Need advise to take out woofer...

hawick

Known Member
Jun 27, 2005
D'sara / S'ban
Sorry if my question is silly, but i really need help as i'm totally new in ICE section.

I bought a car with ICE built by previous owner, but i dun like his setting because i found that the bass is too heavy (10" woofer x 2), and the weight of woofer box is 30kg, which is a lot for me. So, i'm planning to take out 1 of the woofer, since my friend wish to buy it.

The question is, can i just simply take out 1 woofer without re-routing the wiring or adjust something else e.g amplifier?

Haha, i know the question sounds kinda noob, but please feel free to advise me, i really worry if there is any side effect.

Below is the photo of my car:-

P/S:
what is the big "SPL" thing at left hand side in pic 1? and what are the 4 boxes in picture 2? i'm really a newbie, dun shoot me, k? :_:

Zenn

2,000 RPM
Jul 12, 2005
KL
the big SPL thing is an amplifier and the 4 small boxes are called passive crossovers, i guess u have 2 sets of component speakers.

for your sub, u have to take out both subwoofers from the box and get individual boxes for each, cant take out one and leave it. the wiring to the sub will be simpler than wiring 2 subs, so theres no problem if a shop does it. if u want to DIY have to find out if the sub has 1 set or 2 sets of positive/negative terminals, if 1 set its very simple, if 2 sets, have to wire it in series or parallel to get the correct impedance. will explain to u more if that is the case later.

hawick

Known Member
Jun 27, 2005
D'sara / S'ban
Thanks for your help, zenn.

Ok, i'll get another smaller box.
For a cheaper way, i think it shouldn't be a problem to cut out existing box into 2 pieces, because i found that there is a separater in the box between 2 woofers.
How is your opinion?

Here is the photo of the wire connection, is this the "1 set" u mentioned before?