Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
GDi engine can use lower octane for high compression but then GDi have problems with dirty inlet valves in the long run....:banghead:

Yes, need to do carbon clean regularly like at least every 20k kms. for me it's no big deal as even with my previous normal MPI engines, I also did carbon clean with the same intervals.

GDi is first started by Mitsubishi in 4G93 if I am not wrong. Not much people here want to mod with that engine though. I think the normal DOHC 4G93 has more power than the GDi. Don't see much point for the GDi...

GDi should be able to make more power while consuming less fuel due to the higher compression and more accurate combustion. CMIIW though coz I'm just a newbie about engines, never mind GDi.

Yes, need to do carbon clean regularly like at least every 20k kms. for me it's no big deal as even with my previous normal MPI engines, I also did carbon clean with the same intervals.

GDi should be able to make more power while consuming less fuel due to the higher compression and more accurate combustion. CMIIW though coz I'm just a newbie about engines, never mind GDi.

Carbon cleaning as in those infamous carbon cleaner pour through intake?
And white exhaust smoke?

Yes, but when my mechanic did it on my car, he removed the intake plenum and clean the individual flaps and directly sprayed into the valves.

Here in Malaysia it;s also 13:1.

Ehm ehm...my Mark X is already GDi with 12:1 compression ratio, the car was first released way back in 2004. :wavey: Lexus IS250 is also already using the same engine. Spec wise, my X engine is already making 212HP/260NM vs Mz6 only at 185HP/250NM for 2.5ltr, not bad for almost a decade technology isn't it? :burnout:

Not bad indeed, but sadly the Mark X is not on sale here, don't talk about parallel lah. Mazda 6 brand new with no leftover bodily fluids.

Parallel can talk until cows come home. Holden Monaro also got. My point that I was trying to illustrate is that over here in Malaysia, because of inflated prices we can only really afford crappy cars. Unless you pay for the continentals, then you get current technology. With the exception of the Mazda 6..and soon the Mazda 3. Why buy T or H? Oh, yeah, resale value and reliability. Can't argue with that.

Stupid Vios is essentially the same car since the first one. LOL.

Phewit. VR2's factory leh. :shock:

hahaha.. figure of speech as in factory I work in.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:57 AM ----------

And white exhaust smoke?

As mentioned by bro. 6UE5t, for GDi must remove and clean is better. If pour in carbon cleaner then have to go through inlet manifold. Those add to fuel/petrol won't work as fuel is injected direct into combustion camber.

Not bad indeed, but sadly the Mark X is not on sale here, don't talk about parallel lah. Mazda 6 brand new with no leftover bodily fluids.

Parallel can talk until cows come home. Holden Monaro also got. My point that I was trying to illustrate is that over here in Malaysia, because of inflated prices we can only really afford crappy cars. Unless you pay for the continentals, then you get current technology. With the exception of the Mazda 6..and soon the Mazda 3. Why buy T or H? Oh, yeah, resale value and reliability. Can't argue with that.

Guess Toyota Motto/Quote had to be change. From Moving Forward which I don't think they actually making cars according to this direction.

They might as well change their motto to "Play Safe" since they are not exactly moving backwards nor forward...K that sounds more like condom than cars...:hmmmm:

IF toyota moving backwards is a good thing...bring back the legends of 2JZGTE, 3SGTE and etcs. :biggrin:

hahaha.. figure of speech as in factory I work in.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:57 AM ----------

As mentioned by bro. 6UE5t, for GDi must remove and clean is better. If pour in carbon cleaner then have to go through inlet manifold. Those add to fuel/petrol won't work as fuel is injected direct into combustion camber.

I know lah. Just trying to make people think u have. Renesis fell for it. :biggrin:

Here in Malaysia it;s also 13:1.

Ehm ehm...my Mark X is already GDi with 12:1 compression ratio, the car was first released way back in 2004. :wavey: Lexus IS250 is also already using the same engine. Spec wise, my X engine is already making 212HP/260NM vs Mz6 only at 185HP/250NM for 2.5ltr, not bad for almost a decade technology isn't it? :burnout:

a decade ago emission not as strict ma...
:biggrin:

imagine if the emission is the same as a decade ago, i think mazda will go crazy with this skyactiv...

because vios tick all the right boxes of an average joe car buyer which means its 95% of the market out there...

16,000 bookings and counting is no joke for a car that is just launch like a couple of months ago...

cerato only has around 1k unit delivered with no back log... go figure...
:smokin:

a decade ago emission not as strict ma...

imagine if the emission is the same as a decade ago, i think mazda will go crazy with this skyactiv...

Well the Mark X engine is indeed downtuned already for the newer 2009 version onwards to reduce emission further and maybe give even better fuel consumption but still produce around 202HP/245NM.

I know lah. Just trying to make people think u have. Renesis fell for it. :biggrin:

:banghead: sad for me because of falling to your trap

Well the Mark X engine is indeed downtuned already for the newer 2009 version onwards to reduce emission further and maybe give even better fuel consumption but still produce around 202HP/245NM.

A little bit off topic here, but Honda's F20C in S2000 was also powerful. 247hp and 218nm torque. Emission I think this one sure fail already...

Max power yes, the S2000 output is very high but the torque is weak at low-mid rpm. Most of the power is produced at very high rpm ranges. Good that it's used in a light car, so the overall car performance is still pretty fast, but put that engine in a 1.5ton sedan and it'll be lethargic. Having said that, I do like the S2000, I wish I had one someday too. :burnout: The emission is actually pretty low, if not mistaken it's also one of Honda's LEV category!

