the throttle body is drive by wire... is slower respone if ur is manual gb. for auto, u ll not notice
so, can i do anything to make it normal?
i suggest u to write an e-mail complaint about the problem u having now to PROTON. Then CC your email to PERODUA, TOYOTA, HONDA, NISSAN, MALAY MAIL, THE STAR, NST, UTUSAN MALAYSIA etc.... with this, i believe your Persona problem will solve fast.if not, they will drag u up & down until ypur car warranty is over. if can, request for a new car. after your problem is solve, sell the car. Then try to look for a 2nd japanese car (if u hv a bigger budget, get a new one)
Hi all, I am new here. I just bought a new Persona B-Line (Manual) last month and sent for 1,000km service already. I need some advice for below matter which i found during driving this car :-
1. Pick up very slow. How to improve or what to modified? (without void the warranty)
2. 8.8L/100km is this reasonable? (I am using mobile or esso Ron97)
3. Should i change the original rim to 15" sport rim? (for better FC)
Sorry for my bad english =)
Have a nice day!
Bro... I think 8.8 L per 100 km is reasonable for 1.6 Litre car. Reasonable... but I achieve that figure with an old car with 70% city drive and 30% highway. I guess yours can do a little better. Are you heavy footed? Do you do more city drive than highway? Or try again after the 1000 km service. Maybe the ecu is still adapting to your driving style.
About rims, I think 14" to 15" will not make much difference. There will be a bit of difference though. However, 14" to 16" will have a more obvious effect.
Thx for your feedback.
Firstly, I reach that 8.8L per 100km with 80% city and 20%. eerrmm... i am not heavy footed i guess, coz i always swift to higher gear when my rpm hitting 1.5++ below 2. But sometimes will speed to 150 during highway la...will continue check and test. By the way, my previous Wira A/B SE 1.5 (M) also can achieve 8.8L/100km after change 16" to 15" rims...
What effect do you mean for 14" to 16" rim? for better FC?
Recently i found out that there is some weird sound come from the radio area and mid aircon there...Anyone face this problem?
LOL Bro!!! Hahaha... I think I know where the prob is... It is not good to shift from 1.5k to 2k rpm you know? That might be the cause for the bad fc. As a general rule of thumb, for best FC, one should shift at 2.5k rpm for slower acceleration and at 3k rpm for moderate acceleration. Shifting at 1.5 - 2k rpm will underpower the car. Thus at a higher gear, you will require more pedal input to achieve the same acceleration. And for most fuel injected cars, when the ECU sense "lugging" (high load and low revs), it will enrich the air-fuel ration to protect the engine.
scenario 1: Shift at 3k rpm if you are accelerating moderately on straight roads especially on highways where you do not need to brake.
scenario 2: Shift at around 2.3- 2.5k rpm when you are driving in the city where you rarely reach 100.
scenario 3: For heavy traffics, for example when you accelerate for 2 - 3 secs then have to brake, then only shift at 2k rpm.
The worst FC is when driving in scenario 2 traffic with scenario 3 driving style.
Remember. Never underpower your car. It increases FC and is even bad for the engine.
actually persona not bad also,just some minor issue,as for many new persona owners,i think changing exhaust pipe and change to lighter sport rim will help.Yeste i drive my persona up to genting no problem,still got power and can potong car,maybe is also because i am using 15 inch,changed to full set exhaust pipe and using lowered sport spring,for other persona auto user,if you interested to improve pick up/power u can change to 4-2-1,use 2 bullet for centre,2 inch exhaust piping followed by a s-flow muffer,the result is 1st gear u feel slow a bit then when change to gear 2 onwards all the way pick up and top speed is there,as for fc,i felt much better than b4,believe it or not? :p
okay,u see,original persona tyre size is 195-60-15,and the original rim is heavy also,so is good you change to 195-55-15 and change the sport rim to 15 inch also,then you can choose to change sport spring to lowered it or find 2nd hand gen-2 or waja original spring to cover back the gap between the wheel arch and tyre.Then if automatic car,you can actually feel it when is changing gear..what i mean is when u accelerate then when the gear shift to 2nd time onwards you will feel the kick all the way till the end,example for auto car mod -
1. 4-2-1 / 1 bullet / 2 inch piping followed by s-flow muffler = feel the pick up immediately when accelerate till the middle but top speed takes some time to go up and petrol makan a bit.
2.same as above just the diff is add 1 more bullet = pick up when accelerate not as strong as 1 but when the gear shift up to 2nd time onwards u will feel the kick all the way till the end and top speed easy to reach,petrol also will be more save than no 1.
also another diff between 1 and 2 is the noise level,no 1 will likely to be more noisy than no 2,the sound for no 2 is a bit bassy but not noisy when accelerate,only noisy when stop the car.After you changed your rim / exhaust / suspension you can consider air filter / cai / e-throttle controller or atf cooler for better performance,this is the basic 1.hope you understand what i mean :)