4g63t tappets making noise

yo itab...cool man...ask ayu how 2 solve d freaking problem n let me know..we can do it 2gether oso....when u coming back 2 kl la?

btw,wat do u mean by 3rd generation lifters??im blur la..donno much about these things la..care 2 explain....thanks

anyone else?ur kind words r very very appreciated..

thanks again in advance

eh bro,sorry i couldn't reply ur sms....my bloody maxis line is barred again....shit gotta go pay up fast la,damn inconvenient
eh the 3rd generation thing not i post one la,its something new to me also,thts y i wanna go ask ayu if he knows anything about it or not la,he's the sifu afterall :lol:

i might be coming down to kl this weekend la,i'll give u a call la if i'm coming down alrite?this week free dee coz thesis submitted,presentation over,waiting for the last final exam on earth only,hahahha.....

cheers mate

hi again every1...thanks again n again for all ur opinions,probable solutions,advices etc etc...i notice, n im sure all of u do too, dat most solutions/advices about dis problem are similar...e.g. change engine oil, put engine treatment etc etc...but i noticed ITAB mentioning about 3rd generation lifters...now i havent heard about dat...any of u have n better still know about dis???appreciate ur feedback...lets all "chip" in n try 2 solve dis problem...

thanks a million...b waiting 4 d next bunch of feedbacks....:)

HAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLUUUUUUUUU anyone??? cmon dont b shy shy la....share wiz us ur opinions,probable solutions,advices etc etc..... :)

I solved mine...

1. Change to a better quality engine oil - Motul Power 4000 20W50
2. Flush engine with good quality engine flush
3. Use original Mitsubishi oil filter
4. Always top up oil until Max level

Follow these rules and the noise goes away.

BTW, don't bother using thin oils - 0W/15 or anything thinner than 15W/40. 4G63 was never designed to use these type of oils. However, u can use it after rebuilding the whole engine (blue printing, overhaul, balance)

acbc said:
I solved mine...

1. Change to a better quality engine oil - Motul Power 4000 20W50
2. Flush engine with good quality engine flush
3. Use original Mitsubishi oil filter
4. Always top up oil until Max level

Follow these rules and the noise goes away.

BTW, don't bother using thin oils - 0W/15 or anything thinner than 15W/40. 4G63 was never designed to use these type of oils. However, u can use it after rebuilding the whole engine (blue printing, overhaul, balance)

hi thanks acbc 4 ur kind reply...still having problems n trying 2 research s many probable solutions n help others wiz d same probs...anyway,my recent "trial & error" research was changing d engine oil...my previous oil change/service was last week...my 2nd try at ENEOS full synthetic but instead of using TUFOIL which i did d 1st time wiz suprisingly really good results, i tried using d oil wiz SLICK50 engine treatment (recommended by a good friend)...apart from the engine treatment costing nearly double compared 2 d TUFOIL....result? well i was in a way disappointed...d engine ran smoother s expected BUT it didnt reduce or iliminate d tappet noise...in fact it sounded s tho NO engine treatment was added or new oil was changed...so my next oil change will b wiz ENEOS N TUFOIL...thinking of trying out d Q8 first WITHOUT TUFOIL n c d results....will update u guys...

thks a million..keep up d opinions...

rgds

fazidk said:
hi again every1...thanks again n again for all ur opinions,probable solutions,advices etc etc...i notice, n im sure all of u do too, dat most solutions/advices about dis problem are similar...e.g. change engine oil, put engine treatment etc etc...but i noticed ITAB mentioning about 3rd generation lifters...now i havent heard about dat...any of u have n better still know about dis???appreciate ur feedback...lets all "chip" in n try 2 solve dis problem...

thanks a million...b waiting 4 d next bunch of feedbacks....:)

fazidk,

Bro, the last time i read and heard what Itab mentioned about the '3rd generation' lifters is that it comes with a bigger 'hole' for the oil to recirculate through or something. I can't remember the specific terminology for it but I'll go heads-on and tembak only hehe

The reason why all these 'tat tat tat tat' sound comes out for the 93T, 63T, etc is because the 'hole' is small as compared to the later generation of lifters. As time goes by, these 'holes' gets all cloged up and hence the ever irritating tappet sound occurs.

Mitsu got noticed of the flaw and came out with much bigger 'holes' the next time round and if i read it correctly, these later genaration of lifters doesn't have these problems.

I'm not sure you can use those later generation lifters into the 63Ts, maybe someone else can shed some light on this.

Fazid, take this explanation with a grain of salt, it is merely just for outlining the whole scenario altogether. Need pros to get all the points and explanation right.

