Chassis Strengthening

anyone can reccommend place to do foaming for whole car in penang or ipoh?

a five hour drive to KL should do the trick, plus u get to test the foaming job on the way home hahaha

i not so sure about other states or shop, the only place i know doing autofoam is KL Auto, other places i am not quite sure, other members should be able to help...

peace bro... haha...

ive got an idea, apart from chassis and body, foam up the crossmember of the car, loads on suspension, bushes, lower arm can surely be transferred to the foam thus sharing the load, more comfortable ride, steering response also can surely improve.

its not in the usual standard package so hv to specially ask for that but i think its a good potential place to foam. check on internet new mazda and peugeot apply this to their car for improved steering response

ive got an idea, apart from chassis and body, foam up the crossmember of the car, loads on suspension, bushes, lower arm can surely be transferred to the foam thus sharing the load, more comfortable ride, steering response also can surely improve.

its not in the usual standard package so hv to specially ask for that but i think its a good potential place to foam. check on internet new mazda and peugeot apply this to their car for improved steering response

Crossmember? Seriously. How does it help in comfort?

I think its a really big waste of money, thats like putting braces on the crossmember alone so the flex goes to the brace instead of linking the crossmember to the chassis.

I wonder though how much work it takes to foam a crossmember though.

hmm ok comfort might have been exaggerated but i think steering response should improve. i saw article on the new mazda rx-8 and peugeot 407 being injected with foam in the crossmember to improve stress absorption and better ride quality. have a look bro

I found the OLD RX-8 even uses foamed crossmembers, but its quite mafan right? The only reason why I think the RX-8 had to foam their crossmembers is because... the car is criticised for having a soft chassis.

No B pillar what, its kinda expected isnt it? Haha. Anyways I find it mafan to remove the crossmember for foaming. Would you send your crossmember for foaming tho upontheriversky?

oh yalo..powerful car got no b pillar, makes me think those cabriolet gotta hv even worst chassis strength, a,b c pillar also using cloth hahaha:D i dunno..im crazy about tight handling so i probly do it hahaha i used to drive honda now driving kelisa so im trying to keep up with the handling and comfort difference.lot of money invested tho..if one day accident..haiyo..am gonna cry louder than a baby :D

but i dont think need to remove the crossmember, at least on the kelisa, can just straight away jack the car up and inject foam in the holes. ive inspected when mech jack my car and thats when i got the idea and looked it up on internet and found mazda an peugeot also do same thing

oh yalo..powerful car got no b pillar, makes me think those cabriolet gotta hv even worst chassis strength, a,b c pillar also using cloth hahaha:D i dunno..im crazy about tight handling so i probly do it hahaha i used to drive honda now driving kelisa so im trying to keep up with the handling and comfort difference.lot of money invested tho..if one day accident..haiyo..am gonna cry louder than a baby :D

but i dont think need to remove the crossmember, at least on the kelisa, can just straight away jack the car up and inject foam in the holes. ive inspected when mech jack my car and thats when i got the idea and looked it up on internet and found mazda an peugeot also do same thing

That's why those cabriolets always have heavier weight compared to that of coupes. They have extra strengthening on the side and under of the car to compensate the loss of B and C pillars... But nothig beat a car with a roof la i think... Cabriolets are not for keen drivers anyways. Just for sense of occasion.

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:58 AM ----------

Sorry to interrupt,

By saying foam, are you guys referring to thing like "autofoam" here? Where they inject foam into the panels and let it set?

yup any foam for chassis strengthening purposes..autofoam, profoam also got from after12 but i personally will get autofoam coz the owner got damn long experience and his confidence in his stuff gets me haha

Actually can anyone verify this? Anyone actually tried? Because I don't see and understand how injecting foam can stiffen chassis. Foam is not a strong thing. Even though if you say it is hard foam, i suppose it is not as strong as steel ? So would the additional strength be significant compared to you car's chassis which is made of metal?

And besides that, car's frame don't really have hole to inject this thing into. I mean there is, but not many places. A, B, C pillars, and some frames under the car's body are the few.

Anyone who tried care to verify this?

Also, what is the typical cost for a entry level sedan like corolla and midsize like camry? Full treatment.

already proven bro veloc...saw in 1 best motoring video...those guys joke around with a hollow plastic tube and hit each other head with it...boy that was fun until the plastic tube injected with foam...its no joke already...can see the person being hit really hurt his head...the idea behind injecting foam is to support the steel rigid structure...not to replace/overcome it...

in fact human/animal bones have the same foamed structure...not just a hollow and solid structured...and its amazing that pound per pound...bones are stronger than concrete...

IMHO the reason that it not popular among tuners is because the availability of all sorts bars...here maybe worth to do foam injection...but in japan and anywhere else...where car is scraped after certain years...it is nonsensical to do it...cars will be chopped sooner or later...with bars...at least you can take it out...foam...once in...that's it...

already proven bro veloc...saw in 1 best motoring video...those guys joke around with a hollow plastic tube and hit each other head with it...boy that was fun until the plastic tube injected with foam...its no joke already...can see the person being hit really hurt his head...the idea behind injecting foam is to support the steel rigid structure...not to replace/overcome it...

in fact human/animal bones have the same foamed structure...not just a hollow and solid structured...and its amazing that pound per pound...bones are stronger than concrete...

IMHO the reason that it not popular among tuners is because the availability of all sorts bars...here maybe worth to do foam injection...but in japan and anywhere else...where car is scraped after certain years...it is nonsensical to do it...cars will be chopped sooner or later...with bars...at least you can take it out...foam...once in...that's it...

