Persona Elegance with many problems?

one of my friend also driving proton persona,using 17 sport rim,he claim is lightweight.After he change the sport rim,we tested on pick up and corner.During the race,pick up,he lose by min 1 car space,then at cornering,his car also not that stable only,and the problem is,the wheel arch is rubbing the tyre,got krak krak sound,so means if you want to change to 17 inch,you have to hit the wheel arch at behind there a bit + since the tyre profile is lower,good luck my friend with the holes and bad road condition in malaysia,now my friend planning to change to adjustable sport suspension to match the look and hope the tyre wont rub the tyre anymore,in my opinion = 17 inch + low profile tyre ( 215/45/17 ) + adjustable suspension = die very fast and not comfortable to sit and drive at all,if you really want,i think use 16 inch with 205/50/16 is ok,b4 i am using this size sport rim and tyre,also i face the same problem with the tyre rubbing wheeel arch when 1 or 2 person sitting behind,also quite irritating and felt heavy too,hehe.

As for hot bits header and k & n filter,this both item for me,i think not necessary to use brand from hot bits and k & n,for the header,you can get it outside much more cheaper if you are on tight budget,the filter also even if you changed to k & n,yes,it give u good performance and save petrol,but other performance filter also will give you the same effect and much more cheaper,the main reason even after you change the air filter,also won't feel much because the main problem is the air sucking place.The air from outside flow in to our air filter is not enough,the bonnet space for the air to go through is too small and i doubt air can travel in from outside,so what i am doing now is,i use other performance brand air filter,but i add a cold air intake hose from the sport light hole straight up and connect to the air filter box,the results is you'll definitely have enough cold air sucked frm outside and give u big improvement,for the air filter + cai i only did it for rm 240,u buy 1 k & n filter also around that price,so which 1 u think more worth it?header i have nothing to say,maybe using hotbits is custom made for that car model while other cheaper 1 outside is universal,but diff not much also,wont give u that i am faster than u feel.the important thing is the exhaust setup,if u do it correctly and find a good tuner,sure u will feel satisfied,hope this info helps u my friend.

bro, wat about 17 inch rims and low profile tyre.. without changing the absorber and spring.. i like the feel of its ori coz, dunno.. feel oke with me.. btw, the ori is tuned by lotus, is it true? and wat does that mean..

i think wana get the h line.. and if im not mistake, the h line have a fog light.. means no hole there.. how?/ can you show me any pix.. sorry to bother u..

good exhaust setup? any more idea on this.. coz if drive auto, i donno hows the setup coz currently just using a small manual car..

btw, thanx for the info bro.. help me alot..

if u use 17 inch and use back original suspension,you feel more stable but heavy and fc sure increase alot,then your braking also not so good coz the rim is big,alot of things have to consider when want to put 17 inch,maybe long run the bearing also will spoil,but if you use 17 inch with original suspension confirm the rear wheel will hit the arch and have sound.the suspension is good,not bad but not good enough for cornering at high speed and etc. as for the h-line is okay also coz have 4 disc brake and other stuff base line does not have,the fog light actually u can get it very cheap,maybe rm 100 only,the original spot light is glass,so very easy to break when hit by small stone at highway,for the exhaust setting,u just go to any exhaust shop,tell them what you want,u want save petrol less noise or you want pick up and low end,they can advise u and let you know,dun worry bro,there's alot of sifu and seller in this forum u can check with.

if i got the time,i will try to load the pics for you to see k :)

if u use 17 inch and use back original suspension,you feel more stable but heavy and fc sure increase alot,then your braking also not so good coz the rim is big,alot of things have to consider when want to put 17 inch,maybe long run the bearing also will spoil,but if you use 17 inch with original suspension confirm the rear wheel will hit the arch and have sound.the suspension is good,not bad but not good enough for cornering at high speed and etc. as for the h-line is okay also coz have 4 disc brake and other stuff base line does not have,the fog light actually u can get it very cheap,maybe rm 100 only,the original spot light is glass,so very easy to break when hit by small stone at highway,for the exhaust setting,u just go to any exhaust shop,tell them what you want,u want save petrol less noise or you want pick up and low end,they can advise u and let you know,dun worry bro,there's alot of sifu and seller in this forum u can check with.

if i got the time,i will try to load the pics for you to see k :)

thanx bro.. later if any que ill ask u again..
hehe..

actually persona not bad also,just some minor issue,as for many new persona owners,i think changing exhaust pipe and change to lighter sport rim will help.Yeste i drive my persona up to genting no problem,still got power and can potong car,maybe is also because i am using 15 inch,changed to full set exhaust pipe and using lowered sport spring,for other persona auto user,if you interested to improve pick up/power u can change to 4-2-1,use 2 bullet for centre,2 inch exhaust piping followed by a s-flow muffer,the result is 1st gear u feel slow a bit then when change to gear 2 onwards all the way pick up and top speed is there,as for fc,i felt much better than b4,believe it or not? :p

Hi, need some advice on my b-line manual persona.
1. Should i change 15" sport rim for better fc? if yes, any others thing i need to change?
2. Should i change the exhaust piping for better fc? if yes, estimate how much is the cost?

