Evo 7/8 Maintenance

lazzy said:
reduced the selling price of my ssqv kit to RM500 .... anyone interested?

After one year, wonder the SSQV still available?.:shades_smile:

sifus and tailos,
just got my 2nd hand e7.. and need assistance..
1. when u turn the steering until finish.. made unpleasant metal to metal sound.. like driveshaft problem... any1 got this problem before?
2. what engine oil to use?
3. wheel bearing problem?

Got few other other problems , dunno yet, have to takle 1 by 1... even the oil filter used "proton"... sigh.. hope u sifus can assist...

sifus and tailos,
just got my 2nd hand e7.. and need assistance..
1. when u turn the steering until finish.. made unpleasant metal to metal sound.. like driveshaft problem... any1 got this problem before?

Got few other other problems , dunno yet, have to takle 1 by 1... even the oil filter used "proton"... sigh.. hope u sifus can assist...

zareef,

Are u the one who pm me and suddently ZTH down?. Can't really recall who cause ZTH down that day.

About your Q :

1. Donno. have to check. Can be driveshaft also.
2. Motul Turboligth 4100
3. If really wheel bearing problems, then not too worry cause u just need to change the bearing and the beauty is most of the mitsubishi parts are sharing and harmony each other...not like Honda la!

Yes bro, its me.. i think asked u bout the workshop and spareparts shop.. will check that out.. thanks

zareef,

Hope i can help...

This problem is very hard to say without actually listening to it.. When u say metal to metal sound, is it like 'klak klak klak' or 'tap tap tap'? if it is like that, then it's definitely the driveshaft. If it's a 'zing-zing'zing' sound, then it might be that your disc is warped and prematurely rubbing into your pads or other parts (disc cover), also it could be your brake pad has finished, causing max travel on your calipers, resulting them in being unable to retract, thus u have contact between your pads and discs eventho you are not pressing on your brakes. It would also be useful to have your steering rack check.. that could be causing some grinding noise if it's leaking..

Engine oil pretty much can use most brands.. but be careful of the viscosity.. generally evo engines run really hot, so it is best not to use fully-synthethic because most fully-synthetic in our market is all too thin for the engine and our weather. To thin will cause the oil molecules to break down very easy and become like water (vaporise), that will be damaging to the engine and of course you'll get tappet noise.. Most of my evo/scooby friends (yes i have a lot of scooby/evo frens) only use either semi-synthetic or normal mineral oil (viscosity either 15w50 or 20w50) with a good additive like Morey's or Wurth.. So, u save a lot of money and your engine too!

Wheel bearing problem usually will cause a "wong wong wong" sound.. imagine the sound of a land rover tyre... that kind of sound.. if u have that sound, then it's most likely a bearing problem..

On a side note, if you want to know a good mechanic who has lots of experience with maintaining evos and scoobies in KL area, let me know, i can give you his number and address... The good thing is he's not located in Sunway, like other shops, where they are always trying to ask your to mod this and that, always asking you to spend more $$$$ instead of helping you maintain a car that is already pretty much perfect...

zareef,

Hope i can help...

This problem is very hard to say without actually listening to it.. When u say metal to metal sound, is it like 'klak klak klak' or 'tap tap tap'? if it is like that, then it's definitely the driveshaft. If it's a 'zing-zing'zing' sound, then it might be that your disc is warped and prematurely rubbing into your pads or other parts (disc cover), also it could be your brake pad has finished, causing max travel on your calipers, resulting them in being unable to retract, thus u have contact between your pads and discs eventho you are not pressing on your brakes. It would also be useful to have your steering rack check.. that could be causing some grinding noise if it's leaking..

Engine oil pretty much can use most brands.. but be careful of the viscosity.. generally evo engines run really hot, so it is best not to use fully-synthethic because most fully-synthetic in our market is all too thin for the engine and our weather. To thin will cause the oil molecules to break down very easy and become like water (vaporise), that will be damaging to the engine and of course you'll get tappet noise.. Most of my evo/scooby friends (yes i have a lot of scooby/evo frens) only use either semi-synthetic or normal mineral oil (viscosity either 15w50 or 20w50) with a good additive like Morey's or Wurth.. So, u save a lot of money and your engine too!

Wheel bearing problem usually will cause a "wong wong wong" sound.. imagine the sound of a land rover tyre... that kind of sound.. if u have that sound, then it's most likely a bearing problem..

On a side note, if you want to know a good mechanic who has lots of experience with maintaining evos and scoobies in KL area, let me know, i can give you his number and address... The good thing is he's not located in Sunway, like other shops, where they are always trying to ask your to mod this and that, always asking you to spend more $$$$ instead of helping you maintain a car that is already pretty much perfect...

Thanks HK7,
im outstation rite now.. will contact u for those details.. thanks again.. if the car ok only then only i dare to join the TT.. or else like driving old landrover :confused_smile:

Luckily my E7 so far ok.

