4AGE 20V Top Overhaul / Full Overhaul

I think maybe he meant TRD head gasket costs 3/4 of the entire top overhaul cost. But either way, it will be way too expensive or way too cheap. Not really sure what he stated there... :confused:

Anybody tried running on a 7AFE gasket before? I think it's 0.4mm in measurement, making it thinner than the TRD one's.

err.. i read from club 4ag forum, which is quite true also lah.. mentioned that svt compression comes from the chamber n bt compression comes from the piston, so if u svt head plus bt piston can get more than 12:1 woh.... i think it is logical lah.. but using svt piston... not sure lah...

Eh yala bro.. I was wondering about that too for sometime now. Because SVT got a lot of (relatively) cheap engine kosong lying around wut.. So I was wondering if salvage the piston can make my BT compression higher?

I wonder if this would affect the original engine balancing though.. because I really really REALLY like the HIGH REV feel... Heavy right foot.:biggrin:

Guys,
now i'm really think want to do a overhaul (my car consuming engine oil like crazy but still can high rev :biggrin:), and my budget is RM2500,
what can i do with it? need ideas
port & polish?
New pistons & rods?
new valve & springs?
new cam gears with stock rods?

what can i do with RM2.5 with overhaul? :help:

cybtech: With RM2.5k, I think you can do a full overhaul. Basically labor would be RM800 and PnP RM400 (some w/shop charge RM950!). Pistons, valves, springs, rods all no need to change unless excessive wear&tear.

If the engine has good compression, I'd suggest just do a top overhaul without having to drop the whole engine out. The labor for top overhaul + changing piston rings would be RM500 (depending on w/shops).

Thanks bro,
i've went to few shops during the weekend (in JB),
most doesn't know what is "twin cam 20" means they thought it's 2.0 engine......:rofl: (but dun blame them coz most are youngster/juniors) and quoted RM4K with balance.....
and only few knew how to handle this engine, coz i see AE85/86 and Ke70 lying arround the shop, i bet they sure know la.... they quoted arround RM1.8K till 2.5K just for all seals change without piston,valve, or etc changed.

by the way, do anyone got "lubang" fro 20V overhaul kits? i need 20V BT overhaul kit wif TRD gasket, please PM me urgent. Thanks in adv.

Anybody tried running on a 7AFE gasket before? I think it's 0.4mm in measurement, making it thinner than the TRD one's.

He He i am using it 7AFE metal gasket 0.4mm. But I never have a chance to compare the power difference when in stock. Cause when I bought the half cut I directly done top overhaul, change gasket, grind valve, port polish.

Bump: In topic:
grindvalve , porting polish

:hmmmm:After grind valve not sure power will improve but grantee power will no loose he…...he:proud: cause valve seat properly = better seal = no compression leak = no power loose …..:proud:

cybtech: 20V BT overhaul kit is RM340 at Wing Hin Jalan Ipoh, comes with standard gasket. However, TRD 0.8mm metal gasket is out of stock at Wing Hin. The salesman said "by end of April"...
Anyways, better stick to the w/shop which has experience with 4AGE before (16V or 20V).

dreamboy: You mean the halfcut already came with 7AFE 0.4mm metal gasket? Hmm... do you experience any knocking/pinging on the engine? IIRC, the safest thickness as per recommended is at least 0.65mm. Also, I don't think you can use oversized valve on 20V, or maybe can use only one oversized valve per piston head as the spacing between the valves is very narrow. Perhaps titanium (lightweight) valves will be "better" hehehe... So how much HP are you getting with your current 20V? Pls pm me bro...

lil bit off topic here :need advice from sifu's, what to do for 200k eng. service can give guide? (other then chage belting) shud sent to toyota cntre for full diagnos? (sori noob qstn)

I don't think you can send your 20V to Toyota service center unless your car originally comes with 20V motor from factory. For 200kKm mileage, it suggest for a full overhaul and basically replace everything. Are you referring the mileage to the original mileage from the chassis or for the engine alone (assuming it was transplanted)?

toyota service centre...heard from frens who worked there..they rebuilt 1 ke30/20 (cant remember exact car) worth rm 25k..all original part and all special order direct from japan. Pj centre. If not mistaken its an untie car...reason tat car got centimantal value...muakakak got money all can do...peace

pcmoddingmy; actually i did asked one of the Toyota Service Center (JB) to quote full overhaul and top overhaul for my AE101 20V 6spd BT, after about 20mins waiting (coz the boss discussing my 4age 20V bt over the phone) ... quoted "top overhaul will take 1 1/2 week and approx RM 2~3K. Full, 2~3 weeks and RM4~5K with balance. A bit pricey la but i i don think they touched 20V b4.

@ pcmoddig; 200k mileage from the engine..

so better save money for full obehaul rite.. thanks

Bump: @ pcmoddig; 200k mileage from the engine..

so better save money for full obehaul rite.. thanks

Anyways.. There's actually this one place in Mutiara Damansara area la..
They offer pretty good top overhaul service for BT.
Interesting thing is if you want port and polish too.. they swap your BT head and put in another ready made port and polished one.. so the process only takes 2 days or less..

pcmoddingmy; actually i did asked one of the Toyota Service Center (JB) to quote full overhaul and top overhaul for my AE101 20V 6spd BT, after about 20mins waiting (coz the boss discussing my 4age 20V bt over the phone) ... quoted "top overhaul will take 1 1/2 week and approx RM 2~3K. Full, 2~3 weeks and RM4~5K with balance. A bit pricey la but i i don think they touched 20V b4.

haha...they take so long to overhaul cos they actually outsource to 4age specialist (foreman wif a workshop under the tree)...:hmmmm:

true true.. coz i got some frens working for toyota service centre.. even they discourage me from sending the car into a workshop for accidental repair or major job.. most of the job are outsourced.. they only conduct minor repair n service, including installation of parts, but not fully overhaul like they claim to do...

i got an experienced once... 2 years a go i kiss a vios ass, which is still under warranty.. changed 1 reverse sensor, respray bumper, cost me RM625!!!

the service center claim that they are using original paint, but in actual the paint is different from the original paint, which i have mentioned to the owner before he wants to send to toyota center... later checked with some fren in car respray.. coz saw some very new cars there.. according to them.. outsource from manufacturer.... that was 2 years ago, but i doubt that it will change...

better check with then properly as most of them are not pros in 20v..

Yeah... that's why I said "i think they might not service"... But if they (Toyota SC) are outsourcing it, why not we outsource ourselves? It would cost half of the price and completed quicker too. Parts we can all purchase at Wing Hin for decent price (full overhaul set RM340 only) and confirm they are selling original parts.

NA_Lover, pls PM me the location of the Mutiara Damansara workshop. Roughly how much for top overhaul on BT? Including changing piston rings as well? PnP alone how much?

anyone know which brand got the racing forged pistons for the 2valve?

Bump: anyone know which brand got the racing forged pistons for the 2valve?

:wavey:Finally, my baby is out from top overhauling (In JB),
here's the report:
Piston Ring : RM230
Cond Rod Bearing : RM80
Toyota Top Set : RM480
Grind Valve + WMS : RM500
Head Skimming : RM60
Timing Belt : RM165
Timing Bearing : RM165
Head Port Polish (Machine) : RM400
New water pump : RM230
Fan Belt (for power stearing & A/C) : RM65