Modifications That Dont Work

jinkl

Let list this one out.
Discuss about it and make it final for *bump* or Pinned
Too many people wanting to know about latest products.
So lets report stuff that dont work.

1. Turbojet -

2. Microcompressor

4. Surbo

4. Electronic Supercharger

5. Superione

6. Power Air Max

... please copy and add items
if any items need to be debated , then lets open for discussions.

Aftermarket Air Filter Unit - Mine doesn't seem giving power and done my pre-Wira 1.3 using custom RAM AIR Straight Piping from Throttle to left signl point .. ;) Sounds like a VTEC .. he he .. ;)

Originally posted by sakuraguy@Apr 12 2005, 19:35
Aftermarket Air Filter Unit - Mine doesn't seem giving power and done my pre-Wira 1.3 using custom RAM AIR Straight Piping from Throttle to left signl point .. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' /> Sounds like a VTEC .. he he .. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' />
[snapback]890978[/snapback]​

elaborate la sikit
wht air filter kit
brand , size , type , element :)
people should know also ma

aftermarket air filter does help but cap ayam doesn't though, if not mistaken, the cap ayam air filter somehow restrict some of the air flow, heard from some friend. Could be wrong though.

my vote spark plugs

air filter does increase hp .. like
KNN , Apexi Power Intake , HKS and all
but increase is 1-10hp.
its something like NO DIFFrence.. u cant feel the umph :)

Spark Plugs DO WORK... but not to increase power lar. Gives better fuel consumption from more thorough burning, and makes it easier to ignite on cold starts.

If there's a choice between spark plug and spark plug cable... i'd say the cable gives less improvements.

he he .. jin .. as tteh86 said .. mine branded "Ayam" ones .. fed-up oledi .. why they keep selling even its not giving performance? .. wasting money .. i throw mine oledi ..

swapped to Diesel Turbo filter "i curi it when i work at Portklang last time" it was used in Forklift .. kind nice performance but my throttle body often stucked wif oilish dirts .. then have to remove dat one oso ..now no filters straight empty heat resist plastic piping bought from hardware shop and DIY method used ..

kim chuan n son's

autokar fire-like stormberg

autocartec-like micro compressor but can feel more power coz adding more add witout ecu knowledge

autocar racing kit...changing the throttle body n putting their own name there...

all those above r crap...

wah sakura guy, u damn keng...

alvin, hehehehe maybe didn't feel anything at all, so said wrongly...sorry for the wrong posts

Originally posted by jinkl@Apr 12 2005, 19:33
4. Electronic Supercharger

:huh:
electronic or electric?

mostly don't work, but there's one that work tho. centrifugal setup, but instead of a belt to turn it, it uses a big electric motor like those you use for your radiator fan, but more powerful.

however, it can only pump something like 5psi, and need three 12v battery, which your alternator is not strong enough to charge it, mean you have to recharge yourself when you are at home or bring it to the battery service shop to charge. on top of all it cost about the same as most supercharger setup, so you are better off using the real thing. one unit cost over 3k us dollar :ph34r:

what they claim is that newer battery tech will allow those battery to store more power so you will need less recharge.

so... some of it do work... but not worth it

some gadgets do work.....i forgot whats the name but there is this thing which actually leans out your fueling. It allows air to bypass your airflow sensor i think.....not too sure......but i've seen people who put that on stock cars and experience knocking

those with MAP and Lambda sensors, forget about by-passing the so-called mass airflow meter/sensor, because you don't have one. Any introduction of extra air into the intake manifold will increase the manifold pressure thus you can't cheat the ECU.

What the con men in chap ahbang shop talks to me, I always reply: "Without an after market chip, don't talk to me about additional air intake"

Oh yeah!

Want to add "more" air without increasing the manifol absolute pressure? Add hot air instead. hahaha!!! :lol:

grounding kits... dont really feel the difference after installing them... mayb because mine is cap ayam... but i'm sure expensive ones doesnt goes far either...

Originally posted by SkYwAlKeR@Apr 13 2005, 03:24
grounding kits... dont really feel the difference after installing them... mayb because mine is cap ayam... but i'm sure expensive ones doesnt goes far either...
[snapback]892211[/snapback]​

That's not entirely true. Grounding kits aren't for performance improvements anyway. They're to allow more direct paths for the electricity to go to earth.. so it'll help with the electrical components of your car but probably won't affect the performance of it. ICE, aircon, lights and the load on your alternator may improve.

Is this considered upgrade/mod?

Everytime switch gear, make the 'kepish' turbo sound on an NA 1.0 :lol:

using 4 cylinder engine. last time ppl tell use 4 cylinder engine, can tarpau blackhowling taikor.....all con men one i tell you. no matter put what turbo la, racing fuel la, boost 10 bar la....still kena tarpau 9 9 by blackie. :( that one doens't work.

Originally posted by ramsing@Apr 13 2005, 10:33
using 4 cylinder engine. last time ppl tell use 4 cylinder engine, can tarpau blackhowling taikor.....all con men one i tell you. no matter put what turbo la, racing fuel la, boost 10 bar la....still kena tarpau 9 9 by blackie.

U wanna outrun him or his car? Hehehe.. Wanna beat him? Easy. Take his car. :lol:

ramsing actually easy to win blackie..
u dont need high fuel octane also
u and him park the car at the 400 meter line
ok laaa not to make fun of blackie .. so i also join in ok
so all 3 of us park the car at the 400m line
we go to the starting point and run to the car
wuyooo.. of cos u reach first laaa
then only blackie will reach
me reach tomorrow la ok

Originally posted by ambayah@Apr 13 2005, 06:56
Is this considered upgrade/mod?

Everytime switch gear, make the 'kepish' turbo sound on an NA 1.0

Hehehe.. why not? Upgraded to turbofooler and interfooler setup.. makes the car go "KEPISH" at a change of a gear.. and makes motorcycles move one side :lol: