4G92 DOHC MIVEC wHP???

xin... are you sure LSD come standard for all Mirage manual? There has been so many selling their mirages with no LSD. LSD was listed as optional item.

Why don't do a standard Mivec dyno vs. a RS dyno? Flame flame. Hot hot. :)

Bro kwai... your 1.6 tune with emanage 146.8whp. Not bad. I think that is achievable.... I think standard Mivec 1.8 should get about 150whp easily unless they forgot to use back the MIVEC piston to replace the 4G93 piston.

nash, you think ah? think.... hehe...

but neway, my engine wasn't good condition that time, 15x,000 millege,
crank oil seal was leaking engine oil...

i posted that reply bcoz i was thinking why alot of ppl here said 1.8 mivec so hard to get 150whp...

spyderslr is my friend, his cam pulley pulled backward to have more torque at mid range rpm, coz he likes that, so power start drop at 6,600rpm, but he still get 159whp n 18kg torque on wheel, frm his graph, if the cam pulley set at normal way(max power band frm 6600 shift to 7800rpm), quite firm can get 170whp... i think la... :P

so i was thinking, those 1.8 mivec can't get 150whp, is it his tuner problem?
is the tuner didn't build the 1.8 engine properly or dunno how to tune?

plz, its not flame, just curious...

like lekalo's 1.8 mivec, an amazing 187whp(still lose to turbo n vtec, neway, who care, we love our ride. :P ), somemore he said the new owner of the car pushed another 10whp on it...

I've been driving that ex-Mivec CK for 4 years (and of course always redline the car cause stock car)and my conclusion is Mivec really a good engine on stock form as compared to Vtec. Just image there are many performance parts for this mivec!. Sure can stood same level as vtec!. Moreomore, Mitsubishi it seems like treating "double standard" with NA mivec, maybe don't want to threat their Turbo market kot!.

Don't meant to be biased cause my current ride still Mits. 4WD-T and Vtec also.:shades_smile:

i used to think that Mivec can be as good as Vtec as well until the day i drove a B-series Vtec myself....performance aside, the driving experience of both are quite as different as chalk n cheese.......hahaha.....anyway, Mivecs has its advantages n so does Vtecs....but on an overall package comparison, Vtec definitely has the edge.....2nd Gen Mivecs managed to close the deficit wif better gearbox design, but somehow the Vtec magic is still there.......wat to do, Mitsu wanna concentrate on its Turbo 4Gs......Mivecs are like the anak tiri oni....sighhh.....

xin: No, not all Mivecs comes wif an OEM LSD.....if they do, we wun be having trouble wif the "special" driveshaft for the OEM LSDs.....they are optional items....

kwai: yours a monster, different story leh....hehehehe....

Wajafly: you'll b surprised that alot of Mivec 1.8s runs on 4G93 SOHC or DOHC pistons......hehe.....its a safer recipe for reliability....however, i still belief Mivec pistons are the way to go... =)....afterall, mine has been running close to 2 years (20k++ km) + 4 trackdays wifout any problems.....havent even overhauled it......

RS for 1st gen Mivec are no different than the non-RS...but for 2nd gen CK/CJ, there are some differences under the cam cover.... =).....Once upon a time, a New Zealander gave me this info....not sure if its true, just to share and hope its useful....... =):

2nd Gen Mivec CJ4A RS ALTERATIONS:

1/ Titanium valves. 20% lighter & 30% less inlet resistance.

2/ Different camshafts. Maximum output from 7500rpm to 7750rpm.

3/ 40kg weight reduction.

4/ Heavy duty gearbox output shaft.

5/ Heavy duty clutch linings.

6/ Fifth gear ratio changed from 0.767 to 0.820.

7/ Helical type LSD (optional)

8/ Lightened flywheel.

9/ Strengthened lower suspension arms with heavy-duty bushes.

10/ Reinforcing plates on trailing arms to increase camber rigidity.

11/ High ratio steering rack. 2.6 turns lock to lock, normally 2.9.

12/ Increased steering pump flow.

13/ 15” front ventilated disc brakes with two pot callipers. (optional)

14/ Larger diameter proportioning valve in brake master cylinder.

15/ Modified fuel tank reservoir outlet to reduce surge at high G.

16/ Double accelerator return springs.

17/ Water-cooled oil cooler. (optional)

18/ High flow catalytic converter & low pressure muffler. 14% less back pressure.

