kereta potong @ half cut. For real.

satria_95

Taken from The Star Online.
The things that malaysians would do.

Sunday May 6, 2007

Watch out for ‘kereta potong’

By FOONG PEK YEE, ROYCE CHEAH and NG CHENG YEE

KUALA LUMPUR: Buyers of used cars, beware. You may be driving away in a “two-in-one.”

Vehicles that are better known as kereta potong (cut-and-join cars) are being passed off as the real thing, with all the necessary papers as well.

The papers allow buyers to even get loans from finance companies.

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has long been aware of such unscrupulous and dangerous practices at vehicle workshops. Cars severely damaged in accidents, instead of being written off, are salvaged in a patch-up job and end up on roads again.

Insurance companies, in the race to gain a bigger share of the market, provide quick cover notes for the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to issue the road tax.

Despite moves to stop this practice, the “patch-ups” are continuing, and figures are on the rise.

Consider this – Puspakom detected 1,200 kereta potong from only January to March, and this could lead to a kereta potong record figure.

Throughout last year, there were 4,629 such cases detected, 521 in 2003, 2,368 in 2004, and 4,062 in 2005.

A used car industry dealer, speaking on condition of anonymity, said lack of regulations governing the sale of used cars in the past even led to some insurance companies giving the go-ahead for wrecked cars to be salvaged via the patch-up method.

“This is a cheaper way to compensate the owners, than if a wrecked car is completely written off,'' he added.

JPJ director-general Ahmad Mustapha Abdul Rashid, in responding to the “vehicle alert” situation, had this simple piece of advice to potential used-car buyers: “Check before you buy second-hand cars. Get it checked by authorised agents and also get your vehicle covered. If in any doubt, get it checked.”

To prevent the kereta potong from plying the roads, finance companies introduced stricter measures in 2004.

Used cars had to be inspected and cleared at a Computerised Vehicle Inspection Centre (Puspakom) before a loan application could be approved.

Last year, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy expressed concern over the existence of such cars, stating that the ministry might make it compulsory for all used vehicles to be inspected by Puspakom first.

Asked whether the rising number of carjackings and car thefts were because of higher demand for car parts to facilitate “patch-up” work, the JPJ chief said this was merely an assumption.

The increase in the number of kereta potong being discovered could be because finance companies are making it compulsory for Puspakom checks on used cars, he added.

Subang Jaya assemblyman Datuk Lee Hwa Beng, a carjack victim on March 28, felt there was something amiss with the increasing number of carjackings and thefts.

Lee was driving his three-year-old Honda Accord, a model popular among car thieves, when several men armed with daggers forced him out of his car.

“It was a frightening experience,'' he recalled.

He urged the police to conduct thorough investigations to nip the kereta potong menace in the bud.

“They should ask the buyer where he bought the car.

“The police can then zero in on the car dealer or the individual who owned the car before, and get to the root of the matter

Malaysian Crime Prevention Foundation vice-chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye said the authorities should examine “all possibilities and probabilities” in assessing the rising number of carjackings and thefts.

A General Insurance Association of Malaysia (PIAM) official, when contacted, said the industry did not condone any cut-and-join method of vehicle repair.

“PIAM-approved repairers are strictly prohibited from engaging in such activities. Any repairer who contravenes this will be deregistered,” he said.

Patch-up jobs are also becoming more “innovative”, as a motorist who drove up to Cameron Highlands in her Myvi recently testified.

“I was overjoyed when I overtook a Mitsubishi Evolution, which is a turbo-charged vehicle,'' she said.

Then came the shock. “The front part of the vehicle was a Proton Waja. We were surprised at the slow speed of the car. Obviously, the car was a special type of kereta potong,'' said the motorist.

The kereta-potongmenace
Q: What is a kereta potong?

A: It is when one half of a car (front or back) is joined (welded) with another half to form a car. The halves usually come from two different cars that survived a bad accident or from imported “half-cuts” (one half of a car).

Q: How did this practice of joining two halves of a car start?

A: A few years ago, there was a lack of guidelines and it was not mandatory for inspections to be done on cars. The cars should have been considered total losses but insurance companies chose to salvage them.

Q: Why was this done?

A: To save money. The companies did not want to pay the full claims for a car that should be written off, so they gave the go ahead to “fix” the car. It is a cheaper and faster alternative to fix one half of a car to another than to fix the car’s bonnet or bumper individually.

