4agze dyno rsult

mafia_staff said:
Hi... My ride power by Ae92 4AGZE... I have done a dyno test before, and I got 178hp on wheel... here is my mode spec..
- port polish block
- metal gasket
- CA18DET Piston
- SAFC
- Bigger crank pulley
- Iridum spark plug
- Short air ram pipe
- Retard the distributor
- Standard ECU
- Exhaust 2 1/3 straight flow
- 42 psi fuel pressure
- Bosch fuel pump taken from Merc (Rep Czech)
- Lighten flywheel (deducted 1.5 kg)

From my humble opinion, if you expect more horsepower, forget about supercharge.. Convert your 4AGZE to 4AGTE... Instead of wasting money and time like me.. In motorsport world, everything is about 'SETTING' not how many performance and brand of item you put in your car.. When you looking for more horsepower, you're not gurantee to lead in front, but when you look for how fast the car can reach 200km. Im sure you don't spend so much money 'lavishly' in moddin your engine... Be wise..

my motor is the last generation 4agze map dli. i have 176mm oversized crank pulley, abv mod, manifold back exhaust. looking at your specs you have just really adjusted the fuel and management. from this you have 48hp more than mine at the wheels. this generation gze is supposed to have about 165hp standard. i surely don't loose this much power from the supercharger........

Wow! 178 Wheel HP! Then can tapau most of the Vtech and also Mivec on the street!

Would like to have to a look at ur car and also engine!

Last gen of 4AGZE should prouduce 170hp.
There is no change on the ECU code but the main chip inside has different masking code and the cover label's colour has changed to black lettering instead of orange lettering.

levin818 said:
Last gen of 4AGZE should prouduce 170hp.
There is no change on the ECU code but the main chip inside has different masking code and the cover label's colour has changed to black lettering instead of orange lettering.
ok so has anybody got any ideas where or how i am loosing all this power.
scan.jpg

this dyno graph shows good torque but the wheel hp is at 130 thats at least 40hp down with my mods on that engine.

Wah christopher ah ............... very good answer and analysis wor :)

rollakid said:
check your torque, your dyno sheet shows that your engine has a whole 20lb-ft more torque than any stock 4agze.

so here's what i can understand from your lost of power:

you work your supercharger too much, it gain more torque low end, but lost power at higher rpm cuz its just too hot to work effeciently. You should know how hp/torque is calculated, so if your high end looses torque, then you loose hp as well. same thing like diesel engine, high low end torque, but not a high rev engine, thus low hp figure.

basically, your engine already IS more powerful then stock gze (under 5k rpm that is)

so many people forgot about hot air problem in malaysia.

waxer52 ah, tell you something lah.... I remember reading a turbo driving at 240km/h cause the wind to be hot hence lack of oxygen..... in order to overcome this problem they had to use air-cond cooled parallel intercooler.

this is one area for you to check.... I support rollakid's statement.

ok just sorted the boost problem by adjusting the belt properly. holding boost all the way to red line now. can still feel the drop in power at 5500 rpm.
this seems to be the problem with all gze's. anyone got a fix that definately works. some say its the ecu, others say its the knock sensor.....

i would really like to see the dyno chart of mafia_staff, since a dyno is more than just to see the peak power, but the whole power/torque band.

waxer, if you still wants to go with a root type supercharger, and want more power throughout the rev range, i think its best you get a bigger supercharger, like the sc14, or try to find an ogura clutch supercharger:
http://www.oguraclutch.co.jp/english/e_products/sc/sc_siyou.htm

too bad they discontinue their tx28 model, but i don't think 4ag cna make use of that big of a blower anyway.

