RM80 just to jump start your car...

lawnmower

Happened to my gf the other day. She was unable to start her car at 1U the other day and she called me up to get some help. Unfortunately I was having a meeting at bangi at that time, so I called up my mechanic to see if anyone is available to check her car out, but unfortunately they were busy and can only attend to her in the next 30 to 45 minutes.

so in between, some good samaritan came over and helped her out. he told my gf that the battery is most probably dead. so he gave my gf a number to call and he walked away. my gf called up that number and ask that guy to come over with a battery and replace it.

about 10 - 15 minutes latera chinese guy in a wira showed up and checked out her car. he made up some excuse and said that they can't tell what's wrong and need to tow it back and without asking for my gf's approval he just called the tow truck. my gf told him there's no need for tow truck and he should check the battery. at first he refused by giving excuse like he did not bring along a spare battery and he ticked off my gf by saying that it would be useless to bring a spare battery if something else is faulty. well hello, there's nothing wrong with bringing a spare one right? plus my gf did specifically requested for one.

so after some hesitation, he agreed to jump start her car with his own car battery and the car started fine. this is where the slaughtering starts. my gf was thinking about giving him 10-20 bucks for the effort as coffee money but then he asked for RM80 from my gf. my gf was somewhat shocked and asked why is it so expensive? and his reply was RM60 was for the jump start and additional RM20 is for the tow truck because it was on his way and it had to turn back without any customer so have to give some form of coffee money for 'wasting' their time.

my gf wanted to pay RM20 and just leave but unfortunately his car was blocking her car and she was somewhat 'harassed' into paying RM80 for the effort. after paying, gf asked for the name and phone number of the workshop that he is working for he just pretended dumb and drove off.

its pretty good your gf still know something about car and argued for the charge, but those moron dumb-xxs fetish likely need to be shoot off.

wow.... 60 bucks to jump start a car.... i should have earned alot last time... i helped a couple of friends jump started their cars....

just a piece of advice, if car breakdown next time and ppl offer to help, ask them u really wanna help or u wan money.. ahaha..

cuz last time when my car overheated n died, there's this indian dude on motorcycle came n help.. eventually he went up n down carrying water for me, well he asked for RM100 bucks after he's done... i only gave him RM20.. he was quite pissed too.. wtf man

i think these money suckers are working for some specific workshop that specializes in conning people. he did not bring any tools whatsoever; he just sat in my gf's car and tried to start the car. after a few attempts he suggested that engine is giving problem and have to tow back to the workshop for further inspection.

when he realizes that my gf refuses to tow the car to a workshop he resorted to help my gf to jump start the car and quote an absurd price for something that you could've done for free if you're kind enough.

bloody money suckers la these fellas.

sign up with AAM or something like that. it usually pays of itself when you are caught in situations.

lesson learned for you but try to look at positives, in getting the car running again; it safer for a girl than to be caught in secluded areas etc...

it far better to get oneself away when carjacks/snatch thieves ply on the weak.

just the other day, a friend (girl) i know; got her hand bag stolen when the thieve smashed the car window while was about to drive into her house. (waiting for autogate to open). all it took was a mere minute & it was over.
terrified she honk her myvi but in a minute who can respond for help?

I don't want to be racist here.Most indian ppl ask for money.Last time my car stuck in the mud.I thought he is a good samatarian.Ask Mahu Tolong then i said ok.After helping ask for Rm100,I just gave him Rm10.He keep on scolding foul words.I don't care just drove away

Its always better to know some mechanic in different areas. Scouting some reliable workshops n getting to know them, is always a good idea. This can prevent being slaughtered by unknown mechanics that u arent familar with....

i think u should make more friends on zth n get their numbers .... some of them like me damn free ..... nothing to do so we are good Samaritan !!! 50 la save 30 ringgit can spend gf eat mcD .... kasi main .... haha ....

one more thing !!! u don`t have that feller number that your g/f called to get help ? ask weather that blade is from them anot ma ..... then your turn to blade them ..... i can lend u blade'S

I think better put his car no. at here for us to take note of it.. this kind of people...:mad:...
Rm 80 bucks.. crazy...
better still go to Giant buy the jumper just less that 30 bucks and put it as a spare then got anything can call fren for help.. so that can start anytime..

OU has ENEOS

She should have just gone there and the mechanics would have come immediately

save my number lo....i got jumper in car.....can help u jump start anytime....hehe....if im around tat areas la...

btw, it will cost u NIL if u ask me :rofl:

yeah, should be more better if all forumer zth got contact no zthian's for emergency cases like this lol....or put the zth sticker at ur car so if anyone from zth see u in trouble situation maybe can help u on the spot....

luckily she know a bit, if other girl maybe tow edi lol..

me also faced similar thing last 3yrs, sg besi at the busy road, my car was like motorbot, plug kong n finally stop there, i got spare plug but dont hav tools, no frens over there n it was sunday evening..

i walked bout 100m to front, try my luck to get help n luckily got 1 mechanic repairing 1 civic at the roadside, drive shaft kong wit 1 amoi standing aside, ask him if he could help me to replace the plug, or maybe he could lend me his tools for a while, he said no prob, he will come help me..

after 30mins, he come and replace my spark plugs, after all ok, i giv rm10
for coffee but he then said 'rm50', i was shocked n tell him it just replacing the plugs, summore my own plugs wat.. he then easily say 'kalau saya tak tolong u tadi, siapa lagi mau tolong?? ini hari ahad, workshop semua tutup, lagi hari mau malam, siapa mau tolong, apa macam??' wat to do, just giv him another rm40, summore his car blocking my car, damn bas***d!!

donno how much dat prev amoi kena by changing driveshaft at roadside!!!

yeah, should be more better if all forumer zth got contact no zthian's for emergency cases like this lol....or put the zth sticker at ur car so if anyone from zth see u in trouble situation maybe can help u on the spot....

ouch...my car got bomberman one....hehehe

lawnmower,
You left your gf in that dangerous situation. Why not just join AAM and get their assistance? You should be well aware of the dangers now a days.