4G63T Club

Originally posted by Danny@Apr 28 2004, 12:42 AM
I see most VR4 engine owhers remove the original air filter cover and one of my friend has modified some device inside it..does it really make a lot of difference? Any pros and cons? Is the air flow sensor located there?
the aircanister / aircan that covers up the filter will restrict air going into the filter , get the can out and u`ll get more air in and u`ll hear the blow off sound louder . your friend as in jovan ? as far as i know jovan had his airflow sensor hacked , same as me cause we both did in the same workshop and all the cars do there would had the airflow sensor hacked . the sensor located in the filter , if u take out the air filter element u`ll see the air flow .

here is a picture of the sensor
http://www.vfaq.com/proj-pics/MAF/mafhack3.jpg

airflow sensor had been hacked
http://www.vfaq.com/proj-pics/MAF/maf01med.jpg

anyone here had already went through jpj inspection for approval nowdays ?? how much to pay ? anyone ?

thanks for the explanation vestax, yea his name is jovan...ok, I'll try out that mod once my car is ready.

Now, one final problem, the aircond not working, somehow the wiring is not correct, it seems the vr4 has one socket with 6 wires and the wira's one has 4. On the initial testing there was burning smell & the socket melted. Haiya,.. so long already still not ready.

Danny, my advice to u. Dun hack ur a/flow just yet. Relax man, fix ur other problems first. Takut nanti 1 problem havent settel then comes out another problem. Then enjoy ur ride. After that when ur bored oready baru start modding. Bsides if u dun intend of boostin at 1.++ bar, not really need to do the hack. Really man, u dun feel much of a difference(maybe a bit better midrange got la-still cannot be proven cause no dyno done). Dun get me wrong, i just wanna share my exp with u. I dun want u to be like me last time...learning it the hard way :-) Gud luck man.

Dkoo, should be powerfull enough oready with that setup. But i think the best investment u can make b4 u do all those stuffs is get urself a decent standalone fuel management and 1 hell of a good tuner. Not that the oem ecu is not gud(in fact its the best). Its just that ..u know la how long oledi the ECU been use(inside maybe got caps leaking?) and then the wiring serabut somemore. By doing this at least u can fix some of the already bad conditioned wirings that plagues us bcos of the convertion and eliminate the a/flow sensor. Juz my 2 cents

Originally posted by SaGa TuRBo@Apr 28 2004, 03:41 PM
dkoo....do you feel any lag?? or is there any difference??

yo frien.. i haven't do it... coz not yet transplant also.. an after transplant. i will also listen to vestax taiko about testing the engine for a period to solve out the small engine problem.. :huh:

but it the plan on my mine.. but dun know how worth is it.. coz i think is around 800 to 900 to change this 2 item rite??

erm. what lancer_ajai2 said.. yo.. my mechanic also say invest a microtech then sure i satisfied ?? :blink:
dun know.. see 1st..survey with u all senior in car 1st. then only do it.. :D

just now was stuffing some rubber in my gearbox mountings , cause koyak aready , so the engine vibrates , after stuffing , forgot to put back the airflow sensor socket , idling like shit and i didn't notice till my car stalled 4 times . went to friends house open , aha bloody socket not connected . careless mistake , fuel drink like hell :lol:

ok lancer... maybe u are right. First things first. Now aircond wiring still not fixed yet. Anyone knows a good aircond wiring workshop? Just in case it can't be fixed ...

Also, does Apexi Safc make a difference to the engine? Since it can control the air/fuel ratio...

vestax - wah, your car got so many wires... see also scared...

yea man later will rearrange the wirings , actually once i mount the filter , can't see those messy wirings :lol: .

Originally posted by dkoo+Apr 28 2004, 02:56 AM-->
QUOTE (dkoo @ Apr 28 2004, 02:56 AM)
--QuoteBegin-keong_MIRAGE
@Apr 27 2004, 08:05 PM

61T fans,

i've been using this engine for almost 2 years already, no problem at all! the power ok lar... 140bhp stock form! the piston already 81mm which equal to the GSR and damn tahan lasak! the main problem is the wiring, i think... if got someone who know how to use full the wiring system without cut here and there, 61T can be very fast! change VR4RS intercooler and turbo, walbro fuel pump and boost 1.5bar, sure can kiss the GSR or VR4 back already! :lol: if want more, change the block to 2.0CC and head use back the mirage one, wow... can't imagine! but too bad, i've sold this engine to my fren and now go for VR4! ;)

yo.. senior senior..

