Newbee with airtrek T, can run on RON95 ? really need to remap to use ron 95?

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
hi all sifu here,
i will get my airtrek turbo soon

can i pump RON 95 for this car?
do i need to remap ECU to use ron 95?

as i know after remap HP sure reduce, is ok for me
after remap to use RON 95
can i flood the pedal?
 

ixeo

4,000 RPM
Senior Member

ixeo

4,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 26, 2005
4,771
3,077
3,213
KL, Malaysia
hi all sifu here,
i will get my airtrek turbo soon

can i pump RON 95 for this car?
do i need to remap ECU to use ron 95?
If you remap the ECU then confirm can use RON 95.

as i know after remap HP sure reduce, is ok for me
after remap to use RON 95
can i flood the pedal?
Yes, unless the remap was done badly.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,209
6,371
5,213
KL
hi all sifu here,
i will get my airtrek turbo soon

can i pump RON 95 for this car?
do i need to remap ECU to use ron 95?

as i know after remap HP sure reduce, is ok for me
after remap to use RON 95
can i flood the pedal?
Like what Ixeo said - if the car was remapped or tuned for 95 then yes. Otherwise prepare to pay for 97.
 

iameternal

Known Member

iameternal

Known Member
May 16, 2019
67
6
8
37
hi all sifu here,
i will get my airtrek turbo soon

can i pump RON 95 for this car?
do i need to remap ECU to use ron 95?

as i know after remap HP sure reduce, is ok for me
after remap to use RON 95
can i flood the pedal?

wow, how much hp and torque there?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,758
8,313
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Like what Ixeo said - if the car was remapped or tuned for 95 then yes. Otherwise prepare to pay for 97.
By the way the Ron 95 subsidy is going to be in future, might as well use 97.....lol
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
What does your manual say on what petrol to use, or listed at petrol fill cover?
My VR engine can run on Petron and BHP Ron95 but not shell....
i havent get the car, coz the car in the spray shop for repainting,
 
Last edited by a moderator:

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
may i know how many liter engine oil for this engine? 4 or 5 liter?
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
and what is the suitable engine oil for this engine?
0W-40 fully mobil 1 european car formula
ok to use?
 

marsha1l_v6

500 RPM

marsha1l_v6

500 RPM
Aug 1, 2013
666
130
543
Kuala Lumpur
Remap ecu is possible, im not sure what are airtrek ecu code, but you can confirm with the tuner beforehand.

I remap my stock evo3 ecu + replace the chip + dyno tune (mainline dyno) about rm7xx. Launch control additional rm50 with wiring.

btw, your aitrek is fwd or awd?

Not sure of airtrek engine oil amount. Hope some owners can reply to this....
arent airtrek 4g63t engine...4 liter should suffice if there is no engine oil cooler.
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Remap ecu is possible, im not sure what are airtrek ecu code, but you can confirm with the tuner beforehand.

I remap my stock evo3 ecu + replace the chip + dyno tune (mainline dyno) about rm7xx. Launch control additional rm50 with wiring.

btw, your aitrek is fwd or awd?



arent airtrek 4g63t engine...4 liter should suffice if there is no engine oil cooler.
where u remap ur ECU?
my airtrek is awd
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Yup, de-tuned evo 7 engine but terbalik from VR, and evo 1 to 3. Google and many say 5.1L :confused::dontknow:
that's y i ask here from Internet some spec say 4.6L
 

4gbanger

1,500 RPM

4gbanger

1,500 RPM
Jun 26, 2013
1,958
386
683
Johor/ShahAlam
hi all sifu here,
i will get my airtrek turbo soon

can i pump RON 95 for this car?
do i need to remap ECU to use ron 95?

as i know after remap HP sure reduce, is ok for me
after remap to use RON 95
can i flood the pedal?
Airtrek turbo can use ron95 from factory as it was tuned to run on ron95. stock map are running on much rich side to protect fuel starvation or overboost. so a lot of my airtrek friends do reflash tune to run more efficient FC and more power (on demand). there are few names of reflash tuner for airtrek/evo. where do u live?
 

