gear of 1.6 is smaller (less teeth) and if we put it in 4G91 GB it will be longer ratio, so we discard the project.

wirafly said:
haha, modder...I used to have such name when I with my old engine, now after transplant engine pok kai until no money mod...haha :_:

Hahahah wirafly.. don't go mod car until pokai la.. do it man-man lorr.. me also do it "sikit-sikit" only

ayell said:
Hahahah wirafly.. don't go mod car until pokai la.. do it man-man lorr.. me also do it "sikit-sikit" only

yalor, now slowly mod, cause mod too fast not only money gone but also dunno improvement came from which mod, :shades_smile:

ayell said:
That have come to my mind before, and I and my mechanic fren try to mix 1.6 final gear with my 4G91 GB, but when we diassembled the GB we found out that the final gear of 1.6 is smaller (less teeth) and if we put it in 4G91 GB it will be longer ratio, so we discard the project.

Good experience ya...Never try never no..

hmmm, gearbox topic yeah..

Ok, basicly the long or close ratio gearbox is term to describe the difference from one gear to another.. not by engine type or what.. but commonly a lower cc car will have a closer ratio gearbox than the higher cc car.. normal car will have long ratio gearbox, as it is tuned for economy mah.. not performance..

Mivec is a type of engine that is high revving type of engine but a small cc ones.. so it means that it have less torque (more cc, more torquey loo) but due to the mivec system have higher bhp.. that is why it is fitted with close ratio gb to conpensate with the low torque characteristic, top speed is not a problem as it is able to be rev to high rpm..

Mivec GB on a normal engine is more suited for drag ler.. top speed will suffer teruk, and drink fuel like a horse.. one advantage is there are variant with LSD..

Guys.. check this out.. Camshaft 4G93P from SGTi for sale..

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=63791

I used 4G93P Camshaft from Putra, I don't know to explain how it add-up your power.. but my 800meter got more 20km/h of speed after put the cam.

his price tag is rather steep.. none the less, this is a very good upgrade.. never regret doing it.. with my setup, after changing to 93 cams, power band is stretched further.. my car is better in term of driving feel.. power starts coming in from 2.5k rpm instead of 3k rpm previously.. linearly increase until about 6.5k..

Go for it

ayell u got PM

i wanna change my 5th gear to loger ratio (1.6 punya lah since i travel alot)
so i can get lower RPM at higher speed
my RPM at 110 is like 3.7-3.8 damn high (very near to kancil already)

so how much ur mechanic will charge me?

badguy said:
ayell u got PM

i wanna change my 5th gear to loger ratio (1.6 punya lah since i travel alot)
so i can get lower RPM at higher speed
my RPM at 110 is like 3.7-3.8 damn high (very near to kancil already)

so how much ur mechanic will charge me?

Bro, u mean u want to change the final drive gear fom 4g91 to 1.6 is it? :Not_Impressed:

tajulsans said:
his price tag is rather steep.. none the less, this is a very good upgrade.. never regret doing it.. with my setup, after changing to 93 cams, power band is stretched further.. my car is better in term of driving feel.. power starts coming in from 2.5k rpm instead of 3k rpm previously.. linearly increase until about 6.5k..

Go for it

Bro, can u share how u setup u'r engine? Coz i'm also upgrade my cam to 4g93 cam. But the power only come after 4.2k rpm.....:cry_smile:

Thankz bro...

Hi, 4g91 taikos, remember me? haha, planning to get my 4g91 already right after cny cos thats when my $$$ comes in, muyahahhaha..anyway, planning to get a 4g91 auto, cos for my sister as well. Hmm since talking bout GB, i wonder whats the rev like for 100km/h?? cos for my current 4g15 auto as well, it around 3.3k like that..i mean, 4g91 got total of 4 gears rite, so i assume that it should be lower than 3.3k or maybe even lower than 3k rite for above 100km/h?..please advice, cos it the rev goes above 3k for 100km/h, i tink my FC will also go way up..hehe...hope to ge reply from u guys soon..;) ciows