Modifications That Dont Work

syimirmazlan

Apr 25, 2012
modifications that dont work is by changing to open pod air filter, even branded such as KNN, Apexi etc...yup dyno proven (when dyno u open the hood, but in real life u dont drive car when the hood opens) and yes, they did a test on this on a show called mythbusted, and yup open pod air filter does not increase hp compared to OEM stock filter box, and in some cases, it decrease ur hp.

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
modifications that dont work is by changing to open pod air filter, even branded such as KNN, Apexi etc...yup dyno proven (when dyno u open the hood, but in real life u dont drive car when the hood opens) and yes, they did a test on this on a show called mythbusted, and yup open pod air filter does not increase hp compared to OEM stock filter box, and in some cases, it decrease ur hp.
i love my open pod...my butt says there's an improvement. :hmmmm:
but i just love the sound...hahaha!

rakyat

Apr 7, 2009
I sort of disagree, open pod by itself might give minimum improvement but if it is done along with exhaust mods then gains are quite significant.

OEM filter box is meant to reduce noise by compromising airflow (encased in a box) when u mod to openpod, I assume you also dump the box? Hence how can greater volume and free flow of air not provide gain?

I sort of disagree, open pod by itself might give minimum improvement but if it is done along with exhaust mods then gains are quite significant.

OEM filter box is meant to reduce noise by compromising airflow (encased in a box) when u mod to openpod, I assume you also dump the box? Hence how can greater volume and free flow of air not provide gain?
Yup, fast in, slow out still bottle neck. If mod must do together, therefore with exhaust mod should improvement performance but not increase power.
This mod will improve your acceleration but engine power is the same, unless you change fueling management....

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006

yes i haf to agree with u.
mine already done the exhaust...mayb dats y i can feel improvement.
furthermore it is an auto car...hehehe... :driver:

open pod air filters should pair with CAI - cold air intake.
yes pair with CAI and heatshield also for maximum feel... :)

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
its personal preference i guess.

i personally believe in my own experience. :smokin:
i dun trust everything that is on the net...it may b use as guideline or reference.

btw haf u tried open pod before??

syimirmazlan

Apr 25, 2012
its personal preference i guess.

i personally believe in my own experience. :smokin:
i dun trust everything that is on the net...it may b use as guideline or reference.

btw haf u tried open pod before??

airflow are controlled from a/f sensor and throttle body, it suck the air from outside, air are not being forced inside...thats the basic principle...do exhaust of course can improve hp/torque as the air flow from the engine manages a better exits and some backpressure....
well diff people diff opinion, i have threw away my ori apexi and change back to oem box bcoz i felt its better, done quite near stage 3 modification and stock air box is just doing fine... :)

---------- Post added at 10:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:00 PM ----------

yes i haf to agree with u.
mine already done the exhaust...mayb dats y i can feel improvement.
furthermore it is an auto car...hehehe... :driver:

yes pair with CAI and heatshield also for maximum feel... :)
yup, maybe maximum feel for psychology only, after quite hefty money spent...
i've had this discussion with many tuners, CAI is just a myth...
wanna get a better horsepower, modified engine 1st, get a larger throttle body, larger intake plenum..thats the way bcoz the standard oem box do it job just find as the its role were to suck the air from outside with the correct amount and to not forced air inside..i've never heard people do CAI and get hp increase, and yes do dyno with the bonnet/hood close...
open pod is just a really big myth, how can u suck air inside the engine properly?the air saturation itself will not be good as hot air will get mixed up with cold air...unlike oem box which has a snorkel underneath it to suck air from down the engine bay...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hehehe, the CAI actually can make just a little bit more power but the question is if it's worth the money, effort, and risk (if you put in down in the fender where it can risk sucking water). I personally had the urge several times before to try it my self but end up not doing it because of not wanting to spend the money and effort to modify it as such. More over, many cars in fact already design their intake box with CAI principle whereby there's snorkel from the grill or bumper channeling colder air from outside to the filter, so this makes custom pod CAI looks even less attractive to me.

In the end I only tried the replacement drop-in filters, but that one also I use not with the intention of making more power but more to save money in the longer run whereby those filters are suppose to last longer than std ones (provided that the replacement won't cost me too much over the standard one). If it does make just a tiny bit more power then that's just icing on the cake.

I'm a bit at odds with the MCM mythbusting on the drop-ins and open pods.

My Myvi is bare-stone-stock. With the stock paper filter the lack of air or sluggishness is very apparent. I swap back to my clean K&N drop-in and that hesitation and sluggishness is gone. It doesn't translate to power (perhaps) but torque difference is definitely there.

On my Wira the open pod took about a day or two for the car to adapt. I don't know how the Skyline R34 ECU works but for my humble Wira SE, the Siemens VDO ECU takes some time to adjust and adapt, in terms of obvious feel and performance. Just like my dyno comparison between spark plug cables yielded no gains, but driving a week with the performance cables and re-doing the dyno showed some obvious gain in the torque figures. WHP was almost the same but the difference could be due to atmospheric differences.

ECU adapting - is this something all cars should consider when doing such comparisons? (MCM mythbuster)

airflow are controlled from a/f sensor and throttle body, it suck the air from outside, air are not being forced inside...thats the basic principle...do exhaust of course can improve hp/torque as the air flow from the engine manages a better exits and some backpressure....
well diff people diff opinion, i have threw away my ori apexi and change back to oem box bcoz i felt its better, done quite near stage 3 modification and stock air box is just doing fine...
A/F sensor do not control the air flow. As it is named Air flow SENSOR, it senses the amount of air going in and relate the data to the ECU. The ECU then calculated and adjust the amount of fuel to be injected in. Example is when throttle is floored, the amount of air going in will be more, so more fuel is injected proportionally.....my 2 sens

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
I just watched the open air pod video and found out that:

1st open pod: 66HP @ 160kph,
2nd open pod: 69.4hp @ 178kph, AFR 14.37
Original box: 69.8hp @ 144kph, AFR 12.96

I believe to many sifu modifiers / car tuners out there...they already see the difference. And if they show the torque reading as well, it will be more obvious.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Funny, a quick read across the internet shows a well made CAI results in improvement across the range. 5~7 hp increase with the dyno sheet for proof. Of course, this all depends on the engine as well.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Funny, a quick read across the internet shows a well made CAI results in improvement across the range. 5~7 hp increase with the dyno sheet for proof. Of course, this all depends on the engine as well.
It also depends much on how good/poor the design of the original filter box. If a car has poorly designed air filter box then CAI may give more gains.

Dear all DIY specialist,

I just buy a Apexi turbo timer (pen type which can show A/F, O2, Battery & Timer) and would like to DIY installation it to my car (Wira 4G15 SVDO).

Have anyone here can teach me how to install it? Especially A/F wire and O2 wire connect to which wire of car?

Thank you.