ZTH Kepong Area's TT

kazukimy:
aiyo...u ari2 pollow thread punya olang pun tatau ka...he asking frm suspension,brake and etc modification at here alrdy...hehe

yup,time to overhaul alrdy...no rebore,no port,no polish,no balancing,no stroke up,no lightening,no hybrid,no regrind,no reprofile no etc...just standard as its 1st day came out frm the manufacturer...^^

but not so fast yet...boh pitis la~~~

Supra_Fanatics:
other story if frm jalan kuching...:p

kazukimy:
bad...very bad to those who use adjustable with hard set up...keke
Not going from Jalan Kuching but coming from Segambut getting to Jalan Kuching have to use that U-Turn way.

lolz...especially for blank korkor de kp..hehe...and also SF de altis..wait...SF u go there for?muehehe....anyway there nw got 1 u turn b4 the potholes mines there,hope the will cover it up...seriously,been years ady like tat....

no yumcha tonite?sunday nite...family day huh...hehe...SF any update on ur altis?blank korkor ur KP leh?
Yes, that's the new U-Turn I'm talking about but dunno when gonna create some sink in manholes nia...bloody new U-Turn got like up to 6 Manholes whole stretched very close by.

I go there cuz easier to get to Jalan Kuching to avoid the jam early morning sending my dad to work in KL baru pergi kerja sendiri. No yi lai or sam lai there la...

SF's ride sibeh comfort, he said. So no impact kot. He only change spring or absorber either one only.
I changed absorbers nia...so comfort is not sacrificed that much. Really still consider sibeh comfort.

kazukimy:
muehehe....the potholes mines still there la...with some cement drop too...make the road uneven kaw2...:mad:

my kamben ar...no molifai 1...stock standard bai...but now consuming engine oil alrdy...hehe

SF's altis many update then mine...frm exhaust,suspension,brake,engine...now suspension done alrdy...let's wait for his next mod...myb i can take it as reference in the future

yeehau86:
u forgotten about the handling part...he said,handling wise improved too...
Yup, seriously improved and of course better than stock absorbers lo...

Many updates nia and not many mods like your kp ma...so far like u said hanya suspension done and don't plan to mod. Brake Disc is adi time to change not mod for fun geh..

Exhaust arr dun plan to change also. Not my car unless dad wanna change. Save money for own car like some tai kors here advice.

Reference only absorbers. I can let u test la...if suitable u ma change la if interested but not fully adjustable type...just sports suspension..

waseh...see lar,after awhile the road will spoilt again..zzz...e

huh...wat he mod?waseh.....so many underground mod de?lolz
makan engine oil?good excuses to molifai the engine..hehe
U listen to BLANk about my car mods means u r getting very wrong info lolz! :smile:

kazukimy
I think later SF wan to put neon light under carniage there like underground :biggrin:

SF
I think you should change the springs as well, since it is better to change the whole package. Your absorbers is hard, but your spring is soft, somehow I feel very weird leh about the performance :biggrin:

Since you can afford the absorbers, springs should be no problem since the price of absorbers are more expensive than springs.

kazukimy
I think later SF wan to put neon light under carniage there like underground :biggrin:

SF
I think you should change the springs as well, since it is better to change the whole package. Your absorbers is hard, but your spring is soft, somehow I feel very weird leh about the performance :biggrin:

Since you can afford the absorbers, springs should be no problem since the price of absorbers are more expensive than springs.
No la..put all LED stripes all around under my car bumpers from front,side and rear la...:rofl:
Then around my window door frame also la...:rofl:

I was advice not to change the springs since is a family car by a Friend of Team K.NS. My Altis is always fill with 5 people in the car and that would put stress on my absorbers and very fast Kong.

If i change, comfort definitely not there anymore. Cuz we wanted comfort so the mech suggested these absorbers and maintain the springs and he made the right choice as well.
Before I changed to GAB absorbers, I did call up a friend and ask him which should I go for and I got a proper advice.

