Suspension VS Chasis Bars/Brace

Sorry Izso....My bad....:dong:

Now back to the topic.....

Does anyone here knows where i can go and custom make strut bars? Other than Ultra Racing.

Also, what is your opinion on custom made suspension over branded? I mean like RCS and FTuned.....

According to people i asked about them, custom suspension gets better tuning, considering that they calculate for you the ride height and stiffness

But then those branded has put thousand of hours into developing the suspension for a particular car?

Well, i think this topic will have no end. Is preference. I just wanna know what you guys feel/think about custom suspension. Especially the likes of RCS or FTuned.

What about places that custom made car bars/brace?? Anyone know where i can go? I read around the net and found this brand call 3Max. But dont know where is their place. And its from a VERY old post. Dont even know if the company still alive or not. Hahahahahahha.

But then those branded has put thousand of hours into developing the suspension for a particular car?

Well, i think this topic will have no end. Is preference. I just wanna know what you guys feel/think about custom suspension. Especially the likes of RCS or FTuned.

What about places that custom made car bars/brace?? Anyone know where i can go? I read around the net and found this brand call 3Max. But dont know where is their place. And its from a VERY old post. Dont even know if the company still alive or not. Hahahahahahha.

Custom make they tune for you. You buy branded you need to tune too, or whoever installing for you need to know what and how to tune and best is to tune to your preference as not all having same preference that is why you need to buy fully adjustable suspension.....:biggrin:

Those branded ones, imo are probably less specialized, considering that the valving is the same throughout the whole range. But im talking about lower end ones, which cater for almost whatever car you can find.

As for Malaysian cars case, specifically Proton, Ftuned is a good option imo because they used to be from R3, so they do know Proton cars well.

Also, 3max is still around, I think. Saw their name somewhere.

*Edit edit* Ftuned has R3 guys, not RCS. My bad!

i know some automotive student weld their own strut bar.
they just weld whatever strong steel they can get their hands on.

for me now,hard rock suspension is out of the window as my spine will protest immediately after going out of the vehicle.
continental firmness is the best as too soft suspension which moves too much will oso put stress on my spine.

so,i will just go for sport spring+sport absorber combo which most of the time retain a bit of confort.

i know some automotive student weld their own strut bar.
they just weld whatever strong steel they can get their hands on.

for me now,hard rock suspension is out of the window as my spine will protest immediately after going out of the vehicle.
continental firmness is the best as too soft suspension which moves too much will oso put stress on my spine.

so,i will just go for sport spring+sport absorber combo which most of the time retain a bit of confort.

That is the thing, different butt have different reaction mah!. Some harder, some softer.....hhahahhaha:rofl:

imho marv3 stop pug have decent suspension to begin with as with almost all euro ride.
its firm but not bone breaking.

what both my 2 ride previously got are the front upper bat and front lower arm bar.
it really help improve the feel and the ride esp on my blm.
on my waja,the chassis and suspension is decent to begin with.
with the bars on,i must say i love the feel the front end provide and the response it give.

Didn't you do the test I suggested the last time? The strut didn't twist at all?

Background for everyone else : This Marv3 fella has a UR bar that's mounted on the front but not on the tower strut. So technically it's even a front tower strut bar, just a front bar. I asked him to keep it there and drive the car hard a few weeks/months. Then try taking out the bar and see if the bar is slightly twisted or not.

Most of these bars if working will twist to some extent after some usage.

Didn't you do the test I suggested the last time? The strut didn't twist at all?

Background for everyone else : This Marv3 fella has a UR bar that's mounted on the front but not on the tower strut. So technically it's even a front tower strut bar, just a front bar. I asked him to keep it there and drive the car hard a few weeks/months. Then try taking out the bar and see if the bar is slightly twisted or not.

what bar for what car was it? :hmmmm:

Sifu Izso. Yes i am still doing the test. But i dont think is enough yet to take it off and check. I havent been doing much "god-like" cornering as you advised, to test out the bar. Also, ball's havent turn to titamium yet :rofl::rofl:

I am asking about other places to make custom bars/brace, is for other areas in my car. Coz if i have a choice, probably wont go back to UR. But if dont have other places that can custom, then too bad lor, have to go back to them.

Thats why i ask about this 3Max brand. Coz i read it somewhere before. So just checking if any sifu here know is this brand still around and where is the factory.

---------- Post added at 09:40 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:32 AM ----------

Those branded ones, imo are probably less specialized, considering that the valving is the same throughout the whole range. But im talking about lower end ones, which cater for almost whatever car you can find.

As for Malaysian cars case, specifically Proton, RCS is a good option imo because they used to be from R3, so they do know Proton cars well.

Also, 3max is still around, I think. Saw their name somewhere.

issuzark. Do you recall where u saw the 3Max brand and when (most of it i see few eyars ago)? Or if you know where their factory is or anyone who got it? Perhaps i can get in touch with them. Hahahahahahah.

Nice thread.....Hope you will be able to get in touch with 3Max, Marv...

what bar for what car was it? :hmmmm:

Peugeot 405 and the front tower strut bar that doesn't actually connect to the front tower struts, which is why the fella is so annoyed with UR. A bar that possibly isn't functional.

Thank you TitanRev.....

i wonder if you can search the registry of businesses.

Peugeot 405 and the front tower strut bar that doesn't actually connect to the front tower struts, which is why the fella is so annoyed with UR. A bar that possibly isn't functional.

i wonder if you can search the registry of businesses.

Peugeot 408 actually. And yes, i am annoyed. Is now an aesthetic bar more than anything else. So hence i am skeptical about all their other product for my ride. Not sure if the other bars that they produce, really works or not. To me now, i feel there is no proper R&D done. The R&D is like, look at the car, see where got holes to screw in a bar, then just make there bar. Thats my feeling at this moment.

I have manage to get in touch with the person who deals with 3Maxx (Thanks to TitanRev). So will meet up with him soon.

Peugeot 408 actually. And yes, i am annoyed. Is now an aesthetic bar more than anything else. So hence i am skeptical about all their other product for my ride. Not sure if the other bars that they produce, really works or not. To me now, i feel there is no proper R&D done. The R&D is like, look at the car, see where got holes to screw in a bar, then just make there bar. Thats my feeling at this moment.

I have manage to get in touch with the person who deals with 3Maxx (Thanks to TitanRev). So will meet up with him soon.

the main purpose of installing a bar in general is to restrain unwanted chassis flex.
so,if a bar is installed on the body then it serve no purpose other than asthetic.
sure the body flex too but not critical to affect handling.

bro marv3,
i can weld.not that pretty but i can.
just buy the thick steel plate and tube and let me weld some bar for u...hehehhe

btw,just to share.
i dont recall if i shared this with u guys before.
some already know my waja got a 4 points front lower arm bar install.
last month i change the engibe mount on the cross member so the bar had to be removed.
i notice some crack on the weld near the mounting point.
so,i send the image to ur to claim.
the ur guy said it was rust and its normal.i dont blame him cause its hairline crack along the weld.
so i resend the email and marking the area concern.this time he admit its manufacturing defect so told me can be claim.
however,the serial number plate is gone.its just sticked on the bar using double sided maybe so its gone.
remember that this bar sat at the lower point of the undercarriage so its easier to happen.
i have not kept the receipt to add to the problem.
in the end,cannot claim.
maybe one day i just remove the bar,grind it and reweld it myself.

lesson learnt is to keep your receipt as the newer ur bar uses a plate which is stick to the bar to display the serial number.this plate can be removed easily.

i am not saying UR is bad as i understand they cannot officially verify the authenticity of my bar without any of the doc/serial number available.i do feel a bit diasppointed,maybe because i uses 7 bar from them.