if i jsut change the intercooler and the turbine to vr4rs stuffs.. and boost on 1bar afterward.. the rest of the conditon of the 61t still remian stock.. how much estimated hp i will get.. can reach 160?? or more?? or??
still blur with the tune up setting :blink:

ya.. all the 61t sifu plz help answer also.. more opinion more advancement i get :) [/b][/quote]
dkoo,

with VR4RS turbine and intercooler, should be enough for you to get 180bhp if your boost is 1.5bar... those 2 things should cost you 1.5k already! you'll get an extra bonus if your mirage is come with the 2WD LSD gb... my 61t last time
head VR4+evo cams ( can't feel any different ) bolt in TD-05H 20G and evo4 intercooler, with 1bar boost lag like hell but i can beat my frens slightly mod EK4
which should rated 180ps in 400m sprint! what lancer ajai said also true, step by step la bro! ;)

vestax,

thanks for the info, bro!
i've bought mine the evo2 non LSD gb with the rallyart clutch set and flywheel for 1.1k already, do you think it's worth? :rolleyes:

keong, my mirage with td04L 1 bar boost and vr4 i/c already dynoed at speedworks at 188bhp on wheels/ and 200 on fly

Originally posted by keong_MIRAGE+Apr 29 2004, 04:01 PM-->
QUOTE (keong_MIRAGE @ Apr 29 2004, 04:01 PM)
Originally posted by dkoo@Apr 28 2004, 02:56 AM
--QuoteBegin-keong_MIRAGE
@Apr 27 2004, 08:05 PM

61T fans,

i've been using this engine for almost 2 years already, no problem at all! the power ok lar... 140bhp stock form! the piston already 81mm which equal to the GSR and damn tahan lasak! the main problem is the wiring, i think... if got someone who know how to use full the wiring system without cut here and there, 61T can be very fast! change VR4RS intercooler and turbo, walbro fuel pump and boost 1.5bar, sure can kiss the GSR or VR4 back already! :lol: if want more, change the block to 2.0CC and head use back the mirage one, wow... can't imagine! but too bad, i've sold this engine to my fren and now go for VR4! ;)

yo.. senior senior..

if i jsut change the intercooler and the turbine to vr4rs stuffs.. and boost on 1bar afterward.. the rest of the conditon of the 61t still remian stock.. how much estimated hp i will get.. can reach 160?? or more?? or??
still blur with the tune up setting :blink:

ya.. all the 61t sifu plz help answer also.. more opinion more advancement i get :)

dkoo,

with VR4RS turbine and intercooler, should be enough for you to get 180bhp if your boost is 1.5bar... those 2 things should cost you 1.5k already! you'll get an extra bonus if your mirage is come with the 2WD LSD gb... my 61t last time
head VR4+evo cams ( can't feel any different ) bolt in TD-05H 20G and evo4 intercooler, with 1bar boost lag like hell but i can beat my frens slightly mod EK4
which should rated 180ps in 400m sprint! what lancer ajai said also true, step by step la bro! ;)

vestax,

thanks for the info, bro!
i've bought mine the evo2 non LSD gb with the rallyart clutch set and flywheel for 1.1k already, do you think it's worth? :rolleyes: [/b][/quote]
Keong, i think ur being too modest la. :D Come on man, with vr4 rs turbin and intercooler somemore 1.5 bar, onli 180hp? I think even with the 11b , vr4 i/ccoler and 1 bar of boost already ezily reach 180hp. With this kind of setup (vr4 rs turbin, i/cooler) i'm very sure u can get more than 220+ hp already. B) Juz my 2 cents :lol:

p/s: Dey, how come my 61T 2wd g/box has no LSD?

Originally posted by eclips3@Apr 29 2004, 04:13 PM
keong, my mirage with td04L 1 bar boost and vr4 i/c already dynoed at speedworks at 188bhp on wheels/ and 200 on fly
eclips3, ur car very powerfull man! No wonder they call u the 'TAIKO'. What other mods did u do also? Share ur recipe man :D

no la. me small time. mirageboy.

just sharing some info. if ur engine in good health. i think 180 bhp is not a problem. just enuff fueling for the highboost

yo man~~ all the sifu's word giving me damn confident man :)
can't wait to get the convertion d.. few more days only :)

61t really easily tune up :)
hange 2 thing can get 180 is enuff for me d :)

thanks ya for the opinion :)