Fuel consumption comparison

4e-fte : too small for your car, eventhough the power is better than your stock engine. I have met few people who installed 4e-fte in ae92, ae101....

If ur racing kaki go for 20v lor, that 4e-fte cannot tahan....because you car too heavy. It was built for ep82/91 with average weight 800-900 kg only.

The reason 20V can be economic truly depends on how you drive them. Remember that 20V has already used VVT system and VVT management by the ECU does effect a lot on how the petrol being consumed. Coupled with some advanced sensors like Air Temp sensors, O2 Sensors etc 20V ECU does a very good job at provisioning the proper AFR for the engine.

If you maintain a low-rev driving (below 4000RPM) with no more that half throttle all the time, anywhere between 400-500Km for 40L is easily achievable. I have personally seen my car run up to 600Km when I conserve on the throttle pedal, and similiarly run a mere 350Km when I High-rev my 20V a lot.

Maintain a 20V engine is just like any N/A car. 4AG 20V Not too fussy and very reliable too.

couldn't agree more with eg9. i just bought an ae101 seg with a blacktop 5spd and i was kinda suprised with the fuel consumption. very good for a 1.6. it's about rm0.08/km. if you can control your feet la. :)some more i work as a sales rep so i travel a lot, covering the whole of kelantan n terengganu every month.

am_izham Posted on Nov 23 2004, 14:30
couldn't agree more with eg9. i just bought an ae101 seg with a blacktop 5spd and i was kinda suprised with the fuel consumption. very good for a 1.6. it's about rm0.08/km. if you can control your feet la. :)some more i work as a sales rep so i travel a lot, covering the whole of kelantan n terengganu every month.

izham, how much you bought your car ?? like that I might thinking of changing my engine to 4age 20V lo ..... just affraid the modification cost is too high....

my car is a 1992 ae101 seg. pretty much the 1st batch of seg. the price is rm32.5k. modification for the engine is a bit on the high side but worth every penny. right now im keeping it stock cos im using it as a daily car plus no budget yet. :)

if u r thinking of keeping it stock than silvertop might be better cos i think svt has better fuel consumption because of different head design, ie: better squish clearance for use at lower rpm. <4k. correct me if im wrong here guys.

am_izham Posted on Nov 23 2004, 14:30

how much is the modification of your car to blacktop ?? hmm ..... quite interested la .. :)

It's about RM0.11/km avarage for my 4AGE-16V ... much better than my previous 2E engine.

seems 4ag is quite economical compare to my old junk. 4K running RM0.13/km with 62hp.

hey you guys think how much i can get out of a 4agze change into turbocharge running 0.8bar 80% civilized driving 20% traffic light fun in my old KE70?

Originally posted by Raymond_Hu@Nov 25 2004, 10:31

how much is the modification of your car to blacktop ?? hmm ..... quite interested la .. :)
sorry raymond. i cant tell u how much is cost since i didn't bear the cost of converting the car into blacktop. i bought it like that.

the spec when i bought the car:-

white corolla seg (1992)
5 spd blacktop 20v
fgk muffler with 1.8" piping
white enkei rp01 15" with bf goodrich. ( gonna be changing to goodyear eagle f1)
recaro fishnet (didn't like this though, looks old)
kenwood cd, cassette, fm tuner
kenwood 6 cd changer

so i would say the purchase is quite a bargain.

Raymond,
4age's reliability is not a problem. Parts are also not that hard to find. And blacktop is better than silvers as they are newer and more consistantly made as to silvers. Some ppl can tell u that silver's power can sometimes depend on luck.
Most importantly. Get a good mechanic. A so so one can really screw up your transplant. Yes, this is the most important point! <_<

am_izham Posted on Nov 26 2004, 03:10
agreed. get a known mech to do ur transplant. where r u btw raymond?
I'm staying at Bt.10 If want to transplant also need to looking around for nice & cheap halfcut. and also good mechanic ..... any comment ?

ops sorry miss out some info ... I'm staying in Selangor, Cheras, Batu. 10. That day I've ask some halfcut shop, silvertop(M) halfcut is 2800, blacktop(A) halfcut is about RM3800. blacktop(M) he quot me RM6600. how about you izham?

Originally posted by Raymond_Hu@Nov 26 2004, 12:35
ops sorry miss out some info ... I'm staying in Selangor, Cheras, Batu. 10. That day I've ask some halfcut shop, silvertop(M) halfcut is 2800, blacktop(A) halfcut is about RM3800. blacktop(M) he quot me RM6600. how about you izham?
DAMN.........EXPENSIVE HALFCUT..........GILA PUNYA KEDAI.......
MAHAI OIIIIIIIIIIII..............
THE RM6800 IS IT THE SEG HALCUT WITH 6 SPEED......ERMM.....
THAT KEDAI.....KENCING PUNYA KEDAI......WAKAKAKKAKAKA........
I LIVE AT BT 9 CHERAS....
IF U ARE FREE COME AN MEET ME.....
NIGHT ONLY...AROUND 10 UPWORDS.....OTHERS TIME....
SORRY....
COOL AND DAMN BEST TO BE IN KL AGAIN.........HEHEHEHE..........

waaaa ... the halfcuts u ppl found so damm kow expensive one ??? jap YEN went up issit ??? ahahahahahaaaa ... :lol:

btw ... me only 10 mins from bt9 cheras ... :)

Originally posted by am_izham@Nov 26 2004, 19:34
here i found 1 silvertop (A) for rm2.5k.
ermm....apesal korang jumpa halfcut mahal2 nih........
isk isk isk.............
silvertop rm2500.... got TOYOL inside ke bang ?
if got something maybe can consider......but......
DAMN IT!!!! if it is still standard stock halfcut...........

kedai potong sekarang sudah pandai POTONG ORANG!!! :angry: :angry: :angry:

heheheheheh.........
try and search harder.......believe me or not......there is alots of kedai potong in kl and selangor.....and there is still alots of out there is more cheaper......
to buy a cheaper things at kedai potong......

firstly......make friends with the owner...
2ndly......go to the kedai potong with the people that know the owner well.....
3rdly.....follow rules no 1 & 2...

hehehehehehhe