3.5 VTEC Accord vs. 3.5 VTEC Legend

khairiaz

I'm considering the above 2 cars to buy. These two cars are quite similar but differ in several factors. Price is not an issue since the price in Middle East here is half those sold in Malaysia.

I am not sure whether Honda Malaysia will bring in the 3.5 VTEC Accord version.

Some of the differing factors are like the bhp (even though the engine is the same), SH-AWD (avail in Legend only), night sensors, navigators and some interior finishings. However, I have not driven any Legend before.

So, if you are in my shoe, which one will you buy?

Khairil

Ahhh

decisions decisions...

The new Accord 3.5 comes with 270bhp IIRC. The Legend with all its bells and whistles has 300PS. and SH-AWD.

For the Legends money, your better off in a 530i bro.

The Legend is simply a grown up Accord, it even rides on the same platform, albeit with a little more legroom at the rear and that nifty SH-AWD system.

And more power too.

There was a compare between the Legend, 530i and A6 Quattro. check it out in youtube. YouTube - Fifth Gear Honda Legend/Acura RL review

I havent ridden in one, but from what a few friends of mine in the US have said (and owned, regretfully) the Legend/RL sucks.

Too soft. Lacks power (like 300PS is not enough). And its not as driver focused as it was meant to be. BMW, now thats a drivers car. Believe me, I have driven the 530i and a family member owns a 525i which i drive occasionally.

So its your poison bro.

My 2 cents.

khairiaz,

if i'm earning expat money, living in a country where fuel + car prices are relatively low... i'll go for the 5-series.

If my expat money is really big that i can pijak2 and still can save some for the bungalow back home, acres of industrial/agricultural land, etc then i'll get myself an M3 sedan or M5. time to go conti hehe...

in the middle east it used to be USD400++ per day for telecommunications ppl (qualified engineer depending on country) but now only USD250... so no M3 for me even if i go there to work.

well that's me la... u sure have ur own constraints + requirements etc

Ahhh

decisions decisions...

The new Accord 3.5 comes with 270bhp IIRC. The Legend with all its bells and whistles has 300PS. and SH-AWD.

For the Legends money, your better off in a 530i bro.

The Legend is simply a grown up Accord, it even rides on the same platform, albeit with a little more legroom at the rear and that nifty SH-AWD system.

And more power too.

There was a compare between the Legend, 530i and A6 Quattro. check it out in youtube. YouTube - Fifth Gear Honda Legend/Acura RL review

I havent ridden in one, but from what a few friends of mine in the US have said (and owned, regretfully) the Legend/RL sucks.

Too soft. Lacks power (like 300PS is not enough). And its not as driver focused as it was meant to be. BMW, now thats a drivers car. Believe me, I have driven the 530i and a family member owns a 525i which i drive occasionally.

So its your poison bro.

My 2 cents.

hehe..just got all the data. 3.5 Accord is longer and faster than the 3.5Legend.

Pricewise, i could not yet compare coz the 3.5 Accord will arrive here in January. The Legend is being sold here (brand new, equivalent) at RM180k.

I like the BMW but there is no version higher than 530i, except the M5 which is sold at (brand new) RM440k. the Audi RS4 is also being sold at that price. for versions higher than 530i, it has to be special order.

The 530i here cost about RM220k, but at that price, I would rather take the Jaguar S-Type-R supercharged 4.0L V8, 400bhp, which costs around the same.

I am still waiting for Evo 10 though, not sure how much is the selling price, but it will be less than RM200k here.

anyway, there are lots of choices here and I will wait until all models arrive here.

Thanks for your opinion.

Khairil

khairiaz,

if i'm earning expat money, living in a country where fuel + car prices are relatively low... i'll go for the 5-series.

If my expat money is really big that i can pijak2 and still can save some for the bungalow back home, acres of industrial/agricultural land, etc then i'll get myself an M3 sedan or M5. time to go conti hehe...

in the middle east it used to be USD400++ per day for telecommunications ppl (qualified engineer depending on country) but now only USD250... so no M3 for me even if i go there to work.

well that's me la... u sure have ur own constraints + requirements etc

I think 5 series is the best here. FYI, the brand new 525i here is being sold at (equivalent) RM160k. same like paying the Toyota Wish in Malaysia. 530i is sold at (equivalent) RM180k. with the petrol price half than in Malaysia, driving luxury cars is normal for everybody here. the 3.5 Legend is sold at (equivalent) RM180k here while for the 3.5 Accord, it is due to arrive in January 2008 and I expect the price will be much cheaper as the new version with the 2.4L engine full spec is sold only at (equivalent) RM86k.