Thanks to his advise.

SF - u can try search for sports spring,anyway i oso the 1st 1 heard ppls change absorber to performance and din change spring,usually juz performance spring and ori absorber..wakaka,coz tat is wat i plan to do last time,but the price put me off..wakaka...Eh,LED strip?same like 1 of the 350Z here,all led strip...door,front bumper,rear bonnet...haha...like UFO

YH - 'i wonder if you know,how we live in tokyo,kitaaaaaa drift drift drift drift drift'
wakaka..so many neon later become fast and the furious or mayb highway disco...'dush dush dush dush dush"...wakaka

kazuki
that's why I was suprised too, even SE86 also change to performance spring and original absorber. Maybe now got new recipe kot :biggrin:

here put neon dunno rain that time the fuse will fry or not :hmmmm2:

SF,
if you put LED all the way at the side there, what's the difference between your car and those parade cars (kereta bunga)? hahahahaha :rofl: :rofl:

wah..my name also come out here ah..ahah...no la..i change springs onli cause budget la..and the springs were sponsored by someone..haha..that guy change adjustable than gave me his springs..haha..when got budget than i will change to short stroke..

Blank:kasi molify the engine la..tukar piston 1.5..than kasi porting..kasi lighten kaw kaw..yesterday on highway we were conboy to semenyih for dorifuto..one modded KE70 with 1G and one was lancer A174..lacer kotak..they both tekan on highway.including me..LEKAS highway no car that time..tekan kaw kaw..i kena smoke by this two old cars..i was like WTF man..when reach the KE70 guy told me "i sudah tekan sampai speed cut and fuel cut...itu cb punya tambi lagi boleh ikut sama saya kasi ram ram..engine standard bleh tapau aku..haha..."i diam diam onli..haha...so blank mod ur standard engine should be good enough for daily drive..

Kazukimy:
haha! When I play Need For Speed 2 my cars got neon and colored smoked as show offs :rofl:

and I plan to put neon underneath once I can achieve my dream Supra. :rofl:

We have to move according to trend and time lar...we can see a lot of new concept cars all look like Space War Ship nia...until I really geleng kepala and might ask myself
"When can we see 4 wheels in the sky? since all the cars now are like I dunno I'm driving a spaceship or a car on the road :banghead:"

Still prefer a Real CAR like R34, Supra, Ford GT, 3000GT, EVO and etcs.

Spaceships:
http://www.newlaunches.com/entry_images/0408/21/space_efficient_vehicle_2-thumb-450x395.jpg

http://www.oneinchpunch.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2007/10/tokyo-auto-show.jpg

Real Cars:
http://montrealluxurycars.com/images/exotic_cars3_1get.jpg

yeehau86:
Won't fuse gua...if will fuse I guess Fast & Furious ones or ppl in UK won't have them liao...:biggrin:

No lar..I'm just trying very hard to get my car promoted with all LED Stripes all round and get into the thread "Pimp My Ride" :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

---------- Post added at 09:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:33 AM ----------

Kazukimy:
Cuz i want comfort ma...I'm not hardcore street racer yet I guess lolz! So, if change springs will be stiffer la...if BLANk wanna test drive, u guys are welcome on board to feel the difference between Aftermarket Absorbers + Ori Springs and Ori Absorbers + Ori Springs.