BTW Zareef, how much did u bought your E7?.

Luckily my E7 so far ok.

BTW Zareef, how much did u bought your E7?.

aja,
I bought quite cheap... hmm RM117K on balance of full setlement.. The old owner dont want to repair anything.. his gf used about 1 year until han kang like now.. then they broke up, immediately he want to sell off.. I dunno its a good deal or not.. time will tell..

what do u mean rm117k on full settlement?? is that the purchase price or rm117k + your downpayment??

if rm117k is the total price.. then it's very very cheap wohhh...

aja,
I bought quite cheap... hmm RM117K on balance of full setlement.. The old owner dont want to repair anything.. his gf used about 1 year until han kang like now.. then they broke up, immediately he want to sell off.. I dunno its a good deal or not.. time will tell..

hehehe. A good reason for selling an Evo!.

So far, E7 FC is quite bad.. I refuel RM80 can last around 290km only..of course most fo the time (50%) merembating and high speeding. That is about RM10 = 36km.

Most practical drive with E7 should produce RM10 = 40-45km. slow driving!

OIL AND OIL FILTER CHAGE FOR LESS THAN RM200. THE REST ALSO NOT AS EXPENSIVE AS OTHER THINK IT IS.

FULL TANK RM65 (V POWER) CAN GO ONLY 230KM MAX. HIGHWAY DRIVING MAYBE 260 LA.

wahhhhh!!!! r u sure your E7 full tank is only RM65 ... Mine also E7 but full tank is around RM90 if use v power that costing about RM2.15 per liter but if use ordinary fuel should be around RM70.

hehehe. A good reason for selling an Evo!.

So far, E7 FC is quite bad.. I refuel RM80 can last around 290km only..of course most fo the time (50%) merembating and high speeding. That is about RM10 = 36km.

Most practical drive with E7 should produce RM10 = 40-45km. slow driving!

i've tried my E7 with RM10 . i notice that it can reach about almost 70km lor with normal driving ...

what do u mean rm117k on full settlement?? is that the purchase price or rm117k + your downpayment??

if rm117k is the total price.. then it's very very cheap wohhh...

HK7,
the price comes with a "price"! more things to replace.. absorbers kong, exhaust got hole here n there, making pof pof sound.. tyres some more, potenza re01, anyone knows the price? what tyre is good? exhaust system? share ur thoughts.. another thing, what the standard boost pressure? ive tried mine, can go up to 1.2Bar? is it normal?..

ya e7 consumption is super bad......if i have a choice...e9 better.....less headache........heard it can go easily until 400+ no probs

sigh....bought a petrol buffalo !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HK7,
the price comes with a "price"! more things to replace.. absorbers kong, exhaust got hole here n there, making pof pof sound.. tyres some more, potenza re01, anyone knows the price? what tyre is good? exhaust system? share ur thoughts.. another thing, what the standard boost pressure? ive tried mine, can go up to 1.2Bar? is it normal?..

hehehehe. That the price u have to pay la!!

sure your boost 1.2 ker?. Mine boost still stock..0.8..mesured thru boost meter, of course.

Me currently running on Apex'i Exhaust system..as installed OEM from japan. So save a bit. Same exhaust system can be found at JC at the offer price of Rm1900.

ya e7 consumption is super bad......if i have a choice...e9 better.....less headache........heard it can go easily until 400+ no probs

sigh....bought a petrol buffalo !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

From my recent trip s. Alam-Gurun (Kedah) on NKVE ...plus with extra-ordinary traffic jam on last sat night on NKVE, I guess E7 full tank would last around 400km full tank..with 50% boosting thur all way. Average speed 140-160kmh, max at around 220kmh.

HK7,

sorry to hear that u have many things to replace... i guess the previous owner didn't take care of her well... hehe..

as for the standard boost pressure..it should only be about 1.0-1.2 bar (1 bar on gears 1-3, 1.1-1.2 bar on gears 4-5).. usually it it's LESS than there's something wrong with the actuator. Somebody here said his was only 0.8bar, so there must be something wrong there too.. If yours is 1.2 bar or higher, then the previous owner must have already done some mods to the car. Even if you change the fuel pump, de-cat, change air filter etc will also increase your boost... So i would say yours is still quite normal..

As for tyre, so many brands out there.. it's really up to u to choose which one you fancy.. For exhaust, u can check out wangan racing in sunway, they have lots of exhausts.. last i heard they are giving out good offers...

Guys, not good at cars but am actually looking for a 2md hand EVO but dunno which one as i have a budget. How much does an EVO7 onwards cost? Thanks

hk7, tq again for the advise.

Some can get more mileage, some say its a bull.. maybe depends on the driving i guess. to get 350-400km/40-45liters, i think its a reasonable figure..