Need advise from ICEMAN

louisl

Jul 24, 2006
What ice i should install in my car to have a perfact sound system ?
Do i have to add anymore ice or change to others brand ?

Mercedes Benz E220,
currently installed in my car,
Hu Nakamichi CD35
Amp A4 Hilex
Speaker DLS Iridium 6.3

Thanks to all Iceman who replyed.

nicholaslkh

Feb 14, 2006
What is 'perfect sound system'? Perfect to me may not be perfect to you. Perhaps if u could narrow down your expectations on your aspiring system, I think there will be quite a lot of sifu to guide u such as giving the scope of budget, amount of headroom, ambience, staging, imaging, vocal, bass etc.

louisl

Jul 24, 2006
Thanks guys,
(perfect sound system) Wherever you sit in front, back left or right - the music sounds the same with clear music in your ears.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
what do u find lacking in your system now?

i see u dont have a sub yet..

louisl

Jul 24, 2006
i have kicker amp and subwoofer, just that i dont it list down, coz i dont like too heavy bass.
i still not satisfied with my car sound system. i need very clear voice and music.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
If money not your consent... hope can add afew stuff.. where it can improve your system.. run in full active

Just my 10cent suggestion..

a) Change HU to Alpine 9835/Eclipse 8061/Pioneer P9 Combo/Clarion HX-D2
b) Add external electronic crossover if HU not capable tu run 4ways active
c) Add 1 pc 12' DVC Sub-woofer- DLSUR12 or JLW6V2-D4
e) Add another 2 unit amp either 2 ch or 1 2ch + 1 monoblock

A) I'm prefer P9 Combo or HX-D2
B) No need coz P9 got everything, HX-D2 can run 4ways full active
C) either 2 loorr
E) I'm DLS A3 + A6 .. www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7050

Helix A4- front drive tweeter & rear drive mid-range, DLS A3 drive Mid-bass & A6 drive Sub-woofer... Iridium passive crossover keep it at home...

louisl

Jul 24, 2006
Pioneer P9 Combo and Clarion HX-D2 which 1 is batter ?
i think am not going to install rear speaker, DLS 3 ways is enough.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
louisl said:
Pioneer P9 Combo and Clarion HX-D2 which 1 is batter ?
i think am not going to install rear speaker, DLS 3 ways is enough.

Above is good.. diff HX-D2 need very long RCA (6m) cable but P9 just need around <1m only for each amp if all your amp located in boot loorr... for more feature I will go to P9

I'm not sure price for new 1.. but U can use this 3 for your reference...

P9R combo.. www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=1236
P90R combo.. www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=1660
HX-D2.. www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6968

louisl

Jul 24, 2006
how about the SQ for the P9 and HX-D2 ?

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
interm SQ, above HU no doubt about it... there are several HU

a) Mcintosh MX406/4000/5000 need external proc/e-cross
b) Alpine CDA7990R (F#1) need H900
c) Pioneer P9R/90R need DEQ P9/90R
d) Clarion 9255EXL or HX-D1/D2
e) Eclipse CD8061 need external proc/e-cross

Where zenn, unker soong, calvinpk... Helllllpppppppppppp..
to me 4ways is complicated to explain.. coz need low pass (sub), bandpass (midbass), bandpass (midrange) & highpass (tweeter)... only HX-D2 capable to do the job without external processor/crossover but need long RCA.. DEX-P9R need DEQ to do the job but not to costly (that why I call it combo)... 8061 & MX need some other equip.. maybe U can add processor & crossover like EQT,EQL, H701, TRU F-2 or else... F#1 now become collector item & not cheap also (<12K.. used) coz need H900 (12ch if I not mistaken) to do the job...

HX-D2... www.mycarhifi.com/images/FeaturesRide/City/City.html

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
oldskolboyz said:
interm SQ, above HU no doubt about it... there are several HU

a) Mcintosh MX406/4000/5000 need external proc/e-cross
b) Alpine CDA7990R (F#1) need H900
c) Pioneer P9R/90R need DEQ P9/90R
d) Clarion 9255EXL or HX-D1/D2
e) Eclipse CD8061 need external proc/e-cross

Where zenn, unker soong, calvinpk... Helllllpppppppppppp..
to me 4ways is complicated to explain.. coz need low pass (sub), bandpass (midbass), bandpass (midrange) & highpass (tweeter)... only HX-D2 capable to do the job without external processor/crossover but need long RCA.. DEX-P9R need DEQ to do the job but not to costly (that why I call it combo)... 8061 & MX need some other equip.. maybe U can add processor & crossover like EQT,EQL, H701, TRU F-2 or else... F#1 now become collector item & not cheap also (<12K.. used) coz need H900 (12ch if I not mistaken) to do the job...

HX-D2... www.mycarhifi.com/images/FeaturesRide/City/City.html
The CDA 7990 does not need the Alpine processor (H701 or H990) to function.
I am currently using the HU with the TRU active crossover and powering the 2 front comps full active.
However, you'll need the processors for the current 9990 HUs.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
pisces23 said:
The CDA 7990 does not need the Alpine processor (H701 or H990) to function.
I am currently using the HU with the TRU active crossover and powering the 2 front comps full active.
However, you'll need the processors for the current 9990 HUs.
lastly Unker U here... haa haa... 7990 front out/rca connect to F-1 can run Ir6.3 full active (depend on low pass filter range, Unker can it go above 400hz).. 7990 sub out can drive sub directly... Unker that mean application same as HX-D2 loorr... need long RCA cable for each amp if the amp located inside car boot...

juz wanna share my "holiday-nothin-better-to-do-project"...

items needed:
- drill - with 2mm drill bit
- acrylic (plexi board) [those material for number plate's PLATE] - 3mm thick
- acrylic cutter
- file - semi round face
- stationary set
- hex saw

> get the plate measured, n cut to desired size using the acrylic cutter
> measure the distance for each meter n draw a 53mm circle.. not 52mm
> then drill the holes leaving few gaps around the circle
> after that use the hex saw...