4-1 vs 4-2-1

pipylim

What are the difference btw 4-1 VS 4-2-1?
Pro?
Con?

TQ
:wavey:

4-2-1 extractor
alphawerks_header.jpg

4-1 extractor
http://monstaperformance.com/1/extractors/b16b18ebig.jpg

then... how bout 4-3-2-1..???

used during countdown

To TS, generally a 4-1 will give move the powerband towards higher regions, suitable for high-revving engines

4-2-1, broader/more useful powerband for daily driving

:wavey:
hi dude,
ya i know how they look like but i just wonder how their performance
which 1 is more helping on LOW TORQUE?
what are their advantages and disadvantages

4-1 advantages and disadvantages =??
4-2-1 advantages and disadvantages =??

they will cause more high fuel consumption? or saving?
:driver:

sorry... this may seem like a silly question but what do you mean by moving the powerband towards the higher regions and suitable for high-revving engines?

I've heard that 4-1 are better for driving at higher speeds and 4-2-1 are better for improving low end torque.

sorry... this may seem like a silly question but what do you mean by moving the powerband towards the higher regions and suitable for high-revving engines?

I've heard that 4-1 are better for driving at higher speeds and 4-2-1 are better for improving low end torque.

in general, 4-1 headers lets the engine make more power at the higher rpm ranges, at the expense of the low end; thus more suited for high-revving engines like b16/4age where the revs go sky-high

yap, 4-2-1 will generally give a broader powerband, punchier low-end and mid

cant find the article that explains it better hehe, i try to find

which are good for which RPM not really a matter la... just make sure wat the future mod will u b done, then only decide the 4-1 or 4-2-1....

not many mech really know how to do the 4-1 that got all the pros setup in here... even they know, they oso won't share 1...
who said 4-1's torq must b lower than 4-2-1..??

4-2-1 low to mid?
4-1 mid to high end?

How much rpm is consider hi rpm?
how bout if engine rev limit is 9k which is suitable?

which are good for which RPM not really a matter la... just make sure wat the future mod will u b done, then only decide the 4-1 or 4-2-1....

not many mech really know how to do the 4-1 that got all the pros setup in here... even they know, they oso won't share 1...
who said 4-1's torq must b lower than 4-2-1..??

yalah, didnt say it " Must " be lower la, thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all :P, in all my comments

e.g. in general, most aftermarket 4-1 headers are more for mid to higher rpm improvement

true true about the properly made headers, unless branded jap-made, or reputable local ones like PZ

4-2-1 low to mid?
4-1 mid to high end?

How much rpm is consider hi rpm?
how bout if engine rev limit is 9k which is suitable?

if i recall correctly, i came across this interesting article where they tested a 4-2-1 and a 4-1 header on the same engine; powerband was broader, improvement throughout rpm range, more obvious on the low to mid range

then they swapped the 4-1 in; powerband became narrower/peaky, improvement mainly came from higher rpm regions

what engine u using? 9k considered high la

why most of the new car they use 4-1?
as for standard car power feel is ok even it is 4-1

yalah, didnt say it " Must " be lower la, thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all :P, in all my comments

e.g. in general, most aftermarket 4-1 headers are more for mid to higher rpm improvement

true true about the properly made headers, unless branded jap-made, or reputable local ones like PZ

understand la bro... hahahaha:rofl::rofl:

why most of the new car they use 4-1?
as for standard car power feel is ok even it is 4-1

thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all, and more often than not, this is true for "aftermarket" headers

there is again the matter of the primaries/secondaries which contribute to how the end powerband will look like; even 4-1 can give good low-end if the primaries/secondaries were designed to make the powerband that way, google for more info on this, i lost the article edi hehe

understand la bro... hahahaha:rofl::rofl:

haha ok

mayb shld explain on the pipe sizes, or small inlet for the 4-1 & big inlet 4-1, same goes the 4-2-1....

ya troo length/size....

here is a very nice detailed article:

http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=2

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

check out this bisimoto 4-1 header

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4349/bisimotoheader2.jpg

he made 455hp at the crank with a SOHC f22 honda engine NA, 9.42 secs 0-400m

ya troo length/size....

here is a very nice detailed article:

http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=2

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

check out this bisimoto 4-1 header

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4349/bisimotoheader2.jpg

he made 455hp at the crank with a SOHC f22 honda engine NA, 9.42 secs 0-400m

Wow nice header!!!:love: