2002 Satria GTi with Juttering Problems

babyien,

Very sorry to hear about your problems. Infact you are not the only SGTi owner with Siemens ECU suffering from these shit load of issues.

Had been a hardcore SGTi fan and still driving it. Also a member of the SGTi club, even before they were officially registered back in the late year 2000. Now want to sell it for a 4-door but the price is just too low to let it go.
I wish to let the nation now NOT to buy the SGTi anymore but not many will listen. The ones with MMC or cloned APM made MMC ECUs are worth buying but NOT the ones with the Siemens ECU.

Wanna own a SGTi, find a good condition 2001 (1st quarter) and earlier batches. Don't buy the Siemens version. I am sorry, this message is probably too late for you now.

Sharing with you about my SGTi.
It doesn't give any problems and after more than 5 yrs old only the normal servicing and replacement of wear and tear items. Never clean TB since new(running K&N filter some more) and the plug cables are still good. Mileage just passed 143000km. Of course the dashboard rattles and squeeks get be heard front and back. It is a Proton mah.

I've heard so many of my fellow buddies, all SGTi Siemens ECU complaining about their idling issues. Yes, cleaning the throttle body(TB) or changing the plug cables do help but not for long the same problems crop up again. Imagine, we buy a new car hoping it will serve us well for a few years but it turn out to be a headache.

Just feel very sorry for all these people who falls into Proton's marketting jargon. With RM72k for a car with so much problems, will be better off getting a 2nd hand Honda/Toyota. It is not that other makes don't have problems, but less and the built quality is way much better. For your info, the 1999 and 2000 models SGTi was sold at RM67k only.

I had my fair share of problems with the PESC(proton edar servicing centre) boys in the past. Thought they will take care of my car and have the professional knowledge to do so. All bullshit and waste of time. Every time comes to servicing, I'll take 1 day leave and wait there. They really screw up my car but it will take a different posting to explain the whole damn story.

Luckily got a buddy working in Proton R&D section, can pull string abit and my complain went up to Proton Edar( at that time was USPD ) CEO office. So the asst. manager of that service centre kena "taruk" and kept calling me to send my car back and he will personally look at the matter. Sent my car there, true enough he work on my car personally, never let his boys touch it. Then went out with him and I belanja breakfast. Ever since I never sent my car to PESC anymore, have learn the art through time and service the car myself.

My suggestion,

If you like the car and want to keep it, don't mind the hassle fixing the problems again and again. Do like what other sgti owners had advice you. Service throttle body and if still cannot, get it tune and change the plug wires. The after market plug wires for the Siemens SGTi is very hard to find. If get back the original ones from Proton, the same problem will happen again. It only delays the problem it won't fix the problem.

Second advice, sell it off when the value of your new SGTi is still high. Mine at most can fetch RM42k only. I know it sounds discouraging given you such advice but it is the truth, and the truth is usually painful and hard to accept.

Originally posted by babyien@Mar 10 2005, 04:13

My car just jerks when I press on the accelerator and it gets worst if I floor it.
When the car is idle whether is it warmed up, it just "shivers" and feels like the engine is gonna stop.

There are sounds at times when I floor it. I've heard a pop sound before, not too sure if the sound came from the front or the bottom of my car. Other times, I get a PSSHHHH sound, sounded like from turbo charge. Haven't heard any marbles rolling in the exhaust pipe or pinging sound though.

Couldn't see any picture attached... Which workshop with MUT testers would you recommend?
Your car sounds like the problem I had. I changed spark plug cables, changed ignition coil.. all still cannot solve the jerking problem and the Pshhhh sound when rev until high rpm b4 changing gear.

Then finally, my mechanic check my fuel filter.. oh my god!!! The fuel filter was clogged with water and sand.

Then later he took out my fuel tank... and just like how he suspected.. there was water and mud in my fuel tank. I really don't know how it happened. A logical explanation would be I must have gone to some petrol station that is prone to floodings and the water and mud must have sipped into their main tanks.

I suggest u check your fuel filter first to see if it's clogged or not. Then check your fuel tank.

But if the jerking still persist, then get your fuel injectors services... as mine were also clogged. :angry:

But finally, it solved the jerking problems. :rolleyes:

try to check ur car using MUT.......a computerized check....thats how they check a proton from production year 2000 and above.....or maybe ur exhaust system cause a friend of mine bought a new satria Gti 2003 having a problem same like ur car....

What kind of juttering problems you meant? Can give more specific details? Does it happen only during hard acceleration? Any sound emitted from the engine or exhaust pipe? It could be misfiring, when your engine misfires, it happens during acceleration and the car would jerk but this usually happens only when the accelerator is floored and not during gear change. A sound that most people describe as marbles rolling in the exhaust pipe can be heard or some sort of PINGing sound.

If this sound is evident in your case, it is a misfiring prob, so check your cables one by one. Could be that the cables are old and are leaking electrical charge. I sent my Putra once to USPD to tackle this prob and bloody hell, they could not even diagnose it. I only found out about my spark plugs cables problem when I opened up the engine cover and heard a pap-pap sound coming from the cables. Then if cables are okay, take out the spark plugs and check them for any sign of wear and tear. They could be too old. Also check the gap between the firing points of the spark plugs to see if they are too big. Too big gaps would cause misfirings too... I think the original spec is something like 0.8mm

Now, if there is no sound like i describe, your prob is something deeper. Check this first, have a look at your throttle position sensor (TPS). This sensor is attached to your throttle body (TB). Refer to my picture attached, look for the arrow pointed up (i took this picture from another topic so disregard the other arrows and circle). You would see a black piece of plastic around 5cm in diameter facing you with wires sticking out. This black piece is your TPS. It can actually be adjusted, but do not, i repeat, do not fiddle around with it yet. It is connected to the TB by way of 2 screws at the sides. Look at the 2 screws, and look for marks of white paint. Proton marked the screws with white paint or some sort of paint when the car came out new and original from the factory to indicate that the TPS is set to original factory setting. Look at the paint and see if was tampered with. If the paint on the screws has been tampered with, means someone has changed the TPS setting and it is bad news. Not many workshops can properly adjust the TPS. You have to go for a workshop with MUT testers.

where is the picture im having the same issue replaced so many parts its unbelievable aint got any more money to throw at more parts but luv my wee car ;0(