4G63T Club

all the senior here.. can plz help me out of this question.. really confuse..

4g61t with normal td04 boost 1 bar..

2 inch piping no center box can???
or need bigger??
if 2.5 inch piping with 2 centre box can?? will no power??

i scare noise.. especially iswara.. sound proof is so suck.. 2.5inch scare inside too noisy..

if mod to 180hp or 200hp then still can use the above piping i ask??

help plz.. :)

danny ,
SS3 near kelana jaya right ? or izzit near 222 ?.

dkoo ,
brother just get the engine transplant first , you won't know what other problem will pop out before u can even drive the car . make sure the transplant process goes fine and then everything is fine then , get use to driving the car first , then only talk about upping the boost ma .

piping people will go for 2.5 mirage or vr4 , no center bullet cause if you get a big rear muffler it will be quiet aready , but still u can go for center bullet if you want to . but the turbo aready absorbe the noise so its not as noisy as n/a .

so ur thinking of pumping the mirage up to 180 to 200hp ?. can mah , change the mirage wirings & ecu to vr4 , injectors to vr4 , bigger intercooler , tdo5 , vr4 head , then lastly change to vr4 block la . :lol:

you ask eclipse tailo la his runing on that setup mah , now boost 1.8 bar aready .

Originally posted by Danny@Apr 26 2004, 01:06 AM
btw, is it safe to go outstation a few days after an engine transplant?
I dare not take the risk lor... my ECU kaputz the first day I brought it back to my home... lucky I was near my house... push push sampai.. took me 2 weeks to get it fix... den after ECU problem fixed... 4 days after that.. I took a drive up to Kedah from Penang... My Front Brakes bearing got worn out ( it was giving me some sound b4 that ) My RIMS nearly fall out.. have to tow it back to my house which cost me RM90 :( so Danny.. I reckon if u doubt ur car reliablity.. dun take it too far from home...

extrememech - sungei way is very close to 222, inside one of those factory area

vestax - ss3 is close to kelana jaya, the housing area next to Motorola. Wisma FAM also located in SS3.

ezwong - thanks for your advise, just that gatal already so long never touch my car.

Originally posted by dkoo@Apr 26 2004, 05:18 AM
all the senior here.. can plz help me out of this question.. really confuse..

4g61t with normal td04 boost 1 bar..

2 inch piping no center box can???
or need bigger??
if 2.5 inch piping with 2 centre box can?? will no power??

i scare noise.. especially iswara.. sound proof is so suck.. 2.5inch scare inside too noisy..

if mod to 180hp or 200hp then still can use the above piping i ask??

help plz.. :)
So far from my experience, 2.5" should be fine. I'm using this setup, downpipe all the way to the exhaust 2.5" and end it with an RSR Invidia muffler box. But i put a 2.5" bullet also. Performance? Well, U'll lose a bit of ur off-boost torque but then ur boost will come in earlier and ur high end would be a bit better. Just use 2.5" la, cause i can guarantee u after u drive for a few months u'll begin to mod this and that :D

Oh ya forgot to add, if u dun want the noise to loud, try to find a 'fat' muffler(the one that looks like our oem exhaust but inside straight flow) which has an inlet of oso 2.5". Dun use the N1(tembak bulan) style cause its gonna be loud.

wah.. vestax taiko.. then u jsut ask me to fit in 1 vr4 only :lol:
btw.. how much do the mod u suggest need?? 2.5k?? or more???
ok lah.. jsut listen .. dun tune up 1st.. settle the small problem after driving 1st....
then only go for tuning progress...

ya..lancer_ajai2.. i jsut stick with 2.5 inch but with a center box ler.. coz the more silent the better.. coz parent got a warning.. after convertion dun make unwanted noise on the living neighbourhood :P

ya.. vestax.. about ur accesorries esspeciall the water pump and the injector.. i think i will need some of them coz u say d convertion sure got small problem 1.. :)

ok..settle with my question.. thanks really a lot :)
i will contact khoyo since i jstu have his contact among u all here to join the friday tt.. wanna get to see all the wise face :D

sure about those parts let me know la can neg samore , no worries . you want to know about the 4G61 ask eclipse & ajai la , both of them aready experience ups & down's with the engine .

4G61 hybird to vr4 can do in a slow process , like first changing to a bigger intercooler , and then bigger turbo , later on get the ecu & injectors change , then the head , lastly block :lol:

i think the head n block is the most critical part rite?? also most expensive part rite?? i think i will do the rest.. except this 2.. coz scare of jpj.. and parent final warning d.. cannot get on illegal.. :blink:
so so bad...

nvm.. drive a for a period.. if ok. then go for tune.. the big turbo , big intercooler and ecu and injector only change can increase to 180hp for 4g61t??if can then ok d.. :)

Originally posted by lancer_ajai2@Apr 27 2004, 02:45 AM
Eclipse and vestax - the taikos of the 61t (and maybe 63T too) ;-)
haha you should know better , cause u had ur transplant much ealier then me , and ur experience is more i guess :lol: . i basically learn from experience and trial & error thats all , tech stuff ask eclipse & sdf . :lol:

by the way ajai , did you get ur mass air flow sensor hacked ?.

heh what kind of improvements did you get ? cause i did the mod when the engine was transplanted , so i didn't get to feel the before & after hacking the air flow sensor . :lol: . mirage airflow sensor is not like the vr4 one right ? but i assume it would run on a vr4 ?. mirage airflow has 2 round holes right ?.

hey vestax,

any info bout the VR4RS gb and EVO gb?
i planing to buy either one but which one better interm of performance huh?
both without the LSD... ;)

61T fans,

i've been using this engine for almost 2 years already, no problem at all! the power ok lar... 140bhp stock form! the piston already 81mm which equal to the GSR and damn tahan lasak! the main problem is the wiring, i think... if got someone who know how to use full the wiring system without cut here and there, 61T can be very fast! change VR4RS intercooler and turbo, walbro fuel pump and boost 1.5bar, sure can kiss the GSR or VR4 back already! :lol: if want more, change the block to 2.0CC and head use back the mirage one, wow... can't imagine! but too bad, i've sold this engine to my fren and now go for VR4! ;)

i donno if the gb your taking , its really from an rs version or not , cause for your info mitsubishi came out with vr4 240hp as a road going car which is Galant Vr4 GSR , the RS version also runing on the same engine specs , just that it has different interior , rs badge , and close ratio gearbox for rally use . same as the evo's if you get the evo rs gearbox it will have a closer ratio then the normal evo gb . i hope u get what im trying to say , doesn't mean its has 240hp its the rs model , people in malaysia call it as rs cause it has bigger stuff ma so they think its rs , the same thing with gsr , gsr has 180hp and the libero has 210hp but people say libero is the rs cause has bigger ic and bigger hp but come to think again wagon rs wow. :lol: . i`ll try to get the gearbox codes for u

Vestax,
In terms of improvment i dunno la cause tarak dyno :-) but 1 thing for sure is that i'll hit fuel cut much later than it should be. Meaning i can boost higher b4 reach fuel cut.

My airflow sensor got 1 square and 1 bujur. The small honeycomb(bujur) and the big honeycomb(square).

I see most VR4 engine owhers remove the original air filter cover and one of my friend has modified some device inside it..does it really make a lot of difference? Any pros and cons? Is the air flow sensor located there?

Originally posted by keong_MIRAGE@Apr 27 2004, 08:05 PM

61T fans,

i've been using this engine for almost 2 years already, no problem at all! the power ok lar... 140bhp stock form! the piston already 81mm which equal to the GSR and damn tahan lasak! the main problem is the wiring, i think... if got someone who know how to use full the wiring system without cut here and there, 61T can be very fast! change VR4RS intercooler and turbo, walbro fuel pump and boost 1.5bar, sure can kiss the GSR or VR4 back already! :lol: if want more, change the block to 2.0CC and head use back the mirage one, wow... can't imagine! but too bad, i've sold this engine to my fren and now go for VR4! ;)
yo.. senior senior..

if i jsut change the intercooler and the turbine to vr4rs stuffs.. and boost on 1bar afterward.. the rest of the conditon of the 61t still remian stock.. how much estimated hp i will get.. can reach 160?? or more?? or??
still blur with the tune up setting :blink:

ya.. all the 61t sifu plz help answer also.. more opinion more advancement i get :)