You got a point there...

foam on undercarriage really helps with tyre noise reduction, soundproof material at the arch can only do so much but cant beat the foam coz it fills up all the hollow section where road noise are being amplified to our cabin. i can testify to that :D

instead of spot weld and bars, better go for foam and bars, legal issue no problem and no need stripping:D

Actually can anyone verify this? Anyone actually tried? Because I don't see and understand how injecting foam can stiffen chassis. Foam is not a strong thing. Even though if you say it is hard foam, i suppose it is not as strong as steel ? So would the additional strength be significant compared to you car's chassis which is made of metal?

And besides that, car's frame don't really have hole to inject this thing into. I mean there is, but not many places. A, B, C pillars, and some frames under the car's body are the few.

Also, what is the typical cost for a entry level sedan like corolla and midsize like camry? Full treatment.

There are several packages. It ranges from 600 to 2xxx for KL Auto's autofoam.

The chassis in general is hollow. This allows for flexing whenever stressed. Autofoam fills these cavities and hardens up. It's not hard like cement but it's hard enough to stiffen up the chassis to flex less hence the feeling of a stiffer chassis. This can't compare with spot welding and a roll cage but it's the 'low profile' way to a stiffer chassis. And because the hollow bits are no longer hollow, it reduces / dampens sound therefore giving you a supposedly quieter ride.

There's a catch though, Autofoam is well known to be a Wurth product. But the exact code is no longer available to be bought from Wurth themselves so it looks like you can only get it from Autofoam dealers. Other types of foams don't stiffen up like this Wurth product and some stiffen up only to become brittle and crumbles easily. So before you consider another brand (profoam or whatever), better do some research first before deciding!

Lastly - cars that are foamed and get caught in a flood are doomed to have rust problems because autofoam is pourus so water will get trapped in there...

Ah I see, haha you try lah ask Desmond to do for you when foaming :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:35 AM ----------

I'm using Autofoam. If I had the money i'd foam everycar I drive, think of it this way lar. Your car's monoque chassis rails are all HOLLOW. Like rollcage piping. Imagine that rollcage had a very hard foam inside of it, instead of being hollow, dont you think that would help?

The whole car is hollow front to back, left to right, and all the ABCD pillars. Its basically the whole perimeter of the car.

It should cost you close to RM2k, since my car is a wagon I got mine at RM2.2k , and he doesnt use 1 grade of foam by the way. Theres a cream colored one and a purple one which is stiffer. Where he used in specific I cant remember... gotta check under my car haha.

It really works lah. I used to have chassis squeak, its gone now. The only rattling is from loose plastic bits after the accident HAHA.

---------- Post added at 03:41 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:39 AM ----------

Then again, if you get hit where the Foam is injected the car would be a write off, or close to it. ABCD pillars = rollover, middle of chassis rails = whole car is twisted.

---------- Post added at 03:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:41 AM ----------

There are several packages. It ranges from 600 to 2xxx for KL Auto's autofoam.

The chassis in general is hollow. This allows for flexing whenever stressed. Autofoam fills these cavities and hardens up. It's not hard like cement but it's hard enough to stiffen up the chassis to flex less hence the feeling of a stiffer chassis. This can't compare with spot welding and a roll cage but it's the 'low profile' way to a stiffer chassis. And because the hollow bits are no longer hollow, it reduces / dampens sound therefore giving you a supposedly quieter ride.

There's a catch though, Autofoam is well known to be a Wurth product. But the exact code is no longer available to be bought from Wurth themselves so it looks like you can only get it from Autofoam dealers. Other types of foams don't stiffen up like this Wurth product and some stiffen up only to become brittle and crumbles easily. So before you consider another brand (profoam or whatever), better do some research first before deciding!

Lastly - cars that are foamed and get caught in a flood are doomed to have rust problems because autofoam is pourus so water will get trapped in there...

Autofoam isnt porous, since when was it? When I sent my car to get it foamed Desmond really knows how to drag in a customer. Setting fire to the foam, dunking it in water, asking me to stand on it LOL. He filled up a 500ML bottle and asked me (im 78kg's) to stand on it. NOT ONE DENT. And thats supposedly the softer foam, the yellowish one. The purple one is even harder.

---------- Post added at 03:48 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:44 AM ----------

One thing why foaming is still better than bars IMO is because the whole car is done in a balanced way. If you've felt how rigid a rollcage is, foam feels something like that.

Anyways just to clear the air, its fireproof, waterproof, light and strong. Its main drawback? EXPENSIVE. And another thing, if you've got your antenna in the A-Pillar there goes your wire. My wire was foamed shut, so now i've got 2 antennas on my car :stupid: . Desmond only injects foam in the major parts of the chassis, IF that part gets damaged in an accident I dont think the car should be worth saving, like say the middle chassis rails, twisted from the middle of the car wei. Oh and he doesnt leave any space inside it either, he foams the rails until they all overflow with foam, no joke.

You car will have foam dripping from underneath it for 2-3 days :biggrin:.

Perhaps we should have a TT session for handling! :driver:

Oooh.. my bad. Autofoam isn't porous, you are correct. It's the immitation stuff that's porous. Eh in that case good la. No worries about rust at all

Haha yeah wei, anybody tried that profoam stuff? I'm quite sceptical about them :hmmmm:

u guys dropping knowledge...thanks men, I'll be looking forward to foam my prince in a month or 2....