the main purpose of installing a bar in general is to restrain unwanted chassis flex.
so,if a bar is installed on the body then it serve no purpose other than asthetic.
sure the body flex too but not critical to affect handling.

bro marv3,
i can weld.not that pretty but i can.
just buy the thick steel plate and tube and let me weld some bar for u...hehehhe

btw,just to share.
i dont recall if i shared this with u guys before.
some already know my waja got a 4 points front lower arm bar install.
last month i change the engibe mount on the cross member so the bar had to be removed.
i notice some crack on the weld near the mounting point.
so,i send the image to ur to claim.
the ur guy said it was rust and its normal.i dont blame him cause its hairline crack along the weld.
so i resend the email and marking the area concern.this time he admit its manufacturing defect so told me can be claim.
however,the serial number plate is gone.its just sticked on the bar using double sided maybe so its gone.
remember that this bar sat at the lower point of the undercarriage so its easier to happen.
i have not kept the receipt to add to the problem.
in the end,cannot claim.
maybe one day i just remove the bar,grind it and reweld it myself.

lesson learnt is to keep your receipt as the newer ur bar uses a plate which is stick to the bar to display the serial number.this plate can be removed easily.

i am not saying UR is bad as i understand they cannot officially verify the authenticity of my bar without any of the doc/serial number available.i do feel a bit diasppointed,maybe because i uses 7 bar from them.

Well i can feel your disappointment. But i can understand that situation that they need to verify. But come on....Common sense will tell you that the bar installed at the undercarriage will be subject to it being scrape or hit the ground and potentially lose the serial number tag. They could have just find another way to place the sticker (i.e. the inside of the bar, the side that faces the engine and not the ground).

But anyways, like i mentioned, this UR front strut bar for my car serves no purpose. I will no difference in handling or steering feel. So i am skeptical of their other bars for my car. Maybe other car is all done proper, but i can only say for my ride.

Taikor gunnerzz.....I appreciate your offer to help me weld, but i think is ok la....We just yumcha ok? No need to do any labor work :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

By the way, here are the links to the pics of my bar......

http://imgur.com/a6XuAQZ
http://imgur.com/uBKta9D

marv3,
that bar on yr car should improve something but cant do so by the way its bolted down.
i am just saying this ase on lay man opinion.
from what i saw in the pic,the position is godd which is the strut mount however the way its bolted down wont help transfer the twisting or whatever force to the bar.
on my car,its bolted down on the same point as the strut mount itself so i cam feel the difference.

marv3,
that bar on yr car should improve something but cant do so by the way its bolted down.
i am just saying this ase on lay man opinion.
from what i saw in the pic,the position is godd which is the strut mount however the way its bolted down wont help transfer the twisting or whatever force to the bar.
on my car,its bolted down on the same point as the strut mount itself so i cam feel the difference.

gunnerzz....you are right. A strut bar should be bolted down at the the strut mount is. Hence it is call a strut bar. You can feel the difference because the bar has locked or reduce the movement/flex of your top strut mount, improving the handling characteristics. But as for mine, installing there at that point, i feel no difference. UR say this design in more towards chassis strengthening. But i fail to see how that position it is bolted is subjected to any form of flex. Even if there is flex, i dont think it does anything as the bar is not even touching the side wall of the car. Is like, it is floating in the middle now.

But anyways, i am not an engineer or bar designer. This are just my observation and feedback. I could be wrong. Maybe the bar does serve a purpose besides aesthetics. But even UR cant give me an answer in regards to this design. So my feelings and impression towards them remain the same:thefinger::thefinger:

marv3,
do u feel better high speed stability?
by high speed i mean above 150kmh.
does yhe car felt more solid at that speed,if yes then there could be some improvement from the bar.

marv3,
do u feel better high speed stability?
by high speed i mean above 150kmh.
does yhe car felt more solid at that speed,if yes then there could be some improvement from the bar.

High speed stability still the same as before without the bar installed "-.-