4gbanger

1,500 RPM

4gbanger

1,500 RPM
Jun 26, 2013
1,958
386
683
Johor/ShahAlam
airtrek turbo needs 4.5L (approx.) for engine oil and recommend to use 40 series viscosity or higher as per mileage increase. and yes airtrek turbo are also 4G63 turbo which the engine taken from Evo 5 and gearbox from evo 7.5 gta while turbo is a TD04HL shares with RVR 2nd gen. running on 450cc injector (high impedance) and a very2 mild (lemau) camshaft duration/lift. stock boost should be around 0.6~0.7 bar and should should run healthy 1 bar with or without ecu tuning.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,758
8,313
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Airtrek turbo can use ron95 from factory as it was tuned to run on ron95. stock map are running on much rich side to protect fuel starvation or overboost. so a lot of my airtrek friends do reflash tune to run more efficient FC and more power (on demand). there are few names of reflash tuner for airtrek/evo. where do u live?
Finally got airtrek sifu come in......:driver:
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4gbanger

stutzedward

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

stutzedward

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 27, 2009
3,416
561
1,713
KL
Yes the otai here are all correct on their comments. Unless your Airtrek is recond from Japan, most we see on the road are imported locally by USF (I think) and they're mapped to run Ron95.

When mine was stock with no mods at all, I upped the boost from 0.6 bar to 1 bar and it ran for almost 3 years, not a hiccup.

4G63T in stock is a detuned version from Evo. You may think the 40hp lesser is not much but other than the block, almost everything else are different. Cams, injectors, intake manifold, turbo etc etc. In stock, you get about 180-190whp if your engine is healthy. 0-100 is around 8.5 secs just to be conservative. The spec-sheet claim of 6.5 secs is not possible. The INVECS II slow-box robbed huge hp from the engine. Additionally to make things worse, the car weighs over 1600kgs!

For ECU-remap and tuning, you can look for Ah Wah if you're living in Klang Valley (contact on pinned thread). He specializes in Evos and Airtreks. Congrats and enjoy your ride!
 
  • Like
Reactions: sweelt and vr2turbo

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
hi all sifu here,
about the ATF
booklet say Diaqueen ATF SP3
but in the market hard to find now
all selling normal ATF SP3 without diaqueen wording
and they say mitsubishi malaysia bought diaqueen in barrel and repack in malaysia in package without diaqueen wording

so is it true?
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,209
6,371
5,213
KL
hi all sifu here,
about the ATF
booklet say Diaqueen ATF SP3
but in the market hard to find now
all selling normal ATF SP3 without diaqueen wording
and they say mitsubishi malaysia bought diaqueen in barrel and repack in malaysia in package without diaqueen wording

so is it true?
Ha? Odd.. my spare parts shop has the Diaqueen stock. Maybe old stock. If you can find SPIII then that'll work for you. Diaqueen is just the brand. Get the fully syn SPIII la.
 

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 8, 2010
6,682
1,286
1,713
Kuala Lumpur
hi all sifu here,
about the ATF
booklet say Diaqueen ATF SP3
but in the market hard to find now
all selling normal ATF SP3 without diaqueen wording
and they say mitsubishi malaysia bought diaqueen in barrel and repack in malaysia in package without diaqueen wording

so is it true?
Buy from Bintang Auto Parts, they have plenty of stock. I bought many parts for my Evo from them, guaranteed genuine.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 14, 2008
1,402
160
1,663
Buy from Bintang Auto Parts, they have plenty of stock. I bought many parts for my Evo from them, guaranteed genuine.
I also sourced my Lancer parts here, prices are reasonable and imported from Japan !
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Buy from Bintang Auto Parts, they have plenty of stock. I bought many parts for my Evo from them, guaranteed genuine.
I also sourced my Lancer parts here, prices are reasonable and imported from Japan !
i from JB any recommended shop in JB?
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 14, 2008
1,402
160
1,663
The best thing is they got ready stock most of the time even for rather expensive parts.
Yeah i am not worried that i can't find any parts for the Lancer, but not sure of if i am going for an older Evo 5, especially on the drivetrain parts.
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Don't know if in JB but if you look for Sontuc Auto in Lazada then it's the same shop, so can order from there.
this is good, thank s alot bro

one more thing to ask about the engine oil
can use back mitsubishi fully 5w-40?
 

