Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
Guys, the cast iron campro engines basically is bulletproof, not talking about bot la. I see people 9k rpm also no problem with ported head.
But using MIVEC gb.

Hi all,

I am a new member here. I am looking to buy my first car and i need your help and feedback in choosing the right car for me. FYI, i have almost zero knowledge on cars hence the main reason joining this forum. My budget is less than RM180k. The criteria that i am looking for a car are as follows:

1) it has to be a either a sedan/SUV only. My wife hates MPV - that can fit a family of 4(2 small kids)
2) decent boot size
3) comfortable to drive, as in minimal road noise.
4) it doesnt have to be super fast as i am not a speed demon but i do like vehicle that can accelerate.
5) large legroom is not that important but a big one is a plus.
6) not really care on resale value as i am planning to use it for at least 5 years.
7) reasonable maintenance cost. This is important as i have minimal knowledge of cars so basically i really rely on service centre to take care of my car. To put it simply, the lower the maintenance cost, the better.
8) maybe good gadgets and accessories

I have read a lot of car reviews but im still clueless. Your help is greatly appreciated

Hi all,

I am a new member here. I am looking to buy my first car and i need your help and feedback in choosing the right car for me. FYI, i have almost zero knowledge on cars hence the main reason joining this forum. My budget is less than RM180k. The criteria that i am looking for a car are as follows:

1) it has to be a either a sedan/SUV only. My wife hates MPV - that can fit a family of 4(2 small kids)
2) decent boot size
4) it doesnt have to be super fast as i am not a speed demon but i do like vehicle that can accelerate.
6) not really care on resale value as i am planning to use it for at least 5 years.
7) reasonable maintenance cost. This is important as i have minimal knowledge of cars so basically i really rely on service centre to take care of my car. To put it simply, the lower the maintenance cost, the better.

I have read a lot of car reviews but im still clueless. Your help is greatly appreciated

Have to be new?

Wow mazda. Ok will definitely consider it. Over the longer term, mazda can tahan or not?

It's a Japanese car so at least should be decent in terms of reliability. But if you want the most reliable, then usually Toyota is the best, then Honda. But spec wise, the new Camry & Accord are inferior to the Mazda 6.

Hi all,

2) decent boot size

Everything fits in the Camry, sat in the back several times. :biggrin:
1)Sedan,
2)big boot,
3)very comfortable that it's scary to corner,
4)2.0 148hp, 196nm,
5)Legroom is goooooood,
6)Bonus for u then, resale is good.
7)Maintenance is like normal cars, just refer to the manual book
and see which one u need next time, SC will charge you something you don't need.
8)Price, 160k FULL SPEC, not 2.5 though.

Another option would be Kia Optima K5.
The 2.0 is 20hp more than the Toyota. Styling is way way more stylish.

Camry uses 16inch (2.0 version), Optima uses 18inch.
Tyre price will kill you.

Referrence. If i were you, I would look into K5. Don't mainstream okay?
http://toyota.com.my/camry/
Optima | Official Naza Kia Malaysia Website

Mazda, camry and k5. Ok that sounds like a decent choices for cars. Looks fit into my criteria. But i didnt see any SUV. Do you think its better to get a sedan rather than SUV?

Everything fits in the Camry, sat in the back several times. :biggrin:
1)Sedan,
2)big boot,
3)very comfortable that it's scary to corner,
4)2.0 148hp, 196nm,
5)Legroom is goooooood,
6)Bonus for u then, resale is good.
7)Maintenance is like normal cars, just refer to the manual book
and see which one u need next time, SC will charge you something you don't need.
8)Price, 160k FULL SPEC, not 2.5 though.

Another option would be Kia Optima K5.
The 2.0 is 20hp more than the Toyota. Styling is way way more stylish.

Camry uses 16inch (2.0 version), Optima uses 18inch.
Tyre price will kill you.

Referrence. If i were you, I would look into K5. Don't mainstream okay?
http://toyota.com.my/camry/
Optima | Official Naza Kia Malaysia Website

IMHO, a D-segment car with only 2.0ltr engine NA is underpowered. If want 2.0 NA, better just get C-segment like Civic or Corolla.

Mazda, camry and k5. Ok that sounds like a decent choices for cars. Looks fit into my criteria. But i didnt see any SUV. Do you think its better to get a sedan rather than SUV?

Sedan is better because more comfortable ride quality and much better handling, hence safer.
SUV only good if you often go thru floods & rough roads.
SUV= Slow & Unstable Vehicle. :biggrin:

Haha, like 6uest said, SUV won't be quiet.

Any how, whatever we suggest, go to their website and see the specs and all, then book for test drives and ask for rebates. :biggrin:

IMHO, a D-segment car with only 2.0ltr engine NA is underpowered. If want 2.0 NA, better just get C-segment like Civic or Corolla.

