confused? SMT6 or E-MANAGE ???

mugen9

guys...

i'm planning to install e-manage into my b6t...but some say better compare
with SMT6...so which one is better and reliable??

price for SMT-6 include tuning?? where??
price for E-MANAGE include tuning?? where??

i know it's the tuner is the most important but what i'm comparing are the features
between this two??

please share your experience....

TQ in advance...

better go for the new emanage ultimate...more functions....
whole set cast about 2800++....black box...
the old model blue box is getting cheaper..rm1500++installation and dyno tune.

mugen9 said:
guys...

i'm planning to install e-manage into my b6t...but some say better compare
with SMT6...so which one is better and reliable??

price for SMT-6 include tuning?? where??
price for E-MANAGE include tuning?? where??

i know it's the tuner is the most important but what i'm comparing are the features
between this two??

please share your experience....

TQ in advance...

don't shoot me if I'm wrong, but I think in terms of capability and features OBIT is better....Best is you speak to a tuner that is well experienced with all the 3 piggybacks
i.e. Gerard from Dragger Racing was using Emanage for all his supercharger kits but has swithched to OBIT. Also best is u get to test drive a car tuned with any of the above piggys...just my 2 cents

razaksa said:
don't shoot me if I'm wrong, but I think in terms of capability and features OBIT is better....Best is you speak to a tuner that is well experienced with all the 3 piggybacks
i.e. Gerard from Dragger Racing was using Emanage for all his supercharger kits but has swithched to OBIT. Also best is u get to test drive a car tuned with any of the above piggys...just my 2 cents
what makes Obit better than the others? Is it because of the features?

obit and smt are the same thing la ,.

i would prefer emanage .. blue or the ultamite ,
because mainly you can get software and can be tuned .

zaki said:
what makes Obit better than the others? Is it because of the features?

I am speaking from experience. First, tried eManage and that did not solve the relearning ecu issues with my ride. Switched to oBit, problem solved. No more relearning issues. Also, oBit boast of superior controls in closed loop. I am not in a position to explain those stuffs as I am no tuner though.

how much Obit piggyback itself??..tuning only how much??
dragger racing tuned Obit on their own using Wideband or send to other
tuner shop to tune??

if i dismantle the Obit,it can be installed to any car?? same as SAFC
(universal isn't it??)

Dragger Racing contact no ???\

TQVM

I dont know the breakdown dude. Someone is selling for SGD450.
http://page.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/auction/95488119

They would recommend Wideband for tuning, and no, the price do not come with that. I remembered having to pay extra for wideband o2 sensors when i lup turbo in it

This is piggy back dude, its not car specific, unlike Power FC etc. So, technically, you can move it around, just needs re-tuning everytime you do that.

And yah.. who is dragger racing? I dont know them. I live in the other side of the causeway leh... so, I am not familiar with the tuning shops or tuners in Malaysia

thanks duh!....good...DRagger contact number??..they have their own Wideband and 'really' know how to tune??

You can reach Drager Racing at 0123963348... :) Ask for Andy.. or Turbo Woon... hehehe...
Highly recommended workshop.. Woot Woot!

mugen9 said:
thanks duh!....good...DRagger contact number??..they have their own Wideband and 'really' know how to tune??

I dont have answers to your questions unfortunately, happy hunting for a good tuner. Also, my experience is based on the older eManage, not the Ultimate one. I heard the Ultimate has plenty of goodies in store, but I am not too sure about the price though....

mugen9 said:
tuner shop to tune??

(universal isn't it??)

TQVM

Bro

The people who can really tune the OBIT with wideband sensors is Gerard and Turbo Sang..you might have seen Gerard's Supercharged GTI in Dec's issue of Hypertune using OBIT..Dwayne Ho from CRT, JB was also heavily involved in tuning the OBIT..I've personally seen them at work, I've been inside this SC GTI, have to say the Torque is mind-blowing

Gerard and Turbo Sang are now at Voltz Hybrid Development a spin-off from Dragger Racing..For more details on OBIT contact

Gerard(KL) : 0123073928
Dwayne(JB) : 0127609143

mugen9 said:
tuner shop to tune??