Q: So is it harder to get away with it now?

A: Since mandatory inspections came into force in 2005, the kereta potong are being identified.

*Answers supplied by used-car dealers

potong.....all this while they oso potong...now only they make noise??

yeah well, now at least some innocent ppl will know their safe

its good
who say not good?
RE's GT300 car is kereta potong right???

All Japan GT cars are potong FYI. I also like very unique when the car can replace damage body.

Talking about kereta potong, i remembered a japanese website where they fix skylines n the method is to potong the car.

Here's one ...

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/eddie_yong/KeretaPotong.jpg

huh? dat 1 called potong? oni change bodyparts ma? main chasis still same .. rite? m talkin bout dat wajalution.. ehehe

i'm quite confused wit that article, bout the

Patch-up jobs are also becoming more “innovative”, as a motorist who drove up to Cameron Highlands in her Myvi recently testified.

“I was overjoyed when I overtook a Mitsubishi Evolution, which is a turbo-charged vehicle,'' she said.

Then came the shock. “The front part of the vehicle was a Proton Waja. We were surprised at the slow speed of the car. Obviously, the car was a special type of kereta potong,'' said the motorist.

-edited-

itz ok.. i understood already.. waja wit evo rear.. lol.

rear evo n front waja..? wanna kereta potong dun tell me so stupid meh....the other way around mah~!!!

I think the commentor (a female if I'm not mistaken) who "was overjoyed when he/she overtook an Evo with his/her MyVi uphill Genting" had it all wrong. Those are aesthetically modded or bodypart-swapped cars, not cut and joint cars.

They first need to clarify that not ALL halfcuts are being brought in to weld/joint the cars together. Most are going for the body panels and parts.

here's from star front page yesterday.
that U13 rearcut looks lovely though.

starfrtpage02.jpg

Anybody knows where this chop shop is? They seem to have some parts I've been looking for.

it was the insurance companies that was encouraging all these hanky pankies to make a fast buck. a totalled car is repaired and put back on the road.

The car owners get penalised but the insurance company gets off scott free! CCB!

she must have never seen a "wajalution" before...
kekekeke
And what's so happy about overtaking an evo?!........
can't Evo owner drives slow?!....
hahaha...racist comment....
kekekeke

Yes, and that comment is too freaking shallow it should never be posted on a national daily.
Don't tell me none of the editors are aware of the error of the assumptions?

I was overjoyed when I overtook a Mitsubishi Evolution, which is a turbo-charged vehicle,'' she said.

wtf?:stupid: who is the idiot who driving a waja and join it with evo 7 rear.front 2 door from waja rear 2 door from evo 7?:rofl:

jpj cant even notice that till this commentor notice it

If i am not mistaken, somewhere in USJ. everyone was fooled by a front WAJA back Honda. Damn giler wei....

:shocked:

i think newspaper is abit stupid to post such comment
even if its a original evo7
so wat the evo let the biatch's myvi overtake?
driving evo doesn't mean must touge up wan u know
such shallow comments
+1 for her!bitch!
and seroiusly?all JGTC are from potong sambung?
cool...cheap cost...damn fucking cheap cost

i think newspaper is abit stupid to post such comment
even if its a original evo7
so wat the evo let the biatch's myvi overtake?
driving evo doesn't mean must touge up wan u know
such shallow comments
+1 for her!bitch!
and seroiusly?all JGTC are from potong sambung?
cool...cheap cost...damn fucking cheap cost

The only thing is not potong is the SHELL or the keras part or simple Chasis la.

The body, bumper, roof all potong. If i am not mistaken bcoz

I remembered once Japan GT 2004, the ESSO Supra has a serious damage on the rear body. So the car enter pits n ... change the damage rear body with a carbon fibre black colour no decals one n damn GANAS WEI !!!!

simonchang,
I didn't notice the part about the myvi over taking the evo7. I was thinking in the first place,"was the waja evo7 speeding in the first place?" haha Dumbo myvi driver. I'd like to tell her that my car more powerful than her myvi cos I once over took a ferrari in KL. The ferrari was in a jam and my lane moved faster than the ferrari's lane. hahaha

Actually, there's a section in the papers that has diagrams on how cars are cut and pasted together. It's in the FOCUS section but I can't get it online.