Have fun :)

thanks bro...itab explained 2 me about it s well...still no answer regarding whether it can b used in d g63t or not...if u hear anything do let me know...

fazidk said:
hi thanks acbc 4 ur kind reply...still having problems n trying 2 research s many probable solutions n help others wiz d same probs...anyway,my recent "trial & error" research was changing d engine oil...my previous oil change/service was last week...my 2nd try at ENEOS full synthetic but instead of using TUFOIL which i did d 1st time wiz suprisingly really good results, i tried using d oil wiz SLICK50 engine treatment (recommended by a good friend)...apart from the engine treatment costing nearly double compared 2 d TUFOIL....result? well i was in a way disappointed...d engine ran smoother s expected BUT it didnt reduce or iliminate d tappet noise...in fact it sounded s tho NO engine treatment was added or new oil was changed...so my next oil change will b wiz ENEOS N TUFOIL...thinking of trying out d Q8 first WITHOUT TUFOIL n c d results....will update u guys...

thks a million..keep up d opinions...

rgds

if u know ss3...go there,look for SpoonSport Garage.they know what type of Q8 ENGINE OIL FOR UR 4G63.I FORGOTTEN IF IT IS SEMI OR FULLY.but it does make a huge different,almost all my fren is using Q8 on mitsu now.im running on motul now...the oil is good,but compare to my other friends mitsu....still a lil noisier then theirs.
no doubt ill change to Q8 the next service...

yo guys with tappets problems... recently my mech took all the tappets out from my engine (4G93T) soak it in kerosene for few hours.. den air blow it dry, clean it.. and soak it again in clean engine oil for another couple of hours.. refit it back.. and viola... the sound is gone. It works for me... but i have no research and real prove it works for other general tappet problems. I've asked for workmanship prices to take those lifters/tappets out.. its ard RM80 market price. (Timing Belt must be removed in order to take those lifters out)

FYI, I've looked up and down, left and right for the 3rd generation lifters... there wasn't any available in malaysian market... even proton doesn't have any so called 3rd generation lifters for their 4G93P engine... someone (when i was at my mechs place talking crap) suggested that if u have spare lifters u can try drilling the original hole slightly larger thus "trial & error" is at play. Gd luck!

thnks 2 all of u...u guys (n girls if any) has helped me a lot in offering ur opinions n ur own probable solutions on how 2 solve dis problem...i will compile them in2 a "book" form when enuff info has been collected...thnks 2 all of u dis will b possible...y m i doin dis???coz its my hobby...when there's any fault wiz my car (or friends car) i will try 2 find s much info, opinions n probable solutions n "book" them so if it happens again i will know wats d cause n probable solutions 2 take 2 "fix" it...

2slow2steady...yeah fren..i heard dat dis oil is very good but it is a bit on d pricey side (at least from d shop dat quoted me...)...any chance u cld tell me d price d workshop u mention is selling??wld b good 4 other viewers s well 2 know...n yes,i will b trying dis oil 4 my next oil change (if i get a good price 4 it...)..try it a few days n maybe add TUFOIL (or not...)

ftzone...thanks man 4 ur info...i think i will try doin dis a day BEFORE my next service n c d result...logically it shld work much better...clean tappets wiz kerosene (a few hours) + soak it again wiz new engine oil (also 4 a few hours) + install WITH Q8...hmmmm sounds lots of work but if it works according 2 logic then it wld b worth every second (n not 2 mention d $$$ spend)

will update u guys (n gals) on dis coming-soon project

rgds n cheers

but then again maybe i wont wait 4 d next oil change...maybe i just do it when i come back from sarawak 1st week of june...: )

$$$

ftzone said:
yo guys with tappets problems... recently my mech took all the tappets out from my engine (4G93T) soak it in kerosene for few hours.. den air blow it dry, clean it.. and soak it again in clean engine oil for another couple of hours.. refit it back.. and viola... the sound is gone. It works for me... but i have no research and real prove it works for other general tappet problems. I've asked for workmanship prices to take those lifters/tappets out.. its ard RM80 market price. (Timing Belt must be removed in order to take those lifters out)

hi ftzone... mind sharing wit us how much this whole process caused u...
n which workshop u did them... i've been having dis problem on my 4G91....
thx (",)

Hhmm... 3rd generation lifters? Sounds interesting... anyone knows there to get them?

partyJOE said:
hi ftzone... mind sharing wit us how much this whole process caused u...
n which workshop u did them... i've been having dis problem on my 4G91....
thx (",)

eh... i tot i just shared how to do it???? maybe u need to read again :D

sorry for the confusion

ftzone said:
eh... i tot i just shared how to do it???? maybe u need to read again :D

no lar bro... how much it co$t u to do it... which workshop...
rm80 is the price per lifter rite... cos my foremen doesnt know 2 do dis process...
he ask me to change all 16.... rm90 per piece summo:huh:.... hope u can help me on this....
appreciate yr comment...