BLANk must drive Altis out only know the difference la...let's find out together

no lah, actually is normal for ppl to change to sport springs while maintaining the stock absorbers. But for the other way around, is a bit uncommon for me. 1st time hear also, same as kazuki. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

somehow I feel those cars in Need for Speed with Neons is superb, but here dunno why I feel it is :rolleyes:

no lah, actually is normal for ppl to change to sport springs while maintaining the stock absorbers. But for the other way around, is a bit uncommon for me. 1st time hear also, same as kazuki. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

somehow I feel those cars in Need for Speed with Neons is superb, but here dunno why I feel it is :rolleyes:

IS good to try something new. :biggrin: That way only we can learn ma hehe! According to the mech, spring still good condition ma...and main point is to maintain comfort at the same time better handling lo :rofl:

At 1st offer Kayaba Suspension geh...RM800+ after discount then I ask the mech, what about the GAB? so i recommend my dad take GAB la...wanna try :biggrin:

Why feel weird ppl use neon here? simple too many ah beng cars doing it :rolleyes:
Myvi & kancil is the one that i come across before around Kepong :rofl:

coz following my logic,no mech experience her,or personally feel it,as absorber will only absorb those impact shock,while u r using ur stock spring,means will have lower kg/mm,and means the absorber will take more pounding,means ur absorber will kong faster?

while spring only in the other hand,juz the spring had higher kg/mm,hence even wif normal absorber,will some how less absorb the impact on the road,hmmmm

anyhow,all juz theory and logic,SF,i wan to test ur car....wakaka....anyway if wan to install neon,i suggest u all relay another switch inside ur car,when roadblock and dun feel like ah beng,can switch it off..wakaka

coz following my logic,no mech experience her,or personally feel it,as absorber will only absorb those impact shock,while u r using ur stock spring,means will have lower kg/mm,and means the absorber will take more pounding,means ur absorber will kong faster?

while spring only in the other hand,juz the spring had higher kg/mm,hence even wif normal absorber,will some how less absorb the impact on the road,hmmmm

anyhow,all juz theory and logic,SF,i wan to test ur car....wakaka....anyway if wan to install neon,i suggest u all relay another switch inside ur car,when roadblock and dun feel like ah beng,can switch it off..wakaka

But isn't it changing to sports springs will result in lower car height? I'm not sure if it will cause the absorbers to kong faster as If I'm not mistaken is the other way round cuz stock springs on altis is meant for family car use as in carry more passengers so I guess that's the intention of using the stock springs?

Though I was told not to lower my ride height by changing to sport springs. Cuz logically once the car is fill full with passengers, the ride will be lowered and if using sports spring, the car will be even lower than before and in return, it will have more impact from the ground pressuring the absorbers?

I guess have to see what other sifu's here says about this. Need more feedback and info about this...:hmmmm:

By changing the sport spring indeed will lowered the car height,but den oso had to depend the spring kg/mm rate,stock i think is running 4kg/mm?(need to ask Altis sifu)...by that u calculate how much it will drop,and u compare wif 6 or 8kg/mm,den see whether will get the same result..if get the same,suggest u change it

but then since u will be fetching family,of coz stock suspension set up is better lar,stock = soft and comfy,never meant for racing or performance upgrade,tat why ppls said,wan comfy get toyota(old saying)

sport spring have higher kg/mm rate,means will be the primary part kena compress(although both spring and absorber are compressing at the same time)den the absorber will absorb the impact,hence wif hard spring,less compressed therefore less amount of impact absorber will be absorbing...vis a vis to ur sport absorber,the stock spring will tend to compress more and more impact is needed to be absorb by the absorber,but since urs is sport absorber i think can take the impact,longer than stock absorber

and if u din change the spring by mean lower the ride height,the centre gravity of Altis still high and same as the ori height,and the body roll is still there,really can be more stable at higher speed?even my car is lower than Altis,and when go around 130km/h can feel nt tat stable ady....

ps - need to wait for sifu 5115,YH,Khoo,TR and others to reply...i still nooby in suspension..need enlightment:adore:

Me too still nooby in suspension. 1st time changing absorbers but indeed cornering is easier after changing the absorbers yet not that soft like sampan. Indeed more stable than the stock absorbers. More predictable and of course still have bodyroll but really not as bad as before...

Last time if do hard corners the car is like as if gonna overturn...I would not said is a drastic improvement but there are some improvement in handling and yes I drive 140km/h on Highway is much more stable than before. Well, that's the difference that I felt personally. My dad felt that cornering or in other words handling is much better too...