Thanks and have a nice day!

hie bro,if you would like to use 15 inch,u have to use lower profile tyre with size 195/55/15,then either u change sport spring or find 2nd hand waja/gen 2 original spring as it is lower than our persona spring,the purpose is to cover back the gap so that it wont look ugly,as for the exhaust,i did mine for abt less than 1k for whole piping system,for manual exhaust setup i am not so sure but i know front can use 4-2-1 and back muffler use straight flow,it will improve your fc coz you feel the car no much lag anymore and lighter,as for manual i think after you mod your exhaust it will still have better fc than auto,so no need to worry,the petrol will only drink water if you keep driving with a heavy foot and drive like racing,by the way i am also driving persona base line but auto :biggrin:

how u solve problem no1? i went to tyre shop, and they did allignment but the steering is still not straight..

guys...one of my colleagues bought a pesona base line a few months back n has this weird problem. after hiway run of about half hour, then park car, turn off, lock and walk away...then suddenly the radiator fan comes on by itself. car is locked and key is not plugged in! he sent to P1 SC n they say this is normal operation of the car! then they changed the temp sensor but still same thing.

is this normal??

guys...one of my colleagues bought a pesona base line a few months back n has this weird problem. after hiway run of about half hour, then park car, turn off, lock and walk away...then suddenly the radiator fan comes on by itself. car is locked and key is not plugged in! he sent to P1 SC n they say this is normal operation of the car! then they changed the temp sensor but still same thing.

is this normal??

Wahahaha, maybe the car is smart enough now to know that it's feeling hot! :biggrin:
Sorry bro, just joking, cuz never heard anything like it before!

is this normal??

Wahahaha, maybe the car is smart enough now to know that it's feeling hot! :biggrin:
Sorry bro, just joking, cuz never heard anything like it before!

guys, campro has very high operating temperature. after u stress da car, it funs da radiator fan to cool down da car like those oth cars wit turbo timer but dis is better 1 as engine not running which means cooling down faster. dun worry. many neva notice dis as thy walked away rite after lock da doors or thy parked at noisy place.

thanks joev...anybody else noticed this happening? am just wondering...even if the radiator fan runs but the water pump isnt running, then the engine isnt going to get cooled since the hotter water will still stay in the block....

my house persona dun have tis problem leh. maybe need go sc for a check

It has been an unfortunate weekend for me. My Proton Persona banged a Vios; causing the radiator to crack. One of the reasons is the brake system is quite sluggish...
Therefore, I would like enquire all the forumers here is it wise to change the entire brake system? Will it cause the warranty to void?

Another well-known problem with Persona is lack of pick-up speed...I've heard extractors can reduce FC and enhancing the pickups...What do you think?:hmmmm:

bro,u driving base line right?i think u should change your brake pump to 1.6 cc pump,then problem should be solved,as for the fc there,u can try to change the extractor,at least you can improve pick up and improve low end,then when feel it smooth you will have a better fc.

Hi all,

I m driving PE base line manual. Did about 20% highway and 80% town.

Just wana to check..is there any 1 face below problem:-
1. the fuel consumption meter show the correct info?
As I manually calculate and found that the is drinking more petrol compare to what it show.

2. Currently my fuel consumption meter show 10.5litre / 100km any 1 having this amount as well?
If calculate manually should be 13litre/ 100km. Already check with SC and they did some adjustment but still same. (By the way previously it show 8.8litre/ 100km before 5k mileage.

Hai guy.. need some advise. not sure anyone face this type of break problem or not..
My persona 1.6 M-line Manual August 2010 seem to be having break problem.

My wife did tell me that some times she feel that during waiting car at traffic light the car move a bit like the break was not fully holding it.. I told her is due to her mis-judge due to maybe car in-front or behind are moving. (I don't even think it's problem.) Worse, today, when my wife reversing car out from my house, the break not function (But the auto door lock still lock the door as when pressing the break.) & directly bang to my jiran house. (This was what my wife say.) After that when I try, I still don't see or feel any problem with the break...

1. Did any one having this type of problem ?
2. Also, what should I do ? Any way to claim as my car are just about 7 months only.

Appreciate for any advise out there.

Based on your issue (3.when drive through uneven road got sound like metal hitting something (problem still not solve as many ppl tried and got post this problem b4,but for my car the sound gone after some time ) I had the same problem and by luck i got it fixed in one of the SC in Sungai Buloh, the issue is:

- There is a host that is connected from the break fluid container to the brake lines. This host is then connected to the disk breaks. The reason of the knocking is because the host that is to big, when you press down the paddle the oil will flow to the disc and when you let go it will flow back up. So when there is no fluid at the disc hydraulic then the noises will occur especially on uneven roads.

- By right the fluid are suppose to be constant between the container and the disk, so what this guy did was to take out the host that was connected to the break fluid container , put in a washer in between and connected it back. By doing this there was a constant flow of fluid on both ends.

is this normal??

I thought got ghost. Same thing happen to my wife newly bough PE. I was about to close my house door and i heard the radiator fan comes on. I was like :hmmmm: and :stupid:
Then i see my neighbour came back and thought it was her car. But to think of it should be cause it's quite afar. Guess i am not alone.

hye...i'm new in here...i wanna ask..any suggestion if i'm using 18 inch rim to my persona elegance b line(manual).

First, u need to understand that persona use sensor to accelerate. Not a cable! So need o chane ur driving style. Or ur sensor is malfunction. Persona auto is the best. Manual a little problem