.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

For Auto tranny dont change extractor..Causes significant Lag..Change Muffler Tip like what i did on my Lancer GT..Using M7 GT Titanium muffler..For Manual Tranny do as you may..I m changing my current Subaru S204 Stock Exhaust to Apexi N1 Evo catback wit Decat pipe...Cant wait..heheheh

Hi Sir,
Currently driving myself a Daihatsu Charade Aura G100, with stock engine. (3 cylinder, 993 CC). Any recommendation on the modification of the exhaust that i can go on with to juice up some power from the engine. Current exhaust system also produces "small explosion" sound when revved up to high RPM... :hmmmm:

Hi zth members, :biggrin:
I'm driving 1.3 iswara(original) wanted to know if change the piping size increase the pickup? If yes, any suggestions for the setup? :hmmmm:

try 1.5" piping and change ur header to 4-2-1 setup....done for my rides b4 n yes pickup increase a bit:driver:

hi.. im newbie here. i come here to gain more knowledge about car modifications. last 3 days, i've just installed 4-2-1 extractor at my neo cps, midbullet and and an exhaust at a workshop at sunway. this workshop is recommended by my friend.so, my objective to improve the pickup abit is achieved by installing the extractor but another problem comes.. the sound of the exhaust is loud like booomm booom booom when im not revving. but when im revving.. the sound is ok(like vtec + turbo ~ because of cps) for your information, i did s-flow exhaust piping..actually, i dont like the 'bass' sound like turbo because my car doesnt run hella fast like those turbo cars. my question is, how to make the exhaust sound quiter without reducing the performance? i like vtec sound (pranggg) ... what exhaust i have to change? and where can i get it? and what is the price? thanks.. i really appericate your replies.

Vtecs are always noisy what, you want the praaaang go get a straightpipe + trumpet muffler and pray to God it will sound the same lo :biggrin:. Haha anyways bro all the best.

Hi guys, I'd like to post a quick question here. I drive a Corona AT151 (identical to ST150) with a 4AGE 20V BT. Currently the stock exhaust, which consists of S-flow muffler and 1.6 inch piping if I'm not mistaken, is limiting the car's power, hence I'm planning to upgrade to Apexi N1 set from Honda DC2 which has 2" and 2.3" straight piping, centre bullet and straight flow muffler. Since this piping set is a straight pipe, I'm planning to let the exhaust piping go under the fuel tank as opposed to going around the fuel tank and over the lower arm bar (I hope you guys get the picture). I've seen numerous other cars doing the same thing, including Wira's, Civic's and Corolla's.

- Are there any disadvantages and hazards I should be aware of letting the exhaust pipe go this route instead of the original exhaust route? If yes, are there any remedies eg. heat shield, thermal wrap etc.?

- What should the minimum clearance be from the exhaust pipe to the fuel tank?

Here is my Corona's original exhaust piping route for your reference (the fuel tank had been removed in this picture):
http://i829.photobucket.com/albums/zz211/alwyn16/PIC004.jpg
http://i829.photobucket.com/albums/zz211/alwyn16/PIC003.jpg

And the Apexi N1 piping set for the Honda EG/DC looks like this:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachments/engine-and-performance/268447d1262627097-apexi-n1-muffler-set-for-eg6-resize-of-image1746.jpg

Thank you very much in advance for your feedback and input. You help is very much appreciated. :smile:

JPJ and police would love to stopping u at roadblocks/roadside....

piping below fuel tank was illegal here..(unless like wira using evo tank that have longshaft tunnel with heat shield that allowed depend on some condition)

It's for safety purpose actually......heat from ur exhaust may be dangerous to ur fuel tanks so 'they' never think twice to issue u 'love letters' if they spot ur exhaust mod under fuel tank.....go for ori path with bigger size piping also gud mar bro....

Thank you for the advise ^pomen_GTR^ and shah5755.. I didn't want to go the original route because I'm worried: 1. It would be more expensive to ask the exhaust shop to custom make the new exhaust piping, 2. The custom piping may not have perfect bends, 3. The custom piping may not be as light as the Japan pipings, and 4. The custom piping are not titanium treated like the Apexi's, and fully stainless steel custom piping is gonna be expensive..

found this topic.. just wondeiring, if a car use double exhaust and single, wat is the pros and cons..

well..it is more to looks than purpose..lets say if a single big pipe do have same level of flow with 2smaller pipe....so it your choice to use either one.....as simple as that...albeit,2pipe would have a little weight disadvantage over a single pipe....

interesting reading and facts about exhaust modification here

some basic and logical thinking>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2662/article.html

exhaust part1>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_1466/article.html
exhaust part2>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_1474/article.html
exhaust part3>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_1484/article.html

low cost part1>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2711/article.html
low cost part2>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2710/article.html

pipe perfection part1>> http://autospeed.com/cms/article.html?&A=0877
pipe perfection part2>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_0883/article.html
pipe perfection part3>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_0893/article.html
:adore:

guys, any muffler to recommend? currently i am driving a proton iswara 12v using a straight flow muffler that i just installed 2 weeks ago. Previously i was using a s-flow but all the fiber is gone, so i changed to straight flow for much more power.. but i realize that my iswara have poor sound insulation..

Any other muffler to recommend me which is quieter and much more power as the stock muffler. It would be best if the muffler is as quiet as the stock muffler..

ya, a center bullet might help.. but, as for i concern, as long u used straight pipes, with straight muffler, the sounds sill still roar inside the car.. my suggestion, used ori route, with a center bullet.. if cannot reduce again, mayb u need to change s flow mufler again.. heheheee.. currently using iswara 12v too.. eheheee..

but, if u still wana used that system, u can install exhaust valve controller..

just my suggestion and oppinion bro..

maybe change to bigger center bullet might help...try to use 1.6 or 1.8 center bullet..

:adore:
ok, i try to source 1.8 or 1.6 center bullet since i am using ori 1.3 center box.

ya, a center bullet might help.. but, as for i concern, as long u used straight pipes, with straight muffler, the sounds sill still roar inside the car.. my suggestion, used ori route, with a center bullet.. if cannot reduce again, mayb u need to change s flow mufler again.. heheheee.. currently using iswara 12v too.. eheheee..

but, if u still wana used that system, u can install exhaust valve controller..

just my suggestion and oppinion bro..

bro, i am still using stock piping ler.. exhaust valve controller? sure out of my budget . :biggrin: I'll try a 1.8 center box 1st and see how 1st...
I have tried to revert back to stock muffler after my s-flow died... but the power is very different! uphill usually with s-flow or straight flow, can use 3rd gear. but with my stock muffler, must downshift to 2nd..

hi all the sifus here just join this forum and also new to exhaust modding. I am driving a nissan sunny 130y so unlucky my exhaust pipe bocor few days ago making those quite noisy yet cool sound but annoying...... So planning to change the whole system. Would like every sifus to give me some comment on how should my car be setup. I would like to have overall of pickup and top speed but less noise.

*I am using a stock 1.3 engine