So... 2k for the BOT set, 2k for the ECU since I cannot piggyback. I'm looking at coilovers currently. Kinda worried about the Japanese brands because of servicing issues.![]()
Wise move. Halfcut coilovers are a gamble. If you get a good one you won't know how long they'll last and where to service. Spend some good money on a decent BC or HWL and you'll have better peace of mind.
But if not how to go 250bhp on 1.5 liters?![]()
Need forged pistons meh for BOT? I want it to make like 250 by the time Im done. Quite big project perhaps. Of course. Ill start from 120 or so.
15 inch and that fake Momo are my favorite bits of my car from the previous owner. Also yes. I got my car in January. New driver here.![]()
How bad are cap ayam tuned 4g15s?
Sigh. Try handling 140whp first then tell me how you'll want to handle 250bhp. Btw, if you're going to go so high powered, you'll need to worry about a completely new set of things. Torque steer, wheel spin, drive shafts that can take that power, gearbox, etc. Expect to pay through your nose for custom made reinforced parts.
And what exactly is "cap ayam" tuned? Is there such a thing? A badly tuned car will probably break something. A poorly tuned car probably will not fully bring out the power of the car. A decent tune would probably be "safe" so nothing blows up. So what's cap ayam?
Normally how much for overhaul? The engine has clocked around 197 000km... I know that is a lot already....
Depends on what you want to do. Top or full overhaul? And if full depends on what you want done? If it's already out, you might as well spend on getting mods done there and then. Taking it out again and again will cost more than necessary. Things like oversized pistons, head skimming, crankshaft, bearings, port and polish, etc. So all depends on what you want done. Cost can range from RM2k to RM9k.
I wish mine was MMC too.![]()
Sigh. You really don't get it. VDO is a lot smarter than the ancient MMC. The only good thing about MMC is it's got more aftermarket support in terms of reflashing and all. But why bother with flashing it when VDO can just adapt? Unless you mod over the map limitations, it'll adapt to most NA mods. With everything I did, I kept the VDO until I finally got my hands on a piggyback. Installed it and had it tuned, improvement of only 5-8whp. Meaning the VDO was more than capable of handling all my mods.
Why is that bad?
Mine did 247k. I think I need an overhaul quite badly. Also, the remapping and piggyback support. GAAAAH
Huh... you need mechanical mods more than you need those things.
Think I'm stressing the block a bit too much for 250bhp? :hmmmm:
Also, what's the reliability like if I BOT?
Everything wasn't designed for that sort of power. Oil seals, gaskets and all will have a shorter lifespan. You'll probably have heat issues on hot days too unless you upgrade the whole cooling system. This is for BOT.
And don't expect BOT to give you 250bhp. Probably no more than 110-130bhp from complete stock parts with low boost.
What does properly mean though? No overboost, and only short periods?
Properly means you do everything properly. Not half assed. BOT in my personal opinion is half assed. Stock internals and stock everything with a BOT kit is wreckless imho. Personal opinion.
Uncles also can mod cars one leh! Hahah.
I wish someone could tell me what else I need though. I assume I need a fuel pump, fuel pressure regulator, the injectors, standalone ECU, and some other stuff though. But I don't think standard 0.5 bar needs forged internals? Because I saw posts of pnp. Also if forged internals were a requirement then i don't think anyone would want to BOT in the first place. :hmmmm:
Dude, 0.5bar boost will last you 2 weeks. After that you'll want more. Then slowly increase a bit a bit then one day boom... piston decides to take a vacation. Spend another few thousand fixing everything again. Why bother la? Do it right the first time and spend more time enjoying the car, not spending more time in the workshop.