I have do the dyno before for my car AE101 4agze all is standard.
only have exchaust extractor from FGK.
the duno chat come out on wheel is 137hp only...
is it a normal...... i doing at GT Auto.

the only mods i have on my car are 176 mm oversize crank pulley and an exhaust from the manafold back. i will shortly be front mounting the intercooler. hopefully this will bring down the intake temperatures and get rid of the 5500rpm power drop. since the dyno was done i have tightened my supercharger belt and this has stopped the boost dropping off.

waxer52 said:
the only mods i have on my car are 176 mm oversize crank pulley and an exhaust from the manafold back. i will shortly be front mounting the intercooler. hopefully this will bring down the intake temperatures and get rid of the 5500rpm power drop. since the dyno was done i have tightened my supercharger belt and this has stopped the boost dropping off.

Are you using Ae101 4agze engine.....
if yes ... when u rev until 5500rpm that time will hard to pull up again...... i also dont know why......

waxer,
thats about the limit of the sc12 charger, front mount the i/c might help, but it won't change the characteristic of sc12 being ineffecient after a certain rpm in the blower itself.

using bigger pulley will more or less mean you shift the torque to the lower rpm range.

rollakid said:
waxer,
thats about the limit of the sc12 charger, front mount the i/c might help, but it won't change the characteristic of sc12 being ineffecient after a certain rpm in the blower itself.

using bigger pulley will more or less mean you shift the torque to the lower rpm range.

So
should i change to sc14 and a bigger pulley.......

1st of all

U can never get the specified hp claimed by the Toyota manufacturer.. i've seen 20V blacktop dyno-ed in at 125hp on wheel.. and GZEs dynoed in at 130hp @ wheel... i'd say all of d dyno of 4AG's i've personally seen or hear can never match the manufacturer's claim.. y? err... no idea.. but it's not anything to do with faults or errors in d setup of d cars...

Anyway, d simplest yet most effective 4AGZE setup i've seen was dyno-ed in 178.9hp@wheel

1> 272' & 284' HKS cams
2> HKS Cam pulley
3> 170mm Crank Pulley
4> ARC intercooler
5> SAFC

D rest i stock...

Sadly, less than a year later.. d car was stolen...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
1st of all

U can never get the specified hp claimed by the Toyota manufacturer.. i've seen 20V blacktop dyno-ed in at 125hp on wheel.. and GZEs dynoed in at 130hp @ wheel... i'd say all of d dyno of 4AG's i've personally seen or hear can never match the manufacturer's claim.. y? err... no idea.. but it's not anything to do with faults or errors in d setup of d cars...

Anyway, d simplest yet most effective 4AGZE setup i've seen was dyno-ed in 178.9hp@wheel

1> 272' & 284' HKS cams
2> HKS Cam pulley
3> 170mm Crank Pulley
4> ARC intercooler
5> SAFC

D rest i stock...

Sadly, less than a year later.. d car was stolen...

Is it front mount intercooler and normal place......

if i using all stock engine and using haltech to tune it.... how many hp will out....:regular_smile:

tan2000_my said:
Is it front mount intercooler and normal place......

if i using all stock engine and using haltech to tune it.... how many hp will out....:regular_smile:
see how good your tuner is :rofl: but i got a feeling you might get more power if you spend the money you spend on haltech on other things, like what blackie said.

i did a lot of research over the weekend and it seems that the standard toyota intercooler that comes on the 4agze is not as efficient as the aftermarket ones. i'm going to buy a new one and front mount it to see how things go. colder air at the front of the car should give a little better performance. i don't expect too much drop in boost.

rollakid said:
see how good your tuner is :rofl: but i got a feeling you might get more power if you spend the money you spend on haltech on other things, like what blackie said.

I not going to spent other money already.... cos i have 1 E6K on hand which is last time i using on my BT before......:_:

But now not enough budget go to install to my 4agze AE101 yet... heheh:cry_smile:

it depends on the tuner... last time i had Mr J from amoil to tune my RAV4 with nitrous... (SAFC + ITC).. performance was ok.. can feel d difference... happy with it.. but not satisfied... 1 month later.. i drove over to GT... and had Professors T&T worked on it... they tuned it to the level of 4 WHEEL BURNING RUBBER when launching...