4G63T Club

Originally posted by Danny@Apr 23 2004, 04:15 AM
Vr4 sifus... vestax n sdf, can u help me find out why does the boost cut come in at 3000-3500rpm?

Any idea what causes this problem?

I can hear the turbine spooling and the boost activates at around 2500rpm but just a second later at 3000-3500rpm the boost cut comes in and there is no boost after that.

Is there a solution to this?

Also, I noticed that when I start the engine, the engine indicator light does not turn on.
The reason y ur check ingine dows not turn on is maybe bcos ur mech din't connect it. Like mine, oso din't turn up cause it was not conncected. I dun think there's any wiring problem. Maybe :-

A) Fuel pump kong? Not powerfull enough to support. What pum u use?
B) Ur injector eveything in OK conditon ka?
C) Got boost leakage?
D) Wastegate stuck?
E) Maybe sumtin' wrong with ur Air Flow meter?

BUt i think most prooly ur fuel pump or wastegate problem. Dunno la. Good luck man :D

I'm using the wira 1.8 fuel pump .. is that sufficient? I was advised that the problem can also be due to :-

1.worn spark plugs and cables
2. fuel injectors not working
3. fuel pump not strong enough.

hmmm then might be your fuel pump , how many lph is the 1.8 pump 80lph i assume cause the gsr & evo 1 are runing on the 80lph pump and vr4 ones are flowing at 100lph . get it change

thanks for your advise.. first of all will change spark plug & cables to see if the problem fixed or not. I saw that the spark plug cables was covered with cello tape at the end.. my friend said that means it is leaking already thats why it was taped. So will do that first, next check the injector (how to check ?) then fuel pump.

danny , why not try bosch fuel pump(around 250 i think new one).my fren's saga vr4 is using that.hope your problem will gone soon.if also got cut , maybe your ecu still got speed cut ,rev cut.right everyone ?hope i can help u

thanks man... I also tak sabar already...so near yet so far... hopefully the problem is not big.

alright then.have to be patient a bit.ehehhehehehe.that's what i see when transplanting turbocharged engine.good luck

Danny, go and change ur spark plug wire first. Dun change the pump juz yet.Fix the problems by trying out the simplest solution then to the hardest. Ur mech dun have any spare sparkplug wire ka? Also check ur coil.

you want to check i got spare wire , mirage wires should be the same with vr4 right , if same then can borrow mine and check first la , it can be your spark plug wire also but then , spark plug wire bocor sure ur car bunyi like impreza one " flat four engine .

by the way ur fuel pump also i think runing on 80lph so not enough , standard vr4 aready 100lph .

today I went to the mechanic shop... he also said if spark plug got problem then it will mostly misfire only... but now it is like the fuel cut off when the turbo kicks in. He also thinks it is the fuel pump.. anyway... I have to be carless for a few more days ..sigh.. what to do.

To play safe, I asked him to replace the spark plugs to the HKS 6 or 8. (supposed to be better than the stock )

vestax... where is your location? do u know any good mechanic to diagnose vr4 problems? Just in case my current mech can't solve it...

hey danny, do u get the runner for ur jpj?? u are from 1.5 to 2.0 or 1.3 to 2.0??
now i searching for runner.. coz my frien say cannot get any runner for me .. have to stick with 4g61t...

if can get runner then i still will go for 63

mine is 1.8 to 2.0 so just a slight upgrade in cc... less than 12% increase.

My charges are RM350 for the runner fees.

As for yours, I'll check and see for u if it is possible or not, coz now JPJ rules quite strict.

As for the fuel pump, waiting for the old owner to exhange with me...since the vr4 pump still in his car.

ya.. thank ya very much..
my frien say the badawi cause the jpj to strick the rule... no choice.. no bribe he want.... :blink:

hopefully u could bring me the good news.. thanks 1st :)

very bad new.. mine is 1.3cc ori.. parent not allow for higher... but i gatal.. get my own money to make it higher :lol:

went to see one vr4 halfcut the other day..the engine is all rusted....is this normal for half cut engine?

yo danny ,
just to let you know the 4G63 are better off with NGK BPR6ES or BPR7ES copper plugs , don't use other plugs trust me , if you have been reading about the engine , best to use the oem ngk copper plugs which is BPR7ES .

anyway ur fuel pump is external or internal ?. why are u going to be carless ? change the fuel pump won't be that long right .

danny right now i don't really go to mechanics , maybe sometimes when i really need to fix up the car then i`ll go to the mechanic , what i can do my self i`ll do it myself , cause i also kena tipu quite a number of times , last time i fix this fix that , still the same , tiu la wasting money only :lol: . but if u need help sdf can help you la , but must go to GT auto and find him . if you want cheap cheap labour but good work then i can recommend a place . anyway im located in pj .

S1997,
engine rusted ? i think its not rust , its the mole / kulat / funggi and its normal , cause the halfcut is place in open air , notting to cover the halfcut ma , when raining all wet la in the engine bay so its normal .

vestax, u in pj also... excellent... I'm in SS3 only. Typo about the HKS.. supposed to be spark plug cable, not the spark plug. Yea I heard NGK is the recommended spark plugs for the vr4 also.

anyway... good news, the boost cut/fuel cut problem fixed! The problem was due to the hose loose. Luckily not a major problem.

Still, I should change to original fuel pump to avoid fuel problem.

which mechanic in pj is recommended? r u the 'mechanic'? heheh

btw... is there any vr4 kaki around PJ? Would be great to have some tt session with u guys. Vestax.. next time if got tt session I owe u one teh tarik, as a gesture of appreciation for your help.

btw, is it safe to go outstation a few days after an engine transplant?