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 8, 2010
6,682
1,286
1,713
Kuala Lumpur
Yeah i am not worried that i can't find any parts for the Lancer, but not sure of if i am going for an older Evo 5, especially on the drivetrain parts.
You're eyeing on a 5 already? Last time got 1 yellow color on sale, asking rm60k.

this is good, thank s alot bro

one more thing to ask about the engine oil
can use back mitsubishi fully 5w-40?
I suppose still can. I'm using Mobil 1 now on my Evo but next change will be Shell Ultra, all FS 5w40.
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
You're eyeing on a 5 already? Last time got 1 yellow color on sale, asking rm60k.


I suppose still can. I'm using Mobil 1 now on my Evo but next change will be Shell Ultra, all FS 5w40.
How many mileage can tahan?
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 14, 2008
1,402
160
1,663
You're eyeing on a 5 already? Last time got 1 yellow color on sale, asking rm60k
I liked the 5 as its still one of the rawest EVO, 6 got too much hype and prices are as close as an EVO VII. I will continue to look for a CP9A Evo V, preferably a black one and 98 version. Liked the wide fenders of V and its unique robotic eye.
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,426
174
663
PJ
theres a white 4 or 5 on the market right now.... i cannot recall, asking is around that
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,758
8,313
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Wah! Evo gang building up. If he buys 5, then need someone buy 6, then got 5,6,7,8,9.......hahahaha
 
  • Like
Reactions: sweelt

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 8, 2010
6,682
1,286
1,713
Kuala Lumpur
I liked the 5 as its still one of the rawest EVO, 6 got too much hype and prices are as close as an EVO VII. I will continue to look for a CP9A Evo V, preferably a black one and 98 version. Liked the wide fenders of V and its unique robotic eye.
5 also price high now leh, almost the same as 6. The one with crazy skyrocket price now is the TME! That should be the most raw feeling Evo also. 5 and 6 should be the same. In terms of look, 5 and 6 only different in front bumper and rear wing ma, fenders and everything else the same so not much difference.

Wah! Evo gang building up. If he buys 5, then need someone buy 6, then got 5,6,7,8,9.......hahahaha
Buy buy!
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Hi all big bro,my airtrek turbo if push to 5-6k rpm will feel misfiring or jerking, any got this problem
feel like Rev cut?

and aircond gas leaking, normally where leak coil or compressor?

thanks
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,209
6,371
5,213
KL
Hi all big bro,my airtrek turbo if push to 5-6k rpm will feel misfiring or jerking, any got this problem
feel like Rev cut?

and aircond gas leaking, normally where leak coil or compressor?

thanks
Misfiring like that - check vacuum hoses, spark plugs, plug leads and potentially - fuel quality issues.

Whats your car setup like? Standalone? Mods?

Aircon better get the aircon repairman to look. DIY repair is pretty hard since it's toxic
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,758
8,313
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Hi all big bro,my airtrek turbo if push to 5-6k rpm will feel misfiring or jerking, any got this problem
feel like Rev cut?

and aircond gas leaking, normally where leak coil or compressor?

thanks
Try checking the spark plugs, I had some issues like that last time with my VR, or the fuel too when I was using Shell......lol
Air con gas leak can be from compressor, cooling coil, condenser and all hoses connections.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: badguy

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Thanks
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
hi guys manual boost controller can use? which brand is good?

actually this car installed with blitz sequential SBC boost controller, but the previous owner say the face unit stolen during a window break
i found the Blitz sequential cpu? box and the SBC unit in engine bay. need to dismantle it and change to manual boost controller (no budget for this)
 

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 8, 2010
6,682
1,286
1,713
Kuala Lumpur
hi guys manual boost controller can use? which brand is good?

actually this car installed with blitz sequential SBC boost controller, but the previous owner say the face unit stolen during a window break
i found the Blitz sequential cpu? box and the SBC unit in engine bay. need to dismantle it and change to manual boost controller (no budget for this)
Can but electronic better, more convenient and precise for tuning. For manual maybe try Turbosmart.
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Can but electronic better, more convenient and precise for tuning. For manual maybe try Turbosmart.
turbosmart some place selling very cheap some place expensive donno which is original?how about arospeed taiwan reliable?