Sedan is better because more comfortable ride quality and much better handling, hence safer.
SUV only good if you often go thru floods & rough roads.
SUV= Slow & Unstable Vehicle. :biggrin:

But my friend's 2.0 camry accelerate not bad. Decent for this guy, but probably not you.
Wahahha

If think of second hand value stick to Camry or Accord. If not worried then Mazda....

Froufrou, I don't think you can get a Mazda6 new for anything less than 200k.

Why not consider the upcoming Mazda 3? It's got the cool Mazda 6 looks but smaller in size and will be cheaper.

But personally, if I had 180k to spend, I'd consider getting a Toyota Wish or a Honda Odyssey. But since your wife is against MPVs, then the next step would be the almost bulletproof 2.4 Camry. Only problem with this car is it's high on the stolen car list. #1 or #2 if not mistaken. The Honda Accord is quite pretty too so have a look at that. These two brands will cost less to maintain than the Mazda6 but the Maz6 has got loads more to gloat about compared to the Toyota and Honda equivalent. Like what 6uest said, M6 > Camry/Accord. But maintenance will be significantly higher. Don't know why Mazdas cost more to maintain.

The other alternative that's not on the stolen car list but is extremely comfortable, crazy powerful and is big is the Nissan Teana. If you can get past the uncle old man looks, the car is incredibly well built and comfortable. Costs as much as an Accord for maintenance.

If you suddenly go bazonkers and decided that all things are irrelevant and you just wanna get a nice big ass cruiser that'll make everyone move one side when you come up to them on a highway, look at this :

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/442080-wts-holden-monaro.html

:biggrin:

Why not consider the upcoming Mazda 3? It's got the cool Mazda 6 looks but smaller in size and will be cheaper.

But personally, if I had 180k to spend, I'd consider getting a Toyota Wish or a Honda Odyssey. But since your wife is against MPVs, then the next step would be the almost bulletproof 2.4 Camry. Only problem with this car is it's high on the stolen car list. #1 or #2 if not mistaken. The Honda Accord is quite pretty too so have a look at that. These two brands will cost less to maintain than the Mazda6 but the Maz6 has got loads more to gloat about compared to the Toyota and Honda equivalent. Like what 6uest said, M6 > Camry/Accord. But maintenance will be significantly higher. Don't know why Mazdas cost more to maintain.

The other alternative that's not on the stolen car list but is extremely comfortable, crazy powerful and is big is the Nissan Teana. If you can get past the uncle old man looks, the car is incredibly well built and comfortable. Costs as much as an Accord for maintenance.

If you suddenly go bazonkers and decided that all things are irrelevant and you just wanna get a nice big ass cruiser that'll make everyone move one side when you come up to them on a highway, look at this :

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/442080-wts-holden-monaro.html

Mazda 6 2.5 is Accord/Teana, probably the most fuel efficient too.
If want Teana, maybe wait a bit coz it should be changing model quite soon if I'm not mistaken.

New Camry has 2.5, no more 2.4 as before :biggrin:

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

So what i can summarise here is if you have the budget, go for mazda 6 2.5. What about their 2.0 version? Underpower?

---------- Post added at 06:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:10 AM ----------

Owh anyway i dont really favours uncle car. Teana especially but accord and camry looks alright to me. Im still young, btw. Just imagine a 28 y.o dad with 2 kids wanting to get his first car with budget around rm180k. Maybe can give you better insight of what kind of car that suits me

So what i can summarise here is if you have the budget, go for mazda 6 2.5. What about their 2.0 version? Underpower?

---------- Post added at 06:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:10 AM ----------

Owh anyway i dont really favours uncle car. Teana especially but accord and camry looks alright to me. Im still young, btw. Just imagine a 28 y.o dad with 2 kids wanting to get his first car with budget around rm180k. Maybe can give you better insight of what kind of car that suits me

The 2.0 Mazda 6 isn't underpowered. Just don't expect blistering performance for a car that price. You're better off with the 2.0 Mazda 3.

Wow.. 28 years old and have that kind of budget with 2 young kids? You're lucky mate!

Personally, I think you should spend it on a nice (no more than) 3 years recon 2.0 Wish from a reputable seller like Top Mark for about RM130k, then spend about RM5k on security and making the car un-steal-able, and spend another 3k in getting proper child seats. Comfort, pretty modern looks, pretty decent fuel consumption and a bullet proof engine and because it's a Toyota, relatively low maintenance.

Yeah I could say I am blessed with 2 kids and a job that pays well. But my knowledge on cars are pretty pathetic and I am probably the dumbest guy among the members here. Anyway despite how great Toyota wish is, sedan and suv is the main criteria. My wife wouldn't budge. And its recon some more. I guess I would have to go to the showroom and test the car myself to be sure. All my life, I have only test drive once. Tells you how pathetic my life in automotive world is.

Sent from my RM-892_apac_malaysia_321 using Tapatalk