M5 and RS4 are sold at (brand new equivalent) RM440k. actually, they are within reach, but living and working in violatile region, I do not want to have high liabilities. would rather spend it (doing it now) on properties, lands, investments and business.

I think I will wait for newer models to arrive here as well like the Evo10, new Sti, new C class, etc.

for subsurface professionals (reservoir engineers, petrophysicists, geologists, production engineers, drilling engineers) the income here is currently more than USD400/day. In Saudi, the opportunity is better coz pay is in pound sterling and some are being paid more than £8k/month. I think with the high oil prices expected to reach USD100/barrel, job markets should be very good.

there are lots of 28/28 job opportunities here. works for 6 months in a year with 12-month salary. can do business in Malaysia with the other 6 months.

Anyway, Faisal, thanks for your advice. Really appreciate it.

demn u oil n gas ppl... always earning big (or should i say enormous) bucks.

seems like telecommunications guys are not making it big in saudi because the market of supplying skilled workers is controlled by saudi networkers a GLC over there (a fren told me this).

and my frens over there had difficulties getting permits. most of the guys i know cabut after 1 or 2 months and went somewhere else la... iran, pakistan, dubai etc.

yup, i think go for a beemer,...

bro, if got vacancy for civil engineers there, let me know ok? my accountant wife also follow together,...

hehe!

Civil Engineer go make highway in Nigeria! :P

Yeah. Oil and Gas is the shit.

Bro, your better off in the Beemer. Jags are for merchant bankers. We engineers drive either a Honda, or a Beemer. Since you can definitely own a Beemer, go for it lah.

530i M-Sport. Manual. Wooohoooo.

Civil Engineer go make highway in Nigeria! :P

Yeah. Oil and Gas is the shit.

me also work in oil & gas in east coast before, with jap main-con,...
eeerkkkksss,... build hiway in nigeria, for the long distance runners to marathon,... wuwuuwuwuuuuu! they dun need cars and vtecs, just run barefoot can liao,... can overtake ur sm4 oooooooooooo :burnout:

me also work in oil & gas in east coast before, with jap main-con,...
eeerkkkksss,... build hiway in nigeria, for the long distance runners to marathon,... wuwuuwuwuuuuu! they dun need cars and vtecs, just run barefoot can liao,... can overtake ur sm4 oooooooooooo :burnout:
then my SM4 buruk overtake your Yurop Arre. :D

okay

back to topic.

If Beemers are not your thing bro, I'd get the Legend, eventho its 'smaller' but its one league higher.

Itu dia!

Nasihat warga emas! :thefinger:

In fact, I've been thinking why common people nowadays called olds people warga emas.

I think may be it's because dulu2 old2 folks would love to pakai gigi emas.

That y nowadays they all called warga emas or warga gigi emas!:itsme::itsme:

old school people like sorok emas under bed kot...

go catch legend la... if u wanna be hondarian. or else..ex5 also can

Perhaps go Japan and import their Honda Inspire.......V6 but if drive slow.....it cuts the cylinder work to 3.....or 2 cylinders.......to save fuels......that's TECHNOLOGY.....hehehe

But the services.......hahaha...DIY....

Perhaps go Japan and import their Honda Inspire.......V6 but if drive slow.....it cuts the cylinder work to 3.....or 2 cylinders.......to save fuels......that's TECHNOLOGY.....hehehe

But the services.......hahaha...DIY....
the Legend and the NEW accord has the VCM technology.

Ain't juz the JDM had VCM tech ?
that was then, in the i-VTEC Inspire. (not to be confused with the i-VTEC in the K-series)

Now, VCM is available in the J35 too. not sure about the J37.

J35 available in the USDM Odyssey (Elysion), Acura RL/Legend and now, the V6 Accord.