Low cc but high rpm and high hp. Reminds me of F1 engine. 2.4 V8 NA but over 700hp. So impressive.
Back to S2000, that car is a bit too expensive even for 2nd hand. For that price you can get DC5 or maybe FD2R already. 350Z also can get already. But if talking about engine sound, not sure whether K20A sounds better or F20C.

Low cc but high rpm and high hp. Reminds me of F1 engine. 2.4 V8 NA but over 700hp. So impressive.
Back to S2000, that car is a bit too expensive even for 2nd hand. For that price you can get DC5 or maybe FD2R already. 350Z also can get already. But if talking about engine sound, not sure whether K20A sounds better or F20C.

Well DC5 & FD2R maybe faster on track then S2000 but I'll take S2000 any day anytime over those coz the styling is so much nicer (2 doors light weight roadster) plus it's RWD. But yeah the price is just still too high as it's also more rare. Fairlady or any other cars with mid-big size engines on the other hand are killed by the stupid road tax regulation.

Roadtax is the main problem for 350Z and 370Z. I know a few people who drive 350Z and according to them, it is quite okay to maintain the car. Compared to another friend of theirs which I also know who owns a FC3S, the 350Z owner said maintenance for 350Z is still cheaper than FC3S. They say fuel consumption for FC3S is worst than 350Z. When I ask about Evo and WRX STI, they still say 350Z is cheaper to maintain.

There is still one new potential sports car out there. ZN6 86/ZC6 BRZ. Surely it will be a popular car to be modified after a few more years when it's price drops down. A lot of potential in that car.

NA sports cars are disappearing fast now. New Civic Type R went turbo and the rumored new BMW M3/M4 will go turbo as well. I wonder how long will those Italians (Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati) insist on remaining on NA side. Not forgetting Aston Martin as well.

F1 revvs at 16,000rpm ma. VTEC S2000 at 11,000rpm.

DC5 and FD FWD no fun, plus, it does sound better than other VTEC. Quite similar though.

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

---------- Post added at 02:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:11 AM ----------

Roadtax is the main problem for 350Z and 370Z. I know a few people who drive 350Z and according to them, it is quite okay to maintain the car. Compared to another friend of theirs which I also know who owns a FC3S, the 350Z owner said maintenance for 350Z is still cheaper than FC3S. They say fuel consumption for FC3S is worst than 350Z. When I ask about Evo and WRX STI, they still say 350Z is cheaper to maintain.

There is still one new potential sports car out there. ZN6 86/ZC6 BRZ. Surely it will be a popular car to be modified after a few more years when it's price drops down. A lot of potential in that car.

NA sports cars are disappearing fast now. New Civic Type R went turbo and the rumored new BMW M3/M4 will go turbo as well. I wonder how long will those Italians (Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati) insist on remaining on NA side. Not forgetting Aston Martin as well.

Ferrari once had a twin turbo. F40. And its beautiful~

F1 revvs at 16,000rpm ma. VTEC S2000 at 11,000rpm.

DC5 and FD FWD no fun, plus, it does sound better than other VTEC. Quite similar though.

---------- Post added at 02:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:11 AM ----------

Ferrari once had a twin turbo. F40. And its beautiful~

I thought F1's limit is around 18000 while S2000 is around 9000 only?

FWD might not be fun but looking at the past record of ZTH TTA Sepang, the fastest FWD NA is a FD2R and it's lap time is faster than a few R35 in 4WD Turbo category. But this is probably due to driver's skill but you can't deny that it is not easy for even a powerful car like R35 to catch up with a FWD NA 222hp car.

I think throughout Ferrari's road car history, there are a few models which had a turbocharged engine. Ferrari 208 GTB/GTS and Ferrari 328 GTB/GTS had turbo. One more is Ferrari 288 GTO, also twin turbo. There used to be a F40 in Malaysia until someone crashed it in year 2000 or 2001. :banghead:

I thought F1's limit is around 18000 while S2000 is around 9000 only?

FWD might not be fun but looking at the past record of ZTH TTA Sepang, the fastest FWD NA is a FD2R and it's lap time is faster than a few R35 in 4WD Turbo category. But this is probably due to driver's skill but you can't deny that it is not easy for even a powerful car like R35 to catch up with a FWD NA 222hp car.

I think throughout Ferrari's road car history, there are a few models which had a turbocharged engine. Ferrari 208 GTB/GTS and Ferrari 328 GTB/GTS had turbo. One more is Ferrari 288 GTO, also twin turbo. There used to be a F40 in Malaysia until someone crashed it in year 2000 or 2001. :banghead:

F1 was 18,000. Now 16,000 I think.
S2000 is capable of reaching 11,000rpm.
Thats due to personal preference and the functionality.
For me I like RWD to have oversteer. Although FWD can have understeer lah.

F1 was 18,000. Now 16,000 I think.
S2000 is capable of reaching 11,000rpm.
Thats due to personal preference and the functionality.
For me I like RWD to have oversteer. Although FWD can have understeer lah.

Next year F1 all turbo already. 1.6 litre v6 turbo. I still miss the days of V12 NA F1 sound.

RWD if without traction control and oversteer too much can be dangerous on street. :biggrin: I like RWD over FWD too but my point earlier is, never underestimate FD2R.

izso, btw preve CFE now upgraded to Aussie SPEC

6 airbags and a host of other rolling-enhancement...
73k...

CFE 1.0 (4 airbags version la) can get discount 8.5k to 10k (certain dealers)...

the new polo sedan rm85k looks tempting too.....dowan to consider ah?