GEAR RATIOS - MIRAGE MIVEC

MODEL CA4A CJ4A CJ4A RS

Gear
1 3.083 3.071 (lower) 3.071

2 1.947 1.947 (same) 1.947

3 1.285 1.379 (higher) 1.379

4 0.939 1.030 (higher) 1.030

5 0.756 0.767 (higher) 0.820

R 3.083 3.363 (higher) 3.363

Final Drive Ratio
4.592 4.625 (higher)

5th gear @ 237.32kmh ÷ 7500rpm = 0.0316426 x 6000rpm = 189.86kmh (4.625)

5th gear @ 215.86kmh ÷ 7500rpm = 0.0287813 x 6000rpm = 172.69kmh (5.000)

170kmh in 5th gear @ 6000rpm = 5.000 final drive ratio (ATS)

i used to think that Mivec can be as good as Vtec as well until the day i drove a B-series Vtec myself....performance aside, the driving experience of both are quite as different as chalk n cheese.......hahaha.....anyway, Mivecs has its advantages n so does Vtecs....but on an overall package comparison, Vtec definitely has the edge.....2nd Gen Mivecs managed to close the deficit wif better gearbox design, but somehow the Vtec magic is still there.......wat to do, Mitsu wanna concentrate on its Turbo 4Gs......Mivecs are like the anak tiri oni....sighhh.....

xin: No, not all Mivecs comes wif an OEM LSD.....if they do, we wun be having trouble wif the "special" driveshaft for the OEM LSDs.....they are optional items....

kwai: yours a monster, different story leh....hehehehe....

Wajafly: you'll b surprised that alot of Mivec 1.8s runs on 4G93 SOHC or DOHC pistons......hehe.....its a safer recipe for reliability....however, i still belief Mivec pistons are the way to go... =)....afterall, mine has been running close to 2 years (20k++ km) + 4 trackdays wifout any problems.....havent even overhauled it......

RS for 1st gen Mivec are no different than the non-RS...but for 2nd gen CK/CJ, there are some differences under the cam cover.... =).....Once upon a time, a New Zealander gave me this info....not sure if its true, just to share and hope its useful....... =):

2nd Gen Mivec CJ4A RS ALTERATIONS:

1/ Titanium valves. 20% lighter & 30% less inlet resistance.

2/ Different camshafts. Maximum output from 7500rpm to 7750rpm.

3/ 40kg weight reduction.

4/ Heavy duty gearbox output shaft.

5/ Heavy duty clutch linings.

6/ Fifth gear ratio changed from 0.767 to 0.820.

7/ Helical type LSD (optional)

8/ Lightened flywheel.

9/ Strengthened lower suspension arms with heavy-duty bushes.

10/ Reinforcing plates on trailing arms to increase camber rigidity.

11/ High ratio steering rack. 2.6 turns lock to lock, normally 2.9.

12/ Increased steering pump flow.

13/ 15” front ventilated disc brakes with two pot callipers. (optional)

14/ Larger diameter proportioning valve in brake master cylinder.

15/ Modified fuel tank reservoir outlet to reduce surge at high G.

16/ Double accelerator return springs.

17/ Water-cooled oil cooler. (optional)

18/ High flow catalytic converter & low pressure muffler. 14% less back pressure.

GEAR RATIOS - MIRAGE MIVEC

MODEL CA4A CJ4A CJ4A RS

Gear
1 3.083 3.071 (lower) 3.071

2 1.947 1.947 (same) 1.947

3 1.285 1.379 (higher) 1.379

4 0.939 1.030 (higher) 1.030

5 0.756 0.767 (higher) 0.820

R 3.083 3.363 (higher) 3.363

Final Drive Ratio
4.592 4.625 (higher)

5th gear @ 237.32kmh ÷ 7500rpm = 0.0316426 x 6000rpm = 189.86kmh (4.625)

5th gear @ 215.86kmh ÷ 7500rpm = 0.0287813 x 6000rpm = 172.69kmh (5.000)

170kmh in 5th gear @ 6000rpm = 5.000 final drive ratio (ATS)

I do agreed on the topspeed for CK/CJ4A cause that was the topspeed that i always achived dulu!.

All Mivec Manual comes with LSD, only the Auto Mivec does not have LSD. I got this of the Japanese MMC brochure specs for Mirage Cyborg. It is not an optional item..

imo, mivec can be as good as vtec, just their gear ratio let them down, esp the 2nd gear. normal b series is 2.105, if with fd 4.75, it will smoked mivec in 2nd gear with those extra torque.

Getting 150whp on stock 4g93 pistons is very possible. I'm doing it without a mivec ecu just safc and 0450 ecu.

With mivec pistons expect a lot more i'd say nearly 170whp [of course i'm just making guesses]

sure ..but how to share ? i need scan into my pc but i no scanner ...it is all is in japanese ..

here is it ...juz able to attach a little ..coz zth limit the size la ..hehe

xin... are you sure LSD come standard for all Mirage manual? There has been so many selling their mirages with no LSD. LSD was listed as optional item.

