Wastegate Explained.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
our car got more wheels than we think ma... 4 wheels that rolls the road, 1 wheel use as spare tire, 1 flywheel inside the GB & 1 steering wheel we holding.... 7 wheels at least loo... hehehehe:rofl:
Bro, turbine wheel and compressor wheel leh..? Hehe....

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
speed2horizon sorry for interrupting...so if my b.o.t just use 0.5 bar is it ok to use 38mm wastegate...takde bad effect for my engine or turbo kit...???
you could opt for a turbosmart 38mm with 7psi spring (0.5bar)

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang
guys just install my wastegate..
but found that i couldnt boost at all..
my boost meter doesnt boost more that 0 Bar..
and my foremen check the wastegate...during boosting the head of the wastegate (tial replica) got 1 screw like thingy..it leak out air badly..
does it means that the wastegate already bocoz?

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
sorry to hear that..but genuine will be genuine..

that's the problem of non-genuine stuffs..the QC is never up to the mark and customers will keep on having this kinda headaches..

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
it's difficult to answer something that isn't build by us mate.. furthermore the diaphragm isn't a universal spec thingy..it's not one size fits all.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
guys just install my wastegate..
but found that i couldnt boost at all..
my boost meter doesnt boost more that 0 Bar..
and my foremen check the wastegate...during boosting the head of the wastegate (tial replica) got 1 screw like thingy..it leak out air badly..
does it means that the wastegate already bocoz?
That's nipple i think. Try to use white tape tape 9 7 it. see if it improves the situation.

sorry to hear that..but genuine will be genuine..

that's the problem of non-genuine stuffs..the QC is never up to the mark and customers will keep on having this kinda headaches..
Yes brudder. Just bought a Turbosmart.... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
good choice ! :biggrin:

solid CNC one piece exhaust valve..helps durability and ensure stability.

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
I thought boost high boost (1 bar above) only need external wastegate ??
Boost 0.5bar also can use external wastegate ? what for ?:hmmmm:

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
The purpose is to have a more stable and reliable boost...even at low boost.. for certain engines with very big capacity..there is a huge amount of exhaust pressure running thru the manifolds towards the turbine inlet, hence there is a chance the internal wastegate flap might not be strong enough to hold the pressure.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
If 1 bar above only use external wastegate, why does the TURBOSMART comes originally with 0.5bar or 1 bar spring leh.

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
Hehe !! ok ! thanks ! MASTER !!
Because myself also wanna install the external wastegate :biggrin:
I love the dump pipe sound :wavey:

---------- Post added at 12:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:47 AM ----------

replica tial wastegate got problem ??
I am planning to buy ler.... but feel a bit scare:biggrin: ...since got problem out.....

i need 2 change my engine oil soon....1st time after transplant so i'll just change it at 4000km...even tho it should last 7000km s told by my mech...
coz wat i think was like kinda clean up the engine 1st....

i'm using 0-40 semi syntetic engine oil...so i'll like 2 get a bottle of tufoil 4 trial...

hope it'll reduce my engine tappet noise...fame among 4g9x engine...

n the rest i'll pour some into my clutch cable

or else if any1 kind enuf 2 purchase 4 me 1st then pass 2 me in sunway i'll...