B18C + B16a Pistons

egB18c,
same like ur situation now, want to overhaul da engine because the compression is not balance suspect 1-2 of the piston ring got problem.
my planning is to get B16A head + ITR piston.

aha,that was my original plan,but my pocket is very very little and theres a lot of hassle by putting b16 head on b18c block.All i want is a clean job,bcause dont want to waste money. :)

but good luck for your mod.

btw,do you know the price of b16a pistons?and how much is ITR pistons?

aha,that was my original plan,but my pocket is very very little and theres a lot of hassle by putting b16 head on b18c block.All i want is a clean job,bcause dont want to waste money. :)

but good luck for your mod.

btw,do you know the price of b16a pistons?and how much is ITR pistons?

i'm not so sure about transplant b16a head into b18c block will hv a lot of problem/modification. :stupid:

ITR piston+ring ( new) price range will be RM7++, b16a don't know.

ExoX2,

how about ur fuel consumption? mine full tank can go up to 350km onli. ori GS-R engine without butterfly valve same as yours...

You should be happy with ur fc. Mine RM50 go not over 180km with normal driving, but its with few mods done.

Act my butterfly still inside the manifold, mech didnt took it out. he just by pass it, the secondary valve is always open. the vtec is much louder compare to running 2 stage manifold.

dont forget to rechip the P72 GSR ecu , since using b16a head dun have secondary butterfly

J101,

how to do that? buy RS-M or VAFC? mine IM already without butterfly valve, missing. Only notice after 1 year use it,
Any other thing shall i consider b4 put-in b16a head?

thanks in advance..

i'm not so sure about transplant b16a head into b18c block will hv a lot of problem/modification. :stupid:

ITR piston+ring ( new) price range will be RM7++, b16a don't know.

its not i said it will have a lot of prob.
but theres a lot of job to do.its not like we can just take out the b18c head n put b16a head just like that.:burnout:

its not i said it will have a lot of prob.
but theres a lot of job to do.its not like we can just take out the b18c head n put b16a head just like that.:burnout:

i'm going to buy complete b16a head ( IM, TB, vavle spring etc) i thought all b-series parts are interchangeable except for a few parts only eg ; IM ITR can't fit GS-R head. Hopefully my mechanic can do that..

Dsone, u would remove the P72 butter fly valve activation by rechipped the ecu.

B16A/B16B intake manifold can't direct fit into gsr head, but still can be modded. My friend modded one but it wont fit nicely. i doubt this can give any performance gain. if want to change manifold, rather go for skunk2 or blox racing, they got specially made for gsr head. btw, erik's racing still use gsr manifold for the fastest drag :P

Dsone, u would remove the P72 butter fly valve activation by rechipped the ecu.

B16A/B16B intake manifold can't direct fit into gsr head, but still can be modded. My friend modded one but it wont fit nicely. i doubt this can give any performance gain. if want to change manifold, rather go for skunk2 or blox racing, they got specially made for gsr head. btw, erik's racing still use gsr manifold for the fastest drag :P

i didn't previous owner did what to this car. change to skunk2 is my 2nd option but i need to change TB as well right? by using b16a head i can increase Combustion chamber value a bit at the same time b16a head can fir ITR intake manifod ( future upgrade) the cost of this almost same as change to skunk2 intake. HP or tq gain i'm not sure because no dyno machine here.:bawling:

mind to share eriks's setup secrect hehehe... or just pm me...

no need to change TB, still can be used back. But if u change to skunk2 pro, u might as well change to a bigger TB if budget allows. normal B16A & B18C only 60mm, B18CR 62mm. Skunk2 manifold should be better than the R, if not why they made for the R engine as well?
To go for skunk2 manifold or change to B16A head still depend on you. U must consider the future upgrade as well. The head will effect the compression ratio & height clearance issue as well if u plan to change piston and conrod.
erik's racing? just google it :P

no need to change TB, still can be used back. But if u change to skunk2 pro, u might as well change to a bigger TB if budget allows. normal B16A & B18C only 60mm, B18CR 62mm. Skunk2 manifold should be better than the R, if not why they made for the R engine as well?
To go for skunk2 manifold or change to B16A head still depend on you. U must consider the future upgrade as well. The head will effect the compression ratio & height clearance issue as well if u plan to change piston and conrod.
erik's racing? just google it :P

i think wit b16a head easy to upgrade in the future... a lot of after market parts compare to b18c gs-r head.
i'm using this programme "ZealAutowerks - Honda Compression Calculator.htm"
to guide me on this small mod.

probably future will upgrasde to skunk2 IM for b16a with bigger Tb.. hmmm..:idea:

i think now is the opportunity if you guys want to use something better than ITR/CTR and furthermore brand new, which is skunk2 products.

if u can get a type-r complete head then it would be good for a start. if not a b16a complete head is optional to your budget.

then you can choose either u want skunk2 or type-r tb+intake manifold+fuel rail.

actually theres nothing wrong with the inverted gsr manifold if you can get your p72 chipped with to suit the manifold. i believe jun has a chipped for the gsr engines.

about erick racing, whatever that has been bored inside that intake is classified until to this day. heh

i think wit b16a head easy to upgrade in the future... a lot of after market parts compare to b18c gs-r head.
i'm using this programme "ZealAutowerks - Honda Compression Calculator.htm"
to guide me on this small mod.

probably future will upgrasde to skunk2 IM for b16a with bigger Tb.. hmmm..:idea:

if i were u, i rather stick to gsr head. use the b16a head expenses to buy a skunk2 pro series manifold for gsr, that confirm perform better than b16a. i dont think B16A & B18C gsr head much diff, both can use same cam, vs, retainers etc. Just the compression might be diff if u plan to change pistons. I just swapped p73 pistons and conrod without need to worrying the clearance issue.

evox2, if i were u i will change the engine to b18cr... sell the gsr one... kekekekke....
call me if u looking for it... haha

evox2, if i were u i will change the engine to b18cr... sell the gsr one... kekekekke....
call me if u looking for it... haha

not worth to do it now, i'd spent quite a lot on my current engine already. if sell, all the mod done won't worth anything right? must sell at market unmod engine price?

keep it as spare oso can... haha

how i wish i could. haha...any new parts coming in?? still looking for my final drive.

btw hattech, if mod crome in my ecu, must need to have crome software for real time data logging? any free software to use?

if u use crome to produce chip, u just need to add the features for rtp and datalogger, then u need to have any datalog cable like hondalog or hulog (will cost u around RM150) then solder it to ur ecu. then u can use any datalogging software like freelog, ECU Control or hondalog. its free software.

we can do all above for u... just confirm ur order... hehe

if i were u, i rather stick to gsr head. use the b16a head expenses to buy a skunk2 pro series manifold for gsr, that confirm perform better than b16a. i dont think B16A & B18C gsr head much diff, both can use same cam, vs, retainers etc. Just the compression might be diff if u plan to change pistons. I just swapped p73 pistons and conrod without need to worrying the clearance issue.

tats was my original plan, where do you get P73 piston? P73-00 or P73-A0? looking for it now as my b16a head will be here soon.