(universal isn't it??)

TQVM

If in KL, get the Unichip. It is THE piggyback computer of choice worldwide. All Unichip dealers have dynamometer to properly install and carry out work on an engine and not a hit and miss tune many people do on the road. You won't actually know if you actually tuned you car to become slower!! Can try RS Impressive Motorworks in Puchong. See hypertune magazine got ad there.

mugen9 said:
tuner shop to tune??

(universal isn't it??)

Pretty much. Just download the software from the manufacturer's website. http://www.perfectpower.com
The wiring diagram for many cars can be downloaded from there free.

Make a serial connection cable and you can start tinkling with it!

RSI said:
If in KL, get the Unichip. It is THE piggyback computer of choice worldwide. All Unichip dealers have dynamometer to properly install and carry out work on an engine and not a hit and miss tune many people do on the road. You won't actually know if you actually tuned you car to become slower!! Can try RS Impressive Motorworks in Puchong. See hypertune magazine got ad there.

Dude.. you make it sound like the UNICHIP is the best piggy back ever..... any facts to back up this claim and share with us?

Just from my experience, I went to the biggest tuning house in JB for Dastek Unichip (you know who if you stay in JB) and dyno tune the car and it was crap. This was 4-5 years ago. Then I went to another tuner in Singapore for the same unit and it was even worse, with engine stalling, power loss... etc. Since then, I have always avoided unichip and i think many will agree with me.

eManage was a better bet at that time.... After I changed my car to a newer one with a cleverer ECU (relearns very quickly), even the normal blue eManage did not solve the problem. Always had issues in closed loop (lambda). So, switched to oBit and was very happy.

I personally think that the latest eManage Ultimate, HKS F-Con SZ would be the best choice around for piggy back, but if you are not driving the latest imports with clever ECUs, (and automatic transmission with shiftpoints headaches) then the examples I provided may not be useful. You can simply stick with normal eManage and oBit/SMT6 for that matter.....

I've driven 3 cars, used 3 types of piggy back, and oBit so far tops them all. I am planning to upgrade to the F-Con SZ since it has great reviews on automatic transmission cars, since i am driving one.... It also had 3 maps which you can toggle between them... normal, economy, racing etc which is really cool.

I would really love to hear from your experience about the Unichip, if you can share with us.... :regular_smile:

The latest Unichip Q version can switch between 5 maps without glitching or stalling the engine while running. It can also defeat ECU close loop self learning. It can alter automatic shift point. It can do boost control. Speed cut. Automatic gearbox clutch control. launch control. VTEC control. MIVEC control. Airflow meter removal. Can tune diesel cars (as much as 20% on a New Hilux, Frontier etc)

Interesting enough. I tried seaching for this Q version.. cant really find information on it.... not even on the dastek website. Care to point me at the correct site? Thanks

I guess the MOST important thing is not the features but the TUNER. Got good tuner with both mechanical and electronic knowledge of how the engine works, any piggyback will be good...lousy tuner, give Motec also run slower than stock...

I tried Obit before on a high compression engine (12) but the tuner can;t tune it well enough...say compression too high lah, cam timing wrong lah, just retard timing like mad and add fuel to prevent knocking, in the end, power drop..so, u guys tell me, which is good and which is not?.....

A lot of these so called "tuners" MAY have the technical knowledge of how to tinkle with the piggy's software but lack the real experience in tuning...just my 3 cents thoughts aloud...

Unichip is different because every dealer abides to DASTEK unichip's code of practice:

http://www.dastek.co.za/unichip_code.htm

I guess Dastek has a very impressive site and code of practice. But if you read carefully, somewhere it says that the conditions vary from country to country. They can dictate anything that they wish to.... if their dealers dont practice it, it will be useless.

I went to GMotor in Singapore and did not have a good experience with my old Lancer GLxi unichip. That was done butt tune (no dyno machine). Then I went to Visworks and the performance got worse, but the car did not stall in traffic the very least... I decided to remove the Unichip altogether and had a peace of mind. That was my experience about 4 years ago. I hope these companies improve overtime.....

Not to bad mouth.. but like what Enslaved says, we are the mercy of the tuner/tuning house.....