Ya, i guess lets wait for the rest to reply. Thanks for sharing btw yeehau86 and kazukimy bros...

but from wat i have experienced..using sport springs and original absorbers will make the absorbers kong faster wan..my friend experienced before..just my 5 cents..

kazuki
Stock spring should be less than 4k, but how much is the rate depends on front or rear you are referring since front spring must be harder than the rear to support the engine weight.

From what I learned lah, is usually if you ask those accessory shop ppl about you just change to sport spring while maintaining stock absorbers, they will say your stock absorbers won't last long. Reason is because due to the stiffer spring, the spring absorbs only less impact, so absorbers will do more work than the spring, meaning it will experience more wear and tear so in the future the absorbers will die faster. This is what I know, just to share out. Korek me if I am wrong.

SF
if you want to improve handling, you should go for UR bars instead. Guarantee your cornering will be better.

kazuki
Stock spring should be less than 4k, but how much is the rate depends on front or rear you are referring since front spring must be harder than the rear to support the engine weight.

From what I learned lah, is usually if you ask those accessory shop ppl about you just change to sport spring while maintaining stock absorbers, they will say your stock absorbers won't last long. Reason is because due to the stiffer spring, the spring absorbs only less impact, so absorbers will do more work than the spring, meaning it will experience more wear and tear so in the future the absorbers will die faster. This is what I know, just to share out. Korek me if I am wrong.

SF
if you want to improve handling, you should go for UR bars instead. Guarantee your cornering will be better.

Yes, thought of it before but I don't have that much Rabbit Meat...:banghead:
Won't want to mod much on dad's car just play with cheaper small bits punya stuff to learn a bit here and there on my dad's car to experience the difference then I gain some knowledge liao...

Need to save money to buy own car lar...So, most probably won't be touching my dad's car like UR racing bars and etcs. The most is recommend products to my dad if there are anything he wants to know or change.

If that's the case if use stock absorbers with sports springs, absorbers kong faster but if use ori springs with sports absorbers I think absorbers won't kong? As far as I know Springs seldom rosak one...very rare case.

its always best to change the full set (abs + spring) or else the absorbers wont last long. sport absorbers generally have stiffer bound-rebound settings. on stock springs, the springs will be soft for comfort so your absorbers take the full load for bound. when it rebounds, your soft springs doesn't help the abs to contain the opposite forces of rebound so your abs are forced to rebound quickly to offset the imbalance.

if you normally drive hard and fast, your absorbers oil (assuming they are using oil for the internal cylinder), will heat up very fast and may lose its viscosity, giving you lembik response. in the long run, your absorbers might even leak due to the stress given to it. ur altis is about 1.2 tons in kerb weight. if you corner hard, you're probably looking at 0.5 to 1G in cornering force, which means ur absorbers (whichever side) will be supporting almost twice the weight (2.4 tons) of your car.

you'll be thinking that 'but my stock springs and absorbers ok ma, no leaking oso'. which is true. however, the abs and the springs are matched so they are supposed to work in harmony. when you changed to aftermarket stuff, you will definitely drive even harder and faster so... do the math lo...

p/s - when u are driving (straight or cornering), other parts of your car also experience stress from directional loads. upsetting that balance will surely increase wear and tear for other parts. suspension is not only about abs and springs :)

Seems like either way also will have the same ending --> Absorber die faster, just a matter of time

Best solution --> Change both if possible

thz to sifu yh,mizu and SE,haha...
coz last time plan juz change the sport spring,for my car,the fella quote me rm1200 for 1 set,ori...dun ask me wat ori is he mention abt....i was like,can buy 1 set of 2nd den adjustable suspension...wakaka....

SF - change bah..wakaka...anyway how much is the absorber for altis?so dun drive so fast,stop tiong ppls..drive like uncle...wakaka