Here is a summary i made from the brochure since Mirage is not mivecs and cyborgs onli has mivecs ..

basically Mirage Cyborg with Mivec engines there are 3 versions

Cyborg
Cyborg R
Cyborg RS

Other models that are not mivec engines are

Mirage R
Mirage X
Mirage J 2wd/4wd
Mirage MVV/MVVsuper
Mirage F/superF

note: in japan, those with mivec engine are onli given the name Cyborg others are refered as version. Eg:version R or version X

ok, first of all Cyborg R is the onli version that bears Full Specs between the 3 models. Full specs means digital aircond, Recaro seats, 2din players, auto flip mirror and full bodykitted with small foglights.

note:only cyborg R and cyborg bumpers comes wit small foglight. The big foglites are from other models

The Cyborg is the version where it has all the specs of Cyborg R but it did not comes with Recaro seats and also Digital aircond and a few accsesories.

The Cyborg RS is the version meant for racing spec ..thus it does not have any accesories such as flip mirror,power windows, fog light, recaro seats. but it has momo steering incorporated instead of airbag steering as preposed by Cyborg R and Cyborg.

hope this helps ..

Quote:which model of cyborg is with the LSD?

there are 4 models that comes with LSD gearbox when it is for 5speed Manual only

-Mirage Cyborg (mivec engine)
-Mirage Cyborg R (mivec engine)
-Mirage Cyborg RS (mivec engine)
-Mirage version R (4g92 1.6 DOHC)

note: this is the factory setting for the cars above, so either the halfcut has been changed the gearbox or optional changes by previous owners from japan.

extra: Cyborg RS onli comes with manual gearbox, no auto version is given by MMC while Cyborg and Cyborg R has the option of Auto or Manual. Taking Auto will render non LSD.

Quote:What is Mivec MD?

In 1993, the MIVEC (Mitsubishi Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control) engine went into production. At that time, the MIVEC led its class in fuel economy at 16km/l in urban driving without sacrificing power. The key to the MIVEC engine's outstanding operating performance is the three mode regulated operation. Depending on driving conditions, the MIVEC system switches between low-speed, high-speed and MD (modulated displacement) modes. Modified cam and rocker profiles provide the most efficient operation possible in the first two modes. In MD mode, the MIVEC engine utilizes only two of its four cylinders, which reduces significantly the energy wasted due to pumping losses. In addition, power loss due to engine friction is also reduced. Advanced cylinder air flow control technology found in the MVV engine is incorporated in the MIVEC, improving combustion performance.

Mivec MD is introduced into the Mivec engine family later where it is available optional to 3 models

Cyborg
Cyborg R
Cyborg RS

thus following the exact models, assesories are still unchanged depending on which model you take while just that the Mivec will be ungraded to Mivec MD.

hmm...judgin from wat u say bout the brochure, does tat means the Cyborgs does comes wif ABS n SRS as standard...?....i couldnt understand a single jap word there...... but from my observation n ur interpretation of shaded boxes are standard items, tat means ABS n SRS are standard as well......then again, most h/c tat arrives on our shores does not even have a single hint of airbag n ABS modules (there are a minority but not all)....unless of coz, this refers to the new CK/CJ Mivec, then its outta my league....hehehe......cheerz....

PS: my guess is, those yellow shaded boxes means optional items available for the model.... =)...do correct me if i'm wrong....

hehe ..alright ya ..all those items comes as standard as mentioned in the brochure... but they have 2 options ..maker options and seller options .. if buy directly from maker(mmc) all comes standard..

there stated if buy from dealer i guess then dealer can take out the standard items if the customer requested... hehe.. looks like MMC is more flexible le ..standard already got abs, lsd n srs one ...

PS:: finally i took the time to read the whole brochure hehe ..

i got the brochure from my uncle ..last time he go japan and got go car show ..i got the brochure ..i saw it and he gave it to me hehe ..

well, at the end of the day, it still sounds optional to me for the buyer......n btw, doesnt really make manufacturing sense for MMC or dealer to put all the options on the car, and later had it all removed if the buyer does not want it.....oh well, weird n crazy Japanese maybe..... =)

Can you please send me a copy? I want to post it in http://mivecpro.com TECH corner... please....

someone should make that post a sticky so no one will ask the same questions over and over again

lol .. thats y we can see so many versions of Mirage series by mmc.. Japanese do knoe how to squeeze every bit of car but it is kinda weird when u are taking a Mivec natured car ..and u dun wan abs,srs and lsd ... tat sure is a weird ..better take auto like tat ... MMC make it standard ..but dealer can take out hehe ..dealer and buyer dunno a thing about safety and performance ..they onli knoe waah i get mivec sure power other standard things i dun wan..hehhe...typical thinking ...

i guess here is where Proton sells their Kereta Kosong ..maybe those w/o lsd,abs and srs is kereta kosong hehe