Megasquirt

Hi everyone, I'm very interested in installing a megasquirt... However, I read through this forum and I realize there are optional after market sensors which i need to import as a replacement of the oem sensors....

May I know what are the complete set I should be ordering from the internet and please recommend the site to...

I know uncle Z is doing the tunning and installation. However, I'd like to try writing the software myself first....

And I would also like to know if I install the megasquirt, does the engine being able to start right away..? Or I should write the program first...

For thos whom know abt programming, may I know if the programming is C/C+/C++/VB or other language...?

Thanks SIFUZZZ in advance for helping...

Cipan,

How much $$$ does it cost to get MS installed in my car. Engine is 4G93T. I have an un-assembled MS unit that I bought a year ago. Didn't have the time to complete it. Now I'm assembling it. Unit is MS-I v3.0, so how much to get it installed and tune in the car?

Am I missing anything else? I just bought an un-assembled kit from the net.

Hi everyone, I'm very interested in installing a megasquirt... However, I read through this forum and I realize there are optional after market sensors which i need to import as a replacement of the oem sensors....

May I know what are the complete set I should be ordering from the internet and please recommend the site to...

I know uncle Z is doing the tunning and installation. However, I'd like to try writing the software myself first....

And I would also like to know if I install the megasquirt, does the engine being able to start right away..? Or I should write the program first...

For thos whom know abt programming, may I know if the programming is C/C+/C++/VB or other language...?

Thanks SIFUZZZ in advance for helping...

Hello speed2horizon,
Please goto Yahoo search engine and type in "Visual Basic Megasquirt" or

http://home.comcast.net/~whaussmann/RS232_MS2E/RS232_MS2_E.htm

These may help you up.

Bye

Hello speed2horizon,
Please goto Yahoo search engine and type in "Visual Basic Megasquirt" or

http://home.comcast.net/~whaussmann/RS232_MS2E/RS232_MS2_E.htm

These may help you up.

Bye

Thanks uncle...

So, does it mean, knowing the VB will be able to explore more of the MS ability and limit..? Then, the interface..? We tune it with an interface rite...?

Thanks uncle...

So, does it mean, knowing the VB will be able to explore more of the MS ability and limit..? Then, the interface..? We tune it with an interface rite...?

Hello,
Basically, the interface is serial communication or RS-232.

You must know the Protocol or Format of the Data so that the PC software ( Visual C++, Visual Basic....) can communicate with the Megasquirt.

You can use "USB to Serial" converter because nowaday almost all note-book did not have RS-232 or 9 pins socket.

yesterday I saw one bro car using megasquirt on perdana. very2 nice and it sounded like inline 4 engine.

huhu.. just realize this forum about megasquirts exist.. haha.. indeed really good info here.. alwz went to cipan house discuss about it, but no money yet to install ler.. hehe

Presume you have made a modification to your engine as there is nothing to be gained from a standard engine.
Still consider a NA Stage 1(not sure if theres any stages lol).
I'm still learning about MS. Another option would be the Adaptronic.
Most might consider to change to Standalones after major upgrades on the engine.
But in my case, I just want a spunky new brain as ECUs can adapt to any changes on the engine.
Unlike piggybacks. :)

---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

i am a myvi driver using MS... but the MS not installed on my myvi hahaha :p
Hehe. If only I have more rides to play. ;)

normally, plug in any standalone into a stock engine, the mid and top end engine power will improve. its entirely different with plug in a piggyback in a stock engine which maybe improve 5% maybe none.

sucimuci oso use MS management rite????

the price makes me really tempting to grab one.....(maybe later when i decide to mod my car) now left for stock setup only... :adore:

wahh,.. this thread is ancient, i tot its was closed,.. anyway, ive been using MS for 3years now,.. no probs at all, a little advice for ppl wanting to install MS, ask your knowledgeable tuner for their advice, MS is no good without a knowledgeable tuner. A tuner alone also is no good without proper knowledge on MS. Thats why its a unique ECU especially in this country where ppl always depend on other ppl to mod their cars, that includes me! :)