RM500,000 for a smart toilet ???

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tuesday/National/20060905074525/Article/local1_html

KUALA LUMPUR: Half a million ringgit for a public toilet?

That is how much City Hall Kuala Lumpur is expected to spend on each of the 20 smart toilets to be placed throughout the city.

A City Hall official said about RM10 million had been allocated to place the hi-tech, self-cleaning toilets in busy areas.

"The allocation is part of City Hall’s move to upgrade the capital’s image for next year’s Visit Malaysia Year," he said.

Each smart toilet will have two cubicles.

The smart toilet apparently will come with an automatic seat cleaner capable of washing, scrubbing and drying the seat after every use.

The high cost of the toilets is also due to its ability to wash the entire toilet floor after every five users, the official said.

Additional cost is also attributed to the toilet’s capability to signal a warning after 14 minutes to those using the toilet.

Every user is allowed 15 minutes after which the automatic door will open by itself and users will have to slot in additional coins into the machine.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tuesday/National/20060905074525/loo2.JPG

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tuesday/National/20060905074525/loo1.JPG

Users will be charged RM1 each time to use the toilets measuring 2.25m x 5.25m, with a height of 3.25m. So far, two smart toilets have been placed in the Bukit Bintang area.

A project manager involved in the sanitation and construction industry said that similar toilets were available in European countries.

"Each smart toilet, if converted from pound sterling to ringgit, would cost about RM120,000. And if the toilets were assembled locally than the price should be about RM200,000," he said.

While the smart toilet costs City Hall RM500,000 each, the project manager said a basic four-cubicle toilet with two urinals and two wash basins usually costs between RM50,000 and RM60,000.

In England, he said, users were charged £1 to use the smart toilets.

"I totally agree that the smart toilets will lift the image of public toilets. But it should not cost so much," the manager added.

Meanwhile, Datuk Bandar Datuk Ruslin Hasan declined to comment on the cost and the features of the toilet.

Ruslin added that he would call for a Press conference on Thursday to make an official announcement.

Thumbs down for move

KUALA LUMPUR: City Hall should spend its money wisely instead of flushing it down the drain.

The money that is being spent on installing the smart toilets costing RM500,000 each could be better spent on other projects which would benefit city folk.

Several politicians said it would be better to educate the public on good toilet habits.

Bukit Bintang Umno head Datuk Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi said the toilet habits of many Malaysians were still below par compared with those in developed countries.

"Spending half a million ringgit on each toilet is too much. We can have the best toilets but if the attitude of the people does not change, it is a waste of money."

Azim said the smart toilets were successfully implemented in developed countries as the people in those countries had good toilet habits to begin with.

He added that instead of spending taxpayers’ money on smart toilets, City Hall should encourage the private sector to take up the project.
"The private sector could recover their investment by charging a fee for the use of the toilets."

Federal Territory MCA chief Datuk Tan Chai Ho said it was not necessary for City Hall to spend so much on public toilets.

"They could have built basic toilets and have people maintaining them regularly. What the public wants is clean toilets," he said, adding that the smart toilets might not last long due to the public’s poor toilet habits.

People’s Progressive Party Federal Territory chief A. Chandrakumaran, said the money should be channelled for the benefit of city folk.

"City Hall should create job opportunities for jobless city folk. There are still a lot of people who are jobless and the automated toilets are not going to help create jobs," he said.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tuesday/National/20060905074525/loo.JPG

is this artile hinting that the KL cityhall can "makan" rm300k for each smart ass toilet...and if the project have 20 toilets so it means the Dato can "earn" rm6m for doing this shit?

rm6m....this really an easy money.....

whoa.... rm10million jz for the stupid toilet.... this will make people even more wanna dirty the toilet.... they wouldnt care since it will clean itself up....

better take that rm10million and subsidize our fuel la....

Of course la... somebody has to make money somewhere... for RM 500k, one can buy 24K gold-plated toilet seats.

i have to tell my son, his ambition should be the chairman of bandaraya..so he can earn million of dollars like eating potato chips....

rm40k-60k worth project can blow until rm500k...good~~~!

so the project manager said rm200k can make one..then they paying rm500k......wow.....potential 300k of profit each.......

lekalo seat like summore in the toilet wif the safety harness ..soon they will put RB26DETT in it to heat our wet hands ;) .. wif HKS pipings ekekekekekek ...

Duke Red said:
So I have only 15 mins to take a dump before I flash the world?

you may take another 15mins to do the jackass stunt...hahahaha

I hate to use this words... but....

FUCKING IDIOT CITY HALL.

That's what happens when you give authority to idiot pigs.

rm10M can be used to make our roads smooth like silk. same news as rm490M sports centre in London

sakuraguy said:
lekalo seat like summore in the toilet wif the safety harness ..soon they will put RB26DETT in it to heat our wet hands ;) .. wif HKS pipings ekekekekekek ...
mayb got motec ECU to control the amount of water needed to flush the poo out....

got alpine sound surround system + dvd player inside the toilet for ur comfort...

perhaps a defi water temp meter to show u ur pee temperature??....

lol...the toilet reminds me of one porn video i watched last time...couple havin sex in those toilet..and times up...door open...and the whole world saw wut they were doin...lol...

They might as well serve up milo and nasi lemak in the toilet so that the pigs can eat and shit at the same time. At least they'll look that bit more productive with their time, considering that they're well known for being unproductive and a major non contributing factor to the nation.

I rather go those 20 cents toilet. All automatic not so good, what if an IC board got problem or the system kena computer virus and go berserk. Lock you in the toilet and drown you with pee....Hehehe...

Cost aside though, I welcome such a device. The Malaysian public is obviously not educated enough to maintain public ammenities (take current washrooms and public phones into consideration) on their own.

but you have to bear in mind...the security of our nation is pretty low....

the thefts will just disassemble the whole damn shit and sell it to somewhere else....

then, Dato will spend millions of dollar to replace it...and them ppl steal it again...and it goes on and on....then the tax money you paid indirectly contribute to famouse car makers like merc, bimmer , ferrari, porsche, lambor and pagani etc.....

in the end, Dato and the thefts are the winner and tax payers are loser....

Maybe it should come with a Robocop like security device then. It says that each person is given 15 mins to bugger off right? Can you imagine Robocop going, "You are in violation of the 15 min timelimit... please remove your arse from the porcelain bowl... you have 10 seconds to comply..." Take more than 10 seconds, and he blasts you away, shit dripping ass and all.

smart toilet? yeah smart, auto this, auto that... everything's automated.

good idea to implement? no, not good at all... in fact, it's a dumb idea!

reason? which country would spend 1/2 million bucks for each toilet so their citizens to shit n pee inside? :shocked: