babyien,
Very sorry to hear about your problems. Infact you are not the only SGTi owner with Siemens ECU suffering from these shit load of issues.
Had been a hardcore SGTi fan and still driving it. Also a member of the SGTi club, even before they were officially registered back in the late year 2000. Now want to sell it for a 4-door but the price is just too low to let it go.
I wish to let the nation now NOT to buy the SGTi anymore but not many will listen. The ones with MMC or cloned APM made MMC ECUs are worth buying but NOT the ones with the Siemens ECU.
Wanna own a SGTi, find a good condition 2001 (1st quarter) and earlier batches. Don't buy the Siemens version. I am sorry, this message is probably too late for you now.
Sharing with you about my SGTi.
It doesn't give any problems and after more than 5 yrs old only the normal servicing and replacement of wear and tear items. Never clean TB since new(running K&N filter some more) and the plug cables are still good. Mileage just passed 143000km. Of course the dashboard rattles and squeeks get be heard front and back. It is a Proton mah.
I've heard so many of my fellow buddies, all SGTi Siemens ECU complaining about their idling issues. Yes, cleaning the throttle body(TB) or changing the plug cables do help but not for long the same problems crop up again. Imagine, we buy a new car hoping it will serve us well for a few years but it turn out to be a headache.
Just feel very sorry for all these people who falls into Proton's marketting jargon. With RM72k for a car with so much problems, will be better off getting a 2nd hand Honda/Toyota. It is not that other makes don't have problems, but less and the built quality is way much better. For your info, the 1999 and 2000 models SGTi was sold at RM67k only.
I had my fair share of problems with the PESC(proton edar servicing centre) boys in the past. Thought they will take care of my car and have the professional knowledge to do so. All bullshit and waste of time. Every time comes to servicing, I'll take 1 day leave and wait there. They really screw up my car but it will take a different posting to explain the whole damn story.
Luckily got a buddy working in Proton R&D section, can pull string abit and my complain went up to Proton Edar( at that time was USPD ) CEO office. So the asst. manager of that service centre kena "taruk" and kept calling me to send my car back and he will personally look at the matter. Sent my car there, true enough he work on my car personally, never let his boys touch it. Then went out with him and I belanja breakfast. Ever since I never sent my car to PESC anymore, have learn the art through time and service the car myself.
My suggestion,
If you like the car and want to keep it, don't mind the hassle fixing the problems again and again. Do like what other sgti owners had advice you. Service throttle body and if still cannot, get it tune and change the plug wires. The after market plug wires for the Siemens SGTi is very hard to find. If get back the original ones from Proton, the same problem will happen again. It only delays the problem it won't fix the problem.
Second advice, sell it off when the value of your new SGTi is still high. Mine at most can fetch RM42k only. I know it sounds discouraging given you such advice but it is the truth, and the truth is usually painful and hard to accept.
Very sorry to hear about your problems. Infact you are not the only SGTi owner with Siemens ECU suffering from these shit load of issues.
Had been a hardcore SGTi fan and still driving it. Also a member of the SGTi club, even before they were officially registered back in the late year 2000. Now want to sell it for a 4-door but the price is just too low to let it go.
I wish to let the nation now NOT to buy the SGTi anymore but not many will listen. The ones with MMC or cloned APM made MMC ECUs are worth buying but NOT the ones with the Siemens ECU.
Wanna own a SGTi, find a good condition 2001 (1st quarter) and earlier batches. Don't buy the Siemens version. I am sorry, this message is probably too late for you now.
Sharing with you about my SGTi.
It doesn't give any problems and after more than 5 yrs old only the normal servicing and replacement of wear and tear items. Never clean TB since new(running K&N filter some more) and the plug cables are still good. Mileage just passed 143000km. Of course the dashboard rattles and squeeks get be heard front and back. It is a Proton mah.
I've heard so many of my fellow buddies, all SGTi Siemens ECU complaining about their idling issues. Yes, cleaning the throttle body(TB) or changing the plug cables do help but not for long the same problems crop up again. Imagine, we buy a new car hoping it will serve us well for a few years but it turn out to be a headache.
Just feel very sorry for all these people who falls into Proton's marketting jargon. With RM72k for a car with so much problems, will be better off getting a 2nd hand Honda/Toyota. It is not that other makes don't have problems, but less and the built quality is way much better. For your info, the 1999 and 2000 models SGTi was sold at RM67k only.
I had my fair share of problems with the PESC(proton edar servicing centre) boys in the past. Thought they will take care of my car and have the professional knowledge to do so. All bullshit and waste of time. Every time comes to servicing, I'll take 1 day leave and wait there. They really screw up my car but it will take a different posting to explain the whole damn story.
Luckily got a buddy working in Proton R&D section, can pull string abit and my complain went up to Proton Edar( at that time was USPD ) CEO office. So the asst. manager of that service centre kena "taruk" and kept calling me to send my car back and he will personally look at the matter. Sent my car there, true enough he work on my car personally, never let his boys touch it. Then went out with him and I belanja breakfast. Ever since I never sent my car to PESC anymore, have learn the art through time and service the car myself.
My suggestion,
If you like the car and want to keep it, don't mind the hassle fixing the problems again and again. Do like what other sgti owners had advice you. Service throttle body and if still cannot, get it tune and change the plug wires. The after market plug wires for the Siemens SGTi is very hard to find. If get back the original ones from Proton, the same problem will happen again. It only delays the problem it won't fix the problem.
Second advice, sell it off when the value of your new SGTi is still high. Mine at most can fetch RM42k only. I know it sounds discouraging given you such advice but it is the truth, and the truth is usually painful and hard to accept.