silvertop vs blacktop

tengko

anybody can listed what the advantages and disadvantages of both engine
anybody knoh which workshop specialist in toyota engine and also can tuning

As far as i know, the silvertop and blacktop are almost identical. Advantages and disadvantages are really up to how look at it and use it, they're both superb engines btw:biggrin:

However, common differences are:

- Silvertop/Svt uses AFM (Airflow meter, flap type) while Blacktop/BT uses MAP Sensor (or vacum sensor).

- Svt internals are thicker (n a bit heavier) then BT, which is lightened.

- Intakes inlets n exhausts outlets on the BT heads are bigger compared to Svt.

- Both comes with VVT (intake side only). Svt compression is 10.5:1 while BT is 11:1

- Svt pumps out 160hp @ 7500rpm (62 Nm @ 5200rpm of torque), the Bt on the other hand
generates 170 hp @ 7800 rpm w (162 Nm @ 5200 rpm of torque).

If your planning to go for turbocharging or any force induction upgrade in the future, the Svt is better due to it's thicker internal/moving parts. The BT is better suited for NA tuning.

* If i made any mistakes above feel free to correct it:smile:

To me i find the Svt's AFM is a hinderance to upgrade my air filter and uses up space (also cant use velocity stacks or trumpets since u need the AFM to run the engine. The BT on the otherhand, i find that the thin internals are a bit to small for my taste.

Svt pumps out 160hp @ 7500rpm (62 Nm @ 5200rpm of torque), the Bt on the other hand

information from the web is not 100%

u need to go for dyno to get the real power

if you have pure 160hp,u are ready to go

Svt pumps out 160hp @ 7500rpm (62 Nm @ 5200rpm of torque), the Bt on the other hand

bro. that is not the information from the web, that is the official figures by toyota themselves, n yes i agree that we re not able to get the figures that high from dyno... due to wear n tear, different dyno produce different figures...etc....

generally bt is more powerful than svt due to lightened internal n higher compression, but bt cannot mod kau kau like svt..

hehe..

ooh, ok ... i got silly question btw, has anyone dyno'ed a stock svt or bt before? what are the figures? im curious to know:smile:

i dynoed my bt, 160 on engine, about 120++ on wheels.. that is the best u can get from a standard bt..

110whp from a well worn SVT (70,000km) straight from the halfcut (no overhauling). Dyno done some time after conversion, around 100,000km (original halfcut mileage). Dont know what brand of the dyno machine at the time since that shop already closed.

a healthy stock SVT would typically pump out up to 125whp on the machine I measured on.

juz dynoed mine last saturday in Trial Tuning. managed only to squeeze 130.39whp from my stock blktop. William-san juz installed the DynoJet in Trial 2 weeks ago the response are really good. book your time with him if you wanna see how's your engine's doing. For my figure, i think tat's fair due to the wear & tear over the years. mileage now is 180,000km oredi and never overhaul before.

I got a both the engine. BT and SVT. I would personally go for the SVT because of the nice chrome Toyota 20 .. hehe ..

Honestly, the SVT with MAP is very fun to own ..

i think you have kaw2 mod attitude
go for silvertop...rev to 11k can get up to 240bhp
(hehe...initial d movie, please watch back!!!)
if u wanna mod slightly, blacktop will do...
just from reading that i done

wow Banzai...that's very good for stock BLT. I remember sifo tom's has quite a number of mod manage to squeeze slightly more than that? Can't really remember liao...around 150whp???

:adore: a very healthy BLT you have there....cheers...

erm, tat's average actually. one SEG who went few days ago scored 134whp. probably he dun have much sludge in his engine compared to mine..:)

Bro,if i wan change my svt ecu to bt ecu,izit possible to use back svt wiring,juz do some mod on ecu socket?N what d diff of components,sensor need to change between svt n bt?like take off AFM replace with MAP sensor,n any else?anyone done it b4?can share it here?thanks sifu

wow Banzai...that's very good for stock BLT. I remember sifo tom's has quite a number of mod manage to squeeze slightly more than that? Can't really remember liao...around 150whp???

:adore: a very healthy BLT you have there....cheers...

for stock stock blktop 129-131whp normally.... mine last time max i got 159.8whp.....spend around 20K only gain 30horses.....turbo car spend 3k can get around that.....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:....free i go dyno my burger.......after i change my air filter:rofl::rofl::rofl:

Wahhh... Sifu tom's.
Wat mods did you do last time? Managed to squeeze 30hp?
Very interested to know.
I'll make it like my personal guideline to slowly modding mine.

Hey..when are you going to dyno? I wanna do mine too man...let me know...

Anyway, it's not easy to achieve that 160whp there as time and money spent...what's your story to achieve that horsies? feeling good? not enough? disappointed?

Come come...share share...

if i were to mod 20v now....i straight masuk 7A.....value for $$$$.....good power and cheaper.....never dynoed my 7AGE 20V b4 i sold it off but